We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the West!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Water's Edge
Ranked #7 of 27 Achill Island B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in the West!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Waters Edge is the ideal place to stay and explore Achill Island!
It is perfectly situated with the sea and Mt Slielvemore viewed from our window in the morning. Lovely breakfast each day with detailed expert advice from Sinead on hiking the mountains, shopping, art galleries, fishing, restaurants, and which pubs had the best music on each night. In fact the most authentic and friendliest pub on the Island is a short walk away; The Valley House. It's a huge island and week flys by in a vain attempt to see it all.
The guest house is brand new, well built and designed, and I've never seen a cleaner or one better kept in all Ireland. My wife and I had a lovely week in October there with lovely weather that we will never forget.
Sineads thoughtful Christmas card just reminded me that I let others know of our very positive experience at the Waters Edge!
Tim McGinty, Cleveland

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJMcGinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Tim

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm delighted you and Ellen enjoyed your visit here. We certainly enjoyed having you. You are right, there is so much to do on Achill Island, you could easily spend a week trying to see everything. I hope you will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This B&B is absolutely perfect. Sinead is the sweetest. I stayed there for one night with two friends as part of a girls' weekend getaway. Sinead treated us like her own daughters, picking us up from the bus station, and even driving us to dinner, and making us tea throughout the day. Her breakfast was delicious. The room was lovely and very clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The views from her B&B are breathtaking. We took a walk to explore the surrounding area and found it to be magical. Achill Island is a slice of heaven on earth, and not to be missed if you are in Ireland. We took tour with Sinead's friend Liam who could not have been more amazing. He provided us with such interesting insight, and drove us all over the island, highlighting the Atlantic Coast drive. Go to Achill Island and stay at this B&B - there is no better way to see such a unique part of Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay here in Nov. I am delighted that you enjoyed it and you got to see the whole island with Liam from West Ireland Private Tours. I hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland and that you are safe and well back in US. Please send on my regards to the others. I hope you can make a return visit to us some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Sinead gave us a warm welcome into her lovely home. It was cosy, clean, very comfortable, and so perfect for the peaceful break we'd been hoping for. Sinead was able to direct us to the only place still serving food when we arrived on Achill Island, which was very handy. She also gave us good advice on where to go and what to see during our short stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Hazel. Thank you so much for you lovely comments. I appreciate it. I'm so glad you enjoyed your short break and hopefully you'll come back for a visit in 2014. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our first visit to Achill Island. Sinead and her B & B truly exceeded our expectations! Prior to our arrival, she arranged a private tour of the island for us. Upon arrival, she made us feel most comfortable in her beautifully appointed and spacious room with a delightful view. Breakfasts were among the best we have had in our many travels. She was knowledgeable and helpful. We look forward to our next stay with Sinead at the Water's Edge in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Wanderer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind comments. I really appreciate it. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and the private tour. It was a pleasure looking after you both. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a definite place ill return to. The lady couldn't have been any nicer. So helpful, friendly, & the whole place was spotless. Way more choice than a full irish for breakfast & her french toast with bacon was amazing.Highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotsajourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed everything on your stay here. Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our weekend at the Water's Edge was just divine!!! Beautiful room, very, very comfortable with a lovely en-suite. Sinead is an absolute joy, all ways smiling and full of cheer. Very welcoming and all ways willing to get you whatever you need. Breakfast was just amazing, lots of choice, though our favorite was the traditional breakfast, served with a basket of homemade soda bread and freshly baked muffins, which were still warm and perfect with a cuppa while waiting for the fry. Have to say this is also in a great location as it stumbling distance from our favorite pub on the island, The Valley House, which is just fantastic as getting around on Achill without a car is a none starter. Great views, an awesome lake 300yrds which rocks on a North Westerly if you are a kite boarder and is unknown to all but a few! It is in our opinion undoubtedly the best B&B on the magical island of Achill. Thanks Sinead, you are the best! Gary & Lucy :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_Page170276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thanks Gary & Lucy. Your comments are so nice to read and I'm thrilled you enjoyed everything. You were a pleasure to look after. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Arriving on my bike after finishing the Greenway, I received a warm and thoughtful welcome, and the room was well appointed, comfortable and private. There was a good variety of breakfasts available and the host was tremendously well-informed about local history and geography, and local amenities. This was the best stay in a b&b I've had in years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandlifeIreland, Owner at Achill Water's Edge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, Anne. I very much appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Achill Island hotels
2.7 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#4 of 27 in Achill Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hy Breasal B&B
Hy Breasal B&B
#3 of 4 in Achill Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#1 of 4 in Achill Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Water's Edge

Property: Achill Water's Edge
Address: | The Valley, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Achill Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is one of Achill Island's newest guesthouses, on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. We are within minutes of blue flag beaches, fishing lakes and exceptional coastal and mountain walks. Water's Edge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Achill Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing