We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break”
Review of La Cite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Cite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great break”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Booked this hotel on a late deal and we were not disappointed one bit. Rooms are clean, we had a balcony overlooking the pleasant gardens. Janet and Gerri were helpful and friendly, We were made extremely welcome. The pool is clean and there is never a problem with sunbeds as it is a small hotel. A great base to explore the Island. Breakfast is standard greek fare and enough of it.
We had to pay 5 euro per night for aircon and 2 euro per day for safe box but we had expected that. All in all a fab time and we would definately go back as so many ppl do. As others have said catch a taxi from the airport to Augostini and get the ferry across makes a wonderful start to the holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    48
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
138
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Have just returned from one week at la cite. A wonderful little hotel within five minutes walk of the square at Lixouri. Take a taxi to Agostoli harbor and ferry across to Lixouri. The rooms, bedding and towels are all spotlessly clean with hairdryer and kettle provided.A/C available for 5 euros per night. Breakfast is more than adequate with a selection of cereals,boiled eggs, bread,peaches and greek yogurt. The pool area is small but perfect for lazing in the sun or in the shade under various fruit trees.Plenty of sun beds available.The pool bar serves good food at a reasonable price 2.50 for a toastie and beer served in frozen glasses. Unfortunately the beach at Lixouri is a bit of a disappointment, however there is a bus to xi beach and taxis will take and pick you back up at the time of your choosing at a reasonable cost. The square and harbor have some lovely restaurants, we enjoyed Novita and Maxims. Finally, the staff at the hotel are wonderful nothing was too much for them. Thankyou for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel is small but beautifully looked after. The rooms were spacious and clean. The pool area was never crowded. Janet, Gerry & team looked after us wonderfully. We were given lots of tips on where to go for days out & how to get there. Breakfast was simple but plentiful. The only downside was the extra you had to pay for air con & a fridge in the room. Would definitely stay again - a great family hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel only has 28 rooms and the two from our party were both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

First impression is that it's all so small - hotel, rooms, breakfast - but after a day and realising this is Kefalonia at it's best it's just soooo relaxing. All hotels are small - you just can't see any in Lixouri ! At least this one has a pool which is uncrowded and good temp. Beer is v cold (shall I carry on ???). Staff v friendly and helpful. They charge for A/Con which is disappointing as most operators suggest it's in (E5 pd). So many people stayed here that had been before - that says something! All restuarants (off square/by sea) were very good and reasonable.. Square is too busy.

If you are wondering how to get here - defo taxi: airport to ferry, then across to Argostoli (E2.50) and then walk directly forward (on getting off ferry!), past square, up the road beyond, then it's on your left. Simples.
We hired a car for a week as nice to see some beaches (esp sunset (and meal) at Petani beach - 1/2 hour away - see other revus), other sites: St Gerasimus monastery, Assos and walk up to castle (altho castle here and St George have little to see and St G mostly closed.
Realised 3 day car hire (from Argostoli) is probably more than enough if you want to do mostly pool/sun time.

Room Tip: The ones by the lift/stairs are slightly smaller - not much tho
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have been going to Kefallonia and Ithaca for a good few years, but this was our first stay in Lixouri.

This is a really good, basic (in a good way) hotel. Our room was spotless with a good bathroom. It was nice to have a fridge and kettle in the room. There was a television, air conditioning for a reasonable charge and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Basic continental breakfast is included, cooked breakfast is available for an extra charge.

Good pool, with plenty of tables, chairs and sun loungers. The grounds of the hotel were an unexpected bonus, at times it was hard to believe that you were only 5 minutes walk from the main square.

The staff are fantastic, Janet, Gerri and Rula were so helpful and friendly.

Highly recommended. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Fantastic hotel in every respect.
Very relaxing atmosphere, spotlessly clean, brilliantly managed, warm and friendly staff, beautiful pool and charming gardens, simple but perfect breakfast, snack bar with plenty of choice, very comfortable rooms (ours had amazing countryside views).
Thank you Janet and everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.
Hope to return to beautiful Kefalonia one day and we will head straight for La Cite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have been going to Kefalonia since 1999 and have stayed in a few different places - but after finding La Cite last year, we cannot wait to go back again in August! The staff here become more like good friends than hotel staff....... I really missed them after I came home last year! Looking forward to seeing you on 22nd August, Janet & Gerri. xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank channeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
2.3 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#3 of 11 in Lixouri
270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#8 of 11 in Lixouri
419 reviews
5.3 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cite Hotel

Property: La Cite Hotel
Address: 28th Octobriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#2 Family Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Cite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cite Hotel Lixouri, Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing