We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday!!!”
Review of La Cite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Cite Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a week from the 30th June to the 7th July. It was the most relaxing holiday I have ever experienced! It was so chilled out and relaxing with a really quiet pool and plenty of places to relax in a lovely setting.
what makes this hotel so special is the staff - Jerry and Janet are fabulous!!! - they really do make your holiday, they cannot do enough for you. Where else do you get a hug when you leave? Janet and Jerry make this hotel worth staying in above and beyond anything else.
People have said about the breakfast not being great I thought it was more than adequate! - lovely fresh bread, a toaster, greek yoghurt, peaches or mixed fruit, cereal, plenty of coffee and juice and every other day ham and cheese, oh there are also boiled eggs and lovely jam every day!
Lixouri itself is a lovely place, not commercialised and was nice to see people going about their business, it wasn't full of tourists which I liked!
Our room wasn't huge but we had a big balcony, shower, comfortable large bed and a fridge. There is also air-con which you have to pay for but we didn't use as there was a lovely breeze when we were there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarelovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just returned from our second visit to this wonderful hotel. This time we brought our daughter and husband who wanted to see what we had previously raved about and they were not disappointed. We were greeted like long lost family and made even more welcome (if that's possible!) by all the staff including Janet , Gerry and Roula. They honestly cant do enough for you and Litsa ( not sure of the spelling) who is the owners mother, is an absolute jewel!

The hotel is immaculately clean and the pool is fabulous. Some days its like your own private pool.

We learnt from our last visit that the best way to transfer from the airport is to take a taxi from the airport to Argostoli then catch the ferry to Lixouri. From there it is a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

I really cant praise this place enough but feel a bit reluctant to let everyone else into the secret of this amazing find!! We hope to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband, sister-in-law and I stayed at La Cite for two weeks last month and it was absolutely brilliant. The reviews are true, Janet and Gerri couldn't be more helpful and we were made so welcome. We took a taxi from the airport to the port at Agostoli, crossed by ferry and a four minute walk brought us right to the hotel door. If you can't face the walk with luggage a taxi from the harbour is just 2 eus. The hotel itself is small and friendly and kept spotlessly clean. The pool and gardens are lovely with plenty of seating/sunbeds and shade provided by the large canopy umbrellas or if you prefer, lemon trees and other shrubs in the immaculately kept garden. A truly relaxing and lovely quiet oasis in the middle of this small town yet only 4 minutes from the many bars and restaurants, many of which overlook the harbour and mountains beyond. We will definitely return, as do many of the guests we met during our stay. Thank you Janet and Gerri for a truly relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens are lovely and quiet and the balconies shaded when you return from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MazRugby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at La Cite for a few nights and we were very happy. Prices are reasonable, staff is very polite and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are ok and air-conditioned.
The location is very convenient, easy to get there by car (just put it on the GPS and you will get just out of the door easily) and there are enough parking spots in the surrounding streets.
Also, the hotel is very close to go on foot to the central square and to the beachfront of Lixouri.

Definitely recommended!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YiannisPeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and stayed here from the 29th of may to the 5th of june. Yes I can say that janet gerri and all the staff were just great.The hotel and gardens are kept spotless.The breakfast are not though, but it is only a two star. cost have gone up in Greece but still not too bad, meal for two in the square about 18-28 euros, beer 2 euros.La city is very easy to find,get off the ferry keep on the right side of the square walk to the top of the road and turn left and your there,about 10 mins walk.yes we would go to la city hotel,even just for the welcome alone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivian43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

It's been five years since i last stayed at la cite hotel, and when me and my wife walked back in the welcome we got of Janet & Gerri was fantastic like we were long lost family.
Since i last stayed here a few things have changed like the colour of the hotel which used to be blue but is now green and the bar / dinning area which now seems brighter,but some of the things that make this hotel so special are just the same, like the pool and garden which are still wonderfull and clean and it's so nice that you can get a sun bed at any time.
Like lots of people who return we have a favourite room, ours is at the front of the hotel over looking the mountains and has everything that we need like a good shower lots of storage a comfy beds, there is also a fridge and air con which was not needed as we went in may, but in the height of summer you will.
Lots of people have said about the breakfast but it is fine as are the snacks around the pool.
When eating out most people head for the square at night where there are lots of restaurants and bars,my favourite is Novita which is along the water front and the food and service here are excellent and allways seem that little bit more special, if you are felling a little bit peckish go to V&S on the corner of the square and do the burger challange! as we have family living out here we use some of the smaller bars that some tourists may not go in but these are great and you will be made very welcome.
If you come to lixouri dont pay for the transfers just get a taxi to Agastoli and get the ferry across its one of the best starts to a holiday you could make.
I like many other people we have met can't wait to come back to this wonderfull hotel and see all the staff and owners who allways make you feel so welcome.
Paul & Michelle x

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is a moutain view the back of the hotel is the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michelle e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

our first holiday in kefalonia, received a warm greeting from geri on our arrival, lovely manager and also was Janet, nothing was too much trouble, anything we wanted or needed it was attended to with a smile, nice family hotel, pleasant surroundings, rooms we clean and kept that way throughout the hotel.
Food was good, english breakfast on request, snacks were good and cheap, the hotel was immaculate and we didnt need to worry about noisy guests, there were'nt any, beds were comfy, so had a good nights sleep every night, short stroll to the square for breakfast, lunches and evening meals, peeking around the shops was a treat, the ferry to Agastoli was 2.5 euros??? (how they do it for that price is beyond me). go to see the turtles in Agastoli bay . we will definately be returning next year, we loved the hotel and all the staff and it's the first time iv wanted to return to any hotel, roll on next year and thanks to everyone at Hotel la Cite.. :)

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the moutains, its beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
295 reviews
2.3 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
3.4 mi away
Metaxatos Apartments
Metaxatos Apartments
#11 of 19 in Lassi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
2.8 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
446 reviews
10.5 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cite Hotel

Address: 28th Octobriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lixouri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#2 Family Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: £25 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Cite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cite Hotel Lixouri, Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing