We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday at the Summery Hotel Lixouri”
Review of Hotel Summery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Summery
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Martock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday at the Summery Hotel Lixouri”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

8 weeks have now gone-by since we returned to the UK from our holiday at the Summery Hotel, but the fantastic memories still vividly remain.
The stunning sea views across the bay towards Argostoli and the mountains; a refreshing morning swim in the sea; breakfast in the cool lush garden; total relaxation next to the pool or the leisurely evening stroll into Lixouri’s square for a aperitif followed by a meal in one of the traditional Greek tavernas lining the harbour edge.

We first stayed at the Summery Hotel in June 1995 and each year we find we are compulsively drawn back, because at the Summery Hotel we have always been made to feel welcome, treated as friends and looked after impeccably, you feel at home. The management and staff put 101% effort in to ensuring a perfect holiday for all the guests.

The Hotel could not be in a more perfect position for a peaceful and relaxing holiday and yet near to the beach; shops, restaurants and bars in Lixouri. The ongoing commitment by the management to improve the hotel facilities is to be congratulated; swimming pool; gardens; veranda; dining room; reception; children’s play area; and guest rooms have been continuously improved over the years and are to the highest standards. All the rooms are fully equipped at no extra cost. The staff are amazing, be it serving breakfast; all day snacks; bar service or cleanliness of your room, they are always there to help and it’s always with a smile.

In fact the Summary Hotel facilities and service are first class, for a truly Greek holiday on a beautiful island, amongst friendly people, I would more than recommend the Summery Hotel Lixouri Cephallonia. Once visited you will be drawn back again and again and again …………………….………..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekholidays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    73
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
57
153
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I have had yet another fantastic holiday at the Hotel Summery. Since my first visit 20 years ago and compared to other islands it is still my favourite place on earth and the perfect holiday. 4 years ago i asked my friend Hilary to join me and she thinks it is just as wonderful as i do. Quiet, relaxing, friendly with beautiful surroundings and close to all you could possibly need. All rooms have the most beautiful sea view you could ever imagine. The hotel is very well run and is extremely clean as are the pool and gardens. Titika and Yanna strive to give you the perfect holiday and they have never let us down. Good snack food is served at the hotel during the day and there's a big choice of tavernas all serving good food 5 mins away overlooking the harbour for the evening. If you want a shopping fix you can get the ferry over to Argostolli which runs every half hour for just 3 euros! Another perfect holiday. Looking forward to our return in June next year.Thanks to Titika, Yanna and everyone at the Summery Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodrow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Having just returned from a recent visit to Hotel Summery, I feel I must share with you my experience particularly in view of the the recent rather disparaging review on your website.(Thankfully a tiny minority of the 20 earlier reviews where the vast majority are either Excellent or Very Good.)

We have visited this hotel several times and have nothing but praise and admiration for the management and staff. Every time we visit there is always an improvement in the facilities offered, This year was no exception with the beautiful pool and gardens looking even more lovely and the new changing room and shower facility greatly adding to what is already a fabulous area. The new childrens play area is also superb. The breakfast menu is also extended and now offers even greater choice.

All of the management and staff are so helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. During our visit some flights were delayed which meant that guests did not get to the hotel until just before midnight. This was no problem for Katerina who fed and watered the weary travellers regardless of the hour.

I think your previous reviewer must have stayed in a 'Town View' room which is indeed a pity. The sea view rooms which we have always had provide a truly amazing view across the peninsula. The mountains are breathtaking and the vista across to Argostoli just has to be seen. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by the tireless efforts of the staff and I have yet to find a similar priced hotel which offers air -conditioning, fridge, safe deposit box, TV, hair dryer and a super balcony on which to enjoy the great views all at no extra cost.

I can heartily recommend the Summery for anyone who wants a peaceful holiday in absolutely beautiful surroundings with a choice of tavernas within walking distance. Par excellence indeed!!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank david_allen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland UK
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

If you are going to stay anywhere on Kefalonia to benefit from the experience knowledgable, friendly, local staff, then make it the Summery where the owners have a bright, positive disposition and no issue is too much trouble. We have been using the hotel regularly as our base for the Odysseus Unbound geo-project and have been extremely pleased with the service provided and reliable internet and fax connections. The hotel has really met our needs

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jru_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We have stayed many times at this lovely friendly family run hotel and it just keeps getting better - perfect quiet location and excellent staff - nothing is too much trouble for them - everything is done with a smile -all the dear staff we now consider as friends - and we hope to keep going back year after year - so to everyone at the hotel keep up the good work and see you again next year
Love from (Barbie Doll and G)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Just came back from Kefalonia. It was such a lovely island and The Summery is a brilliant hotel to stay in;
The staff as everyone have mentioned are lovely and friendly and very helpful with suggestions of places to visit. The hotel itself is quite elegant in design, and very clean. Unfortunately our shower was a bizarrely narrow thing but after the first night we were used to manoevering it! I did think to myself though that people who are quite particular about wanting a luxurious room would have been dissapointed. We had lunch at the hotel several times and the greek salad was great, everything was so fresh! The internet point was invaluable for us as a couple who needed to be in contact with employers, also the air conditoning was great, especially as they didn't charge for it. At no point did you feel like you were being ripped off, if anything it felt like you had added bonuses, for example small things like no charging for the ping pong bats and ball, and keeping a well stocked magazine pile and bookshelves...all the usual benefits of a hotel but done in such a nice way. As for eating out we had brilliant local meals...definitely go to Avli (ask on reception) a family run restaurant, we had all the traditional greek and kefalonian meals there and they were superb, as is the service from the eldest daughter, really great...we got swept up in a musical evening there once as a local band came to play, hence it was packed with locals all singing along, what a fabulous experience! We loved Lixouri as a base, it is a working town so you are in the minority as tourists, which for us was fabulous, no irish bars and british breakfasts, thank god! There are some lovely local bars, everyone is so friendly, we had a great night dancing with some locals who plied my boyfriend and me with ouzo! A fun night out but not for everyone! ha ha! Also a massive bonus is the ferry to Argostoli, so regular and cheap and a great avenue to other towns in kefalonia such as a two hour bus ride to Fiskardo, a beautiful village with a quaint harbour. So all in all our best holiday yet...Although Lixouri is not the most beautiful part of Kefalonia, it has a real charm to it and a life of its own. One disadvantage was not having a car, so defintely hire one if you can, you will get to see all the nooks and crannies that we would have loved to. but all in all pretty fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennymayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

What a wonderful, relaxing and attractive place. Great service, friendly staff and a brillant location. The ferry to Argostoli links you quickly to the whole island. There are some superb beaches on the Lixouri peninsula just a few km. away. And the hotel itself is right on the seafront. Go to the Summery!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HealerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
2.5 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
782 reviews
7.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Sami
261 reviews
11.1 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cite Hotel
La Cite Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lixouri
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summery

Property: Hotel Summery
Address: 35 Labraki Grigoriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Summery 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family run, sea front hotel in Lixouri, offering affordable, good quality holidays and cultivating authentic human connection since 1981. 24 hour reception, multilingual staff, expanded gardens with grown trees, children's playground, swimming pool, free parking, rooms with balconies, beautiful views, A/C, TV, mini fridge, hair dryer, safety deposit box, direct dial telephone, wired and wireless high speed internet free of charge for the hotel guests, daily maid service, wheelchair accessible rooms. Closed for refurbishment. Reopening in May 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Summery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summery Hotel Lixouri
Hotel Summery Lixouri, Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing