We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, lovely spot”
Review of Teach Cruachan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Teach Cruachan
Ranked #6 of 27 Achill Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great stay, lovely spot”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent a full weekend at this lovely B&B. This place has been running for many years so everything is very professional. We took the sea view room which, though faces the front parking, also has great sea views and not noisy at all. The room is basic but comfortable, plenty of hot water and excellent wifi.

Breakfast is very laid back with a menu of choices.

We booked our visit quite late so this was one of the few places left with room however, we were not disappointed. Excellent value for money and great hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Achill Island!
Regards, Roisin and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
63
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Ann & I returned to Roisìn & Michael's lovely comfortable home for a quick stay & were not disappointed. Very comfortable room with a sea view & every facility. Breakfast was top quality & plentiful too. Their lovely welcome & hospitality was worth our 660km road journey from Dublin & back. Their home in Dooagh, Achill, makes a great base for touring the entire area around North West Mayo & they rent bikes too! We recommend them thoroughly & without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Liam and Ann, that really was a flying visit after such a long drive from Dublin! It was lovely to see you again, and we hope you don't have to leave it as long before your next trip :) Kind regards, Roisin and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our first stay on Achill and we picked a gem of a B&B. Roisin and Michael were great. Breakfasts were excellent. The only thing that didn't cooperate was the weather!! Still we had a great time for our two days at Teach Cruachan. The views out the front of the B&B are fantastic, especially when the clouds lift!! We were fortunate to see dolphins in the bay the last morning of our stay. I would love to stay here again with good weather!! Guess we can't control that but we can control where we stay and our next trip we would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room facing the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks a million for your lovely review! What a pity you couldn't wait in Achill until the weather picked up, because it's been glorious for the past week! Delighted the dolphins made an appearance for you. They were around yesterday, but no sign of them today yet. Hope to see you again sometime in the future, Roisin and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were three adults and got a beautiful newly renovated room upstairs with a gorgeous ocean view. The hosts are very nice and helpful and breakfast is delicious. It's a great location for experiencing Achill Island - the end of the road with a beautiful sandy beach and several hiking opportunities is just a ten minutes drive. We were able to stay only for one night but could easily imagine to spend a week there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achillbnb, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Hana, thanks a million for your great review. It was lovely to meet you, and we hope to see you again. Roisin and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It is like a postcard scene, white washed farm houses and sheep grazing not only in the fields but on the road. The B&B has unobstructed views of the "wild Atlantic coast" and the rooms are quite and extremely clean. Roisin is a delightful host and makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achillbnb, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks very much for your kind review! Hope you can make it back to Ireland from Oz again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Familiar atmosphere. Great scenic view and very helpful and friendly hosts. Open-handed hospitality and a delicious and varied breakfast. Thanks to Michael jun. for playing the pipes for us! I wish I can see Europe highest cliffs next time - but was very lucky to see the Dolphins!

Room Tip: Every room will be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ursula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achillbnb, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi Ursula, Thanks so much for your valued review. We're so glad that your dad brought you to Achill Island when you were a child and you treasured the memories so much that you decided to bring your son to Achill. Between the great weather and the hunting pod of dolphins, you were lucky alright! We hope to see you in Achill again some time in the future...maybe with a Grandchild :).
Best regards, Roisin and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is fantastic, the view is the real appeal here. Unobstructed views of a field of sheep with the ocean, mountains and cliffs in the background. Breakfast is very good, cooked to order. Indulge at least one morning and order the French Toast, made with brioche and to die for! They rent bikes too and it's a wonderful starting point for a cycle. It's about a 30 minute walk to Keel but there is a pub 2 mins down the road, so really it's got all you need;) Gracious and attentive hosts. The rooms are pretty average, very clean and homey and if you can request the front rooms with the views. Highly recommend this place and will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keelwest, Owner at Teach Cruachan, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thanks a million for your thoughtful review. We hope to see you in Teach Cruachan again some time, and that the weather will be as good again! Hope everyone gets back home safely.
Best regards,
Roisin and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achill Island
15.1 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
965 reviews
6.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
116 reviews
7.8 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Achill Isle House
Achill Isle House
#12 of 12 in Keel
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#7 of 12 in Keel
69 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bleanaskill Lodge
Bleanaskill Lodge
#12 of 27 in Achill Island
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teach Cruachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teach Cruachan

Property: Teach Cruachan
Address: Keel West | Dooagh, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Teach Cruachan 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teach Cruachan Bed & Breakfast overlooks Dooagh Bay, where pods of dolphins and basking sharks often visit. You are welcome to make yourselves entirely at home in our home on beautiful Achill Island.Free wifi Internet, free tea/coffee/herbal infusions, cocoa, etc, 24/7. Comfortable ensuite rooms with TV, clock radio, private bathroom. Local produce used in our varied breakfast menu, including fresh fish when available.Guided tours and passenger transport in our own 16-seat minibus, and bicycle and accessory hire available.Céad Míle Failte isteach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Teach Cruachan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing