We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinead is the best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Water's Edge
Ranked #7 of 27 Achill Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CHICAGO
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sinead is the best!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a great place, and a great host! Sinead's B&B overlooks (out front|) a lake, the ocean, and mountains. Out back. Klew Bay (ocean again) and more mountains. The rooms are clean and in great shape. Sinead's breakfasts are delicious, her advice and knowledge of the island priceless. We are coming back again!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, but all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomdurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
I very much appreciate your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed everything, including the views! It was a pleasure looking after you. I'm fortunate to have those views to wake up to everyday. Delighted that you are planning a return visit - don't leave it too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Wonderful house and location. Warm welcome from Sinead. Room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable. Great nights sleep in this remote part of the island. Fabulous breakfast and lovely cup of tea arrival.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you were happy with everything. The Valley is a beautifully scenic, unspoiled part of Achill Island. Beautiful lakes, picturesque walks, remote beaches can be enjoyed by our visitors and feel as though they have the place to themselves. Thank you again and I hope that you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county mayo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have just returned from a one night stay in waters edge b and b. I was travelling alone and Sinead made me feel very welcome, not one but 2 pots of tea offered within an hour of my arrival! the room I had was lovely, big comfy bed, spotlessly clean, flat screen tv and en suite with great shower.

Sinead was very informative about local eating places and where to go for an evening stroll.

Breakfast was delicious, made to order, great choice, lovely coffee.

Thanks Sinead, lovely to meet you and a pleasure to stay in your beautiful home

Room Tip: Beautiful view from upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayoharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am delighted that you felt welcomed while staying in Water's Edge. I love recommending things to do to my guests - it's all part of what I believe a visitor to our Island should receive. Thank you again and I hope that you can make a return visit into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed there for only one night in May 2013. The owner is a very nice host. My room was very clean and apparently brand new. Great breakfast. All in all a very nice place to stay for one night or more.
The only "lower" point is the fact that I was expecting a room with a sea view and got a room on the ground floor with a view on the backyard full of rocks and grass and no view at all which was somewhat disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor if you wish a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisianAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your kind response. It is regrettable that you did not ask for a sea view when booking. We would have done our very best to meet your requirements. However, all our rooms have views of the water and the downstairs bedroom has views of the lake and Nephin Beg range to the East. As with any new house, the grounds and gardens will take time to establish and grow, not helped by the salt air from the ocean at the bottom of the back garden. I hope you choose Achill Island and Water's Edge as a holiday choice into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Easily the nicest B&B we have stayed in in Ireland and I would heartily recommend to anyone who wishes a peaceful break on Achill. The room we stayed in was at the back and was lovely - perfectly clean, comfy bed with crisp linens, flat screen TV, big wardrobe, en-suite with shower. Breakfast was a treat - although we had to order the night before from several tasty choices it was cooked to order. Coffee was very good (unlike many Irish B&Bs where you either get v weak brewed or plunger coffee or instant). We were biking and walking and it was a perfect base to come back to to relax in the evening before heading out for something to eat. Close by (1 mile/ 10-15 min walk) there was an old house/pub (The Valley House) which looked like it was a hostel - good pizza/pasta was available. Also there was a place called Pure Magic nearby (couple miles) which had more choice for food in the evening and was very reasonably priced. As other reviews have stated Sinead, the owner, is a gem - friendly and knowledgeable. This is the B&B others should be using as their standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review and I very much appreciate that you consider my B&B to be the nicest you have stayed in, in Ireland.

The Great Western Greenway is so popular and so many people now explore Achill Island and all its beauty the best ways, by bicycle and on foot. I'm delighted that my B&B was the perfect base for you to do this.

Thank you again for your kind comments. I hope you will consider a return visit to Achill Island and my B&B.

Best Regards,

Sinead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We recently stayed at Waters Edge for two nights in April on beautiful Achill Island. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. I had read the other reviews and wanted somewhere peaceful and relaxing to stay and this lovely bnb was perfect. It was easy to make our booking and find our way there, Sinead gave us a very warm welcome and was so helpful and professional with everything. The bnb was immaculate and felt like hotel comfort. We had a lovely bedroom with ensuite shower room and the breakfast menu was delicious. I had never been to the West coast of Ireland before and the scenery on Achill Island was very impressive. If you have not been before I would certainly recommend a visit to this part of the world and this fab bnb! Thank you Sinead for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F2013I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found it peaceful and relaxing. I try to ensure all my guests feel at home here. We are blessed with beautiful scenery on Achill Island. I hope you can make a return visit into the future.

Best Regards,

Sinead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had always wanted to visit Achill, and finally got the chance to do so with my wife this past winter before attending a family event in Dublin. We stayed at the Water's Edge for two nights in mid December. The stillness and quiet beauty of Achill at that time of year is striking, and Sinead's place is the perfect setting from which to enjoy it all. Her hospitality is genuine, her rooms warm (it was December) and comfortable and her breakfasts wonderful. Sinead filled us in on local history and customs and couldn't have made us feel more at home. I look forward to our next visit with her.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Sean.

Thank you very much for your kind review. I very much appreciate it. I was a pleasure looking after you both and I'm so glad you felt at home here.

Until your next visit, best wishes to you both.

Sinead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achill Island
10.5 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
958 reviews
2.7 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
113 reviews
7.8 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#6 of 27 in Achill Island
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#3 of 4 in Achill Sound
180 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mulranny House B&B
Mulranny House B&B
#1 of 5 in Mulranny
53 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bleanaskill Lodge
Bleanaskill Lodge
#12 of 27 in Achill Island
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Water's Edge

Property: Achill Water's Edge
Address: | The Valley, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is one of Achill Island's newest guesthouses, on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. We are within minutes of blue flag beaches, fishing lakes and exceptional coastal and mountain walks. Water's Edge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Achill Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing