We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
The Old Beach Cottage, Achill Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dugort, Achill Island, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ingrid M
1 review
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 11 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Achill Island is wonderful and the cottage is in a great location! Just a few steps from the cottage, across a small road and a grass area, and you’ve reached the beautiful beach. The location is also great as a base for days out to explore Achill’s amazing landscape. The cottage has everything you need and is clean and comfortable. The owner and housekeeper are friendly and helpful, with great communication both during the booking process and our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
Hello Ingrid,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It’s greatly appreciated!

We really hope to welcome you back to our little place by the sea again soon.

Happy travels!

Paris
The Old Beach Cottage & The Old Fisherman’s Cottage, Achill Island
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaLeinst...
leinster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in Achill”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We booked the Old Beach Cottage for a week in June and we are so glad we did. This place is truly amazing. The cottage is beautifully decorated and presented. Photos just don't do it justice. This was our first trip to Achill and certainly won't be our last. Achill has the most stunningly beautiful coast line and beaches you will ever see. We look forward to staying in this little gem again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Hi Maria,
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are so glad you loved our little cottage by the sea as much we do.
We would be delighted to welcome you back!
Kind Regards,
Paris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steveinbr...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a beautiful escape by the sea...”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We were blessed with amazing weather and a most fantastic time here - right across the road from the unspoilt Dugort beach, the Atlantic ocean, local entertainment at The Strand Hotel. The cottage itself is beautiful - tastefully modernised whilst retaining its original features and all the memories of times gone by. Excellent communication from the hosts and memories that we'll never forget. Thank you most sincerely - we'll definitely be coming back again some day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical, romantic, tranquil”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well, what can I say? From the first moment I layed eyes on this gorgeous little cottage I knew I was in for a magical holiday.

Impeccably clean, surprisingly spacious and wonderfully warm due to the gorgeous fire place, this rustic cottage was all I could dream of and more.

By bringing together classic concepts, such as the beautiful stable doors, and modern essentials like dishwashers and central heating, the cottage is a dream for those who want an authentic, country stay with no mess and no fuss.

However, it wasn’t just the wonderfully well equipped kitchen, the incredibly cosy beds or perfectly pressured shower that made this cottage so fantastic. With just a glimpse out of the windows, you can see the beautiful Mount Slievemore and in less than a minute’s walk straight ahead, you are on the beautiful “Silver Strand” beach that quickly began to feel like my own personal space.

If I were to grasp for one criticism it could only be of myself for not booking to stay there longer, as there had clearly been no stone unturned and no surface undusted!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your feedback Leon. Sounds like you love it as much as we do! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes. Paris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matdv23
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Have just returned home from Christmas at
The old beach cottage.
Have had the perfect time there.log fire going and lovely night's in. It was bliss inc my Daily walk along the Beach..Look forward to returning in 2018.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Hello Matt and thank you for your great review! We very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Warmest wishes. Paris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing