We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely House, Highly Recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Achill Shore View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Achill Island, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

EAMON F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Everything was as promised on the website but the location and view exceeded our expectations.Spectacular views over Achill Sound. Will retunn. Timers on the immersions would enhance the experienci

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at Achill Shore View. We hope we will see you some time in the future again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda289
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely House, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This house is very well equipped, very clean and spacious. The location is great if you enjoy the isolation but is not within easy walking distance to pub (although a very short drive to the local village). We had a great time with our group of 9 adults, 2 toddlers and 1 dog. Would highly recommend this place. One small downside is the early check out time (11am), although I did manage to get a slightly later time of 1pm.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living/dining areas with huge window
Liked least: pub not close by
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you for your very kind words regarding your stay at Achill Shore View. Sorry that you found the pub difficult to access. We do tell our guests that the pub is a 25 min walk and there is a taxi service available. I hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that we might see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katief402
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in stunning location”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very special week here at Achill Shore View. The owners had left chocolate Easter bunnies for every guest (we were a party of 8) plus a generous welcome pack of milk, bread, butter, fruit and wine! The house is fabulous with everything you need for a self-catering holiday. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms lovely. The house provides buckets and spades, games for inside and outside, and even has a dog run and kennel. And wifi of course, plus a huge number of DVDs.
We arrived in the dark, and were astonished when we woke the next morning to see our surroundings. Simply stunning. The scenery is magnificent - when the tide is low, there's a lovely walk out to a big rock in the bay behind the house.
Other local highlights include the Atlantic Drive, Minaun Heights, Keem Bay, and the Secret Garden. But everywhere is pretty stunning! Hope my photos do it justice.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely feedback from your stay at Achill Shore View. The pictures that you included are quite stunning and it is nice to see that you were rewarded with Achill and the weather being at their very best.

Very glad that you enjoyed the games and DVD selection and the welcome pack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidaG31...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Achill Shore View”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Could not have asked for a better place to stay. Situated in quiet and beautiful surroundings.
House clean, well maintained, spacious and nicely decorated. Facilities are excellent, kitchen has everything you would need in terms of utensils.
Large modern tv with Soarview and free Satelite channels, dvd players and large dvd selection included, even books and board games too!
Free wifi.
Would recommend in instant for groups, young and older families or even couples looking a quiet gettaway.
Very good value for money.

Date of stay: April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your very generous review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Achill Shore View and found the house to your liking also. It means a lot to us that our guests get the most from their holiday's in Achill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darragh G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellently furnished, v comfortable house in perfect surroundings”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend with friends and found the house to be perfectly furnished, wanting for nothing. Owner has presented it perfectly and we felt very much at home.

Couldn't recommend it more as a base for a family or large group.

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are always very happy to hear that our guest have enjoyed the house and their holidays in Achill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesSharpe
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely house - very well managed”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a long weekend with extended family including youngsters. The house is very roomy and well proportioned with plenty of space. It is exceptionally well equipped, far better than many other rental properties in which we have stayed. The beds were very comfortable with quality bed linen and proper pillows (not spongy ones). On the wet afternoon we had, the kids were able to watch videos and play games, all of which were available. The house was professionally prepared for our arrival, and to high standards. In my opinion it is very well managed and we would certainly recommend it as a good location for a break.

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay at Achill Shore View. Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. We strive to keep the house as close to a home away from home as possible. We hope you will consider us for another holiday in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.