We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff great hotel”
Review of La Cite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Cite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to this hotel but it won't be our last. The hotel is basic but clean and tidy. Set in beautiful grounds with a lovely pool and just a very short walk to the centre square with lots of restaurants. The rooms are cleaned daily and to a good standard. The staff are lovely they make you feel welcome from the second you arrive to the second you leave. Breakfast is basic but enjoyable and the other food is lovely. Going to go back next year with our children and can't wait. A lovely relaxing holiday

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel... firstly I would like the say the owners of this hotel make the holiday, such lovely people and do anything they can to help you.

The hotel is really peaceful and chilled around the pool area...

5 minute walk in to the square where there is lots of restaurants and bars overlooking the harbour..

has a little beach on the harbour but not the best but we fished off the rocks there and caught a couple of amazing fish.

we hired a Quad bike for 20 euros for the day and drove up to XI beach which is about 20 min drive and its stunning, Red sand, clear sea and a great beach bar..

The hotel rooms are quite small with a small balcony and a very small tv with one English channel but who goes on holiday to stay in there room ! not me !

overall a lovely chilled place with great people and everything is reasonably priced !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mighty_Whitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Out of all the hotels we've ever stayed in, Le Cite is the one that sticks in our minds as the best, Ok it might not be a five star complex but its comfortable enough, the rooms are quite basic, but lets face it your only there to sleep. The generosity and kindness of the staff, make it such a happy place to stay, read the reviews from everyone and you will see for yourself. After a nice day out in Vatsa bay, we would return around 4pm, cool down swimming in the lovely pool and enjoy afew cold drinks chilling with the other guest, Its not long before the jokes and laughter starts, its uncanny how the guest and staff make this hotel the happiest hotel to stay, and we are looking forward so much to our 3rd stay in just two wks time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank paulmartin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was a lovely little 2 star hotel set in the heart of lixouri with its own pool which was a joy to have available. The staff were absolutely lovely and couldnt do enough for you. Our only criticism is the showers in the bathroom which are too small for tall people and the bathroom tends to flood. Other than that the hotel was clean, tidy, breakfast was basic but good and overall we had a lovely holiday. Would recommend this hotel and lixouri to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hallworthfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

From the 17th to 31st of July we had 14 days of total relaxation.From teaching our little girl to swim in the pool to the warm friendly staff and other great guests we really could not fault this place. Gerry and Jannet are real sweethearts could not do enough for us the kitchen girl the cleaner and the owners should be very proud. This hotel is rated at 2 star but you get 5 star service. Thank you la cite hotel and all your staff on a perfect 2 weeks we will be back. Love Jim and Mags .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We returned home on sunday I was gutted to be leaving this hotel. We couldn't fault this hotel at all. The rooms was cleaned daily and the beds and towels was changed every 3 days. The staff was out of this world from the two ladies on reception Jerry and Janet to the cleaners, the cook, and the guy on door at night. We was in room 20 which had a big balcony we sat out in the morning and evening before going out.

The pool area was good and cleaned every day. We had food at the pool area the food was delicious specially the saganaki. The prices was the same as outside the hotel a bottle of mythos was 2.50 euros. The breakfast was good cheese, ham, bread, tea, coffee, juice, greek yoghurt, peaches, boiled eggs and cereals plenty to keep you going until lunch.

We could ask Jerry and Janet anything and they would tell you. Janet was teaching us small amount of greek words.

The square is only 5 mins walk plenty of bars and restuarants to eat and drink at night. The hotel had free wifi they also had a computer in reception which you could use for free.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We will be back next year.
My markings for this hotel is
Staff = 100%
cleanliness = 100%
food = 100%
pool area = 100%
rooms = 100%

You won't be disappointed with this hotel I loved it thanks to the staff for making us feel like a family. Met us some great people around the pool in the day.
See you next year Janet and Jerry xxxxx

Room Tip: room 20 quiet even on roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie2612_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just returned from a two week holiday at ' La Cite' the staff are absolutely wonderful making you feel welcome and relaxed. The rooms were cleaned daily and the breakfasts good.
We would recommend this hotel and holiday destination to all lovers of the Greek Islands.
Betty

Room Tip: Choose a room with a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 40Marla2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
297 reviews
2.3 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sami
294 reviews
10.1 mi away
Panas Hotel
Panas Hotel
#50 of 141 in Cephalonia
134 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Aggelos
Hotel Aggelos
#5 of 12 in Argostolion
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cite Hotel

Address: 28th Octobriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: £25 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Cite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cite Hotel Lixouri, Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing