We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf school great”

Blackfield Surf School
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Achill Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Blackfield Surf, kitesurf and SUP School is the only approved surf School on Achill Island.We are fully approved by the Irish Surfing Association and are one of only two schools in Mayo with this accreditation. If you need a surfing lesson or to hire some wetsuits, surfboards or body boards, just drop in! If you would like to learn to kitesurf, or improve, just give us a call.If you would like to go on a stand up paddleboard expedition through caves and arches-let us bring you! We run a hugely popular and (very small) surf camp for children aged 8-16 during the months of July and August.The surf school runs from our iconic double decker bus on Keel beach. In winter (October - March) our bus is closed but we are always happy to run lessons or hire equipment! Just call us!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

My son doi g a 3 day course and really loving it will def book again when we come back. Really friendly staff and kids all beaming Coming out of the freezing water

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Celladu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"keel beach"
in 13 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 4 reviews
"see you next year"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic family"
in 2 reviews
"family lesson"
in 2 reviews
"the double decker bus"
in 2 reviews
"last summer"
in 3 reviews
"top class"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"gerry"
in 43 reviews
"fionn"
in 5 reviews
"instructor"
in 18 reviews
"wetsuits"
in 11 reviews
"session"
in 10 reviews
"beginners"
in 10 reviews
"surf"
in 30 reviews
"waves"
in 17 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

I had a 2 hour surf lesson with my 3 children (14, 13 and 8) and it was one of the highlights of our two week holiday. Caoimhe was a really fun and engaging instructor and she kept it simple and divided her time equally between each of us and the other two members of the group. We had never really surfed before but were all standing and doing simple turns by the end. The wetsuits they provide are very warm so there's no need to worry about the weather or the water temperature. Caoimhe let us keep the boards for a while after the lesson and my kids were very reluctant to leave. This is a great family activity and Keel beach (with Blackfield Surf) is a great place to learn.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

For two & half hours each day, Blackfield supply the wetsuits/boards/instruction, but most of all, they supply a personal touch that made each of my children feel as they were King of the Waves. Jerry/Fionn/Caoimhe & River are keen to advance each child/adult in their surfing abilities and confidence n the water, and they do this in a relaxed and fun manner. They also are keen to promote the need for safe surfing and for individual surfers to very aware of their safety when going surfing.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank oneillse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackfieldachill, Owner at Blackfield Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Kind words-many thanks from us all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We booked the lesson in the morning but the weather was to bad to surf so we did the lesson in the evening from 7-9.30 pm. the People were really frendly and they had perfect tips for improving the surfskills. the place is perfect to start Surfing as the waves are really easy to catch and the Surface is sandy and flat whitout Stones.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We booked a family lesson for all of us - children from 10 to 17 and adults, none of whom had tried surfing before. Gerry was absolutely brilliant with everyone - very calm approach with excellent advice and tuition tailored to everyone's personal requirements/ needs. The equipment was great - really warm wetsuits so getting cold wasn't an issue. Everyone got standing up on their first lesson and we all had absolutely brilliant fun. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. And they even looked after our dog for us back on the beach! Thanks very much again, Peter, Edelle & family

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank petergnickels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackfield Surf School also viewed

Achill Island, County Mayo
Dugort, Achill Island
 
Achill Island, County Mayo
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Blackfield Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing