We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byzantion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Byzantion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mystras
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location for visiting the historical site of Mystras - just a couple of minutes drive away. The hotel is big and rather unattractive (on the outside) but our room (219) was clean and comfortable and had a good view of Mystras from the small balcony. A plus point was having a bath tub as well as a shower over the bath. There was free wi-fi in the rooms and public areas.

The real added bonus of this hotel is the pool and garden area - lovely place in which to relax after getting hot and sweaty walking around the old town.

Breakfast was a standard buffet but, all in all, the room was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyGee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    91
    40
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
79
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Comfortable, clean hotel with very friendly staff & offering a great breakfast. The hotel is ideally placed in the heart of Mystras village, which has a good selection of Tavernas, & is very close to the Ancient town of Mystras.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. You get an excellent view of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs5319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

While the outside of the hotel looks plain and makes you wonder if it is out-of-date, inside you will find very welcoming owners and friendly staff. The room was immaculate and the bed comfortable. The hot and powerful shower was really welcomed after a long day's touring. What more could you ask for at such a reasonable price?

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back and you will see the mountains. I had a room facing the street, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spectacles88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our escape from Sparta ended up in Mystras where we planned to stay for one night but we stayed for 4 days - it was that nice - mostly thanks to the hotel but as well thanks to the surrounding.
The hotel - old, quite big probably not the most popular Hotel but we didn't regret at all!.
Very nice service (a bit from other epoch thought - which was sweet)
Clean rooms, swimming pool,
Help your self breakfast
18 euros all together:)

There was always someone nice to help or advice.
Hotel wasn't crowded by tourists therefore you had more space for yourself (including the swimming).

Apart of the hotel - the town is not big, nice and calm with good atmosphere (but don't expect too many discoclubs ;) ). What you get outside the town is really amazing - the entire Byzantine city with remains of a castle on the top of the hill, plus beautiful hills, streams and forgotten shrines in the forests. Really worth going there to rest, re-group, for hiking, or site-seeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgasiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The owners staff their hotel. Rooms are clean, and there have been many improvements since our stay in 2005. Breakfast is above average. Owners and staff go out of their way to help. We stayed for eight days and will return. Rooms on the street side have fantastic views from the balconies of the "castle" and old city of Mystras. Tip from owner upon leaving on where to exit major highway near Athens for Airport saved me my usual getting lost in Athens.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room was dated and musty and the sheets were smelly. I wonder if they were washed, probably not. In fact, I could not sleep because of that smell. I walked barefoot in the room and my feet got dirty from the uncleaned floor. The shower was not cleaned after the previous visitors, the towels looked like they went to war. This hotel gave me the feeling of total lack of respect for its clients. And soon, after searching for another option, I understood why: there are only 3 other options in the very turistic area of Mystras: the ussualy fully booked Mystras Inn, the crazy rated Mazarakis, the cheap and dubious rooms let by an old lady. There are also 3 guest houses, but they were closed.
For the quality one gets, the price paid at Byzantion seems huge. A bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stefanotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

A huge hotel at a big tourist attraction makes the heart sink but this one defies the expectation. Warm welcome, good rooms, nice pool, cheap bar drinks, good buffet breakfast, and all at a reasonable cost. Don't eat in the village but go 1km down the road to Parori and eat under a plane tree at Drosonigi where you can fill your water jug at the spring water that gushes out - and the food is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordCorben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystras
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Olympia
Hotel Europa Olympia
#1 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal City Hotel
Crystal City Hotel
#125 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilaeira Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nafplia Hotel Nafplion
Nafplia Hotel Nafplion
#32 of 43 in Nafplio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kronio
Hotel Kronio
#4 of 16 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irene
Hotel Irene
#70 of 111 in Chania Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byzantion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byzantion Hotel

Property: Byzantion Hotel
Address: Central Plaza, Mystras 231 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Mystras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mystras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Byzantion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Byzantion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byzantion Hotel Mystras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing