We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth !”

Chromata Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Mystras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Running from December 2008, reviving an old and renowned traditional tavern of 1936, our restaurant Chromata has become a whole new experience for the area of Mystras.Located in Pikoulianika, in a local traditional stone built home enjoying marvellous veiws of the entire Byzantine estate, Chromata was re-designed by the distinguished theatrical scenographer Eva Nathena.
grimbergen
1 review
“Heaven on earth !”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We've got a tip from the creator of fine jewelery shop "motiv" in Mytas. We went 11/9/2013.
We enjoyed the food, the ducs, the fantastic view and the good service !
We planned to go back !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herman v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    51
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Continued perfection in the Peloponnese”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We visited the Chromata last year and enjoyed it so much we arranged our holiday around a second visit. The warmth of the welcome from Nikos and Vassilis started each of our 4 meals on a very positive note. As always the restaurant was packed because both locals and tourists realise what a special place this is. The food continues to be excellent, I tried things on the menu that I hadn't eaten before such as Onions cooked in the oven with Ham and Cheese, Feta in Phyllo and Chicken with Cream Cheese and was so impressed by the quality of the food and flavours. The foods we had tasted before such as the Chromata Salad, Beef in Aubergine, Pork tenderloin, Porterhouse steak and Mille Feuilles never cease to delight. The lovely family of Ducks wandering round are a lovely new addition. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the Peloponnese

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoottonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views & food”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely terrace, incredibly popular, but you tell why as soon as your arrive from the friendly greeting and great service. Veggie dishes were perfect, loved the feta in filo and zucchini & sweet potatoe croquets. My partner raved about the chicken stir fry. Wines were great & try the chocolate mouse!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaggerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“what a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on a summer evening and sat out on the porch.
The atmosphere is so peaceful. The patio is decorated by edible plants and the silence of the hills is only disturbed by the chuckles of chickens kept in the restaurants back garden. This is a good context for a country meal.
And the meal stood up to the prelude! Local dishes well cooked.
The cured pork was excellent and the beef filled aubergine main course stood the test of being full with the starters.
Bravo to the guys running this place for the passion they put into it! Will definitely try to go there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank black_cormorant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Amazing food and service. Excellent view and really friendly environment.Strongly recomended. Thumps up!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExploreSences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chromata Restaurant also viewed

 
Mystras, Laconia Region
Sparta, Laconia Region
 

Been to Chromata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing