We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Friendly”
Review of Pure Magic Achill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pure Magic Achill
Ranked #1 of 3 Dugort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I just got back from a two night stay in Pure Magic. It was great; clean rooms, delicious food, fun activities and really, really great staff. Its a must if you're anywhere in the area. I went for a kite surfing lesson which I really enjoyed, before we borrowed two bikes and cycled out to the edge of the island where you get spectacular views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killeenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

It was a pleasure to share with you our passion for kitesurfing and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will get to see you again..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

My mistake was telling the truth.
When my wife and I were planning to cycle the 'Greenway' she insisted on staying somewhere really good. Our first choice was the 4* hotel in Mullaranny, but they were (un)fortunately fully booked. I then went on a solo run and booked Pure Magic, based on reviews in the Irish Times and TA. When my wife enquired about our accommodation for the weekend, I truthfully told her that I had booked a 'surfer's hostel on Achill'. She is a good sport, but It was with some trepidation that we arrived tired and hungry at 8:30 on a Friday night.I started unloading the bikes and she checked us into the Australia room. Five minutes later she was hooked - the welcome we received from the staff was brilliant. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable with no TV (a big plus!!). The relaxed vibe in the whole place is infectious, with a few places where you can really chill out.
The food in the restaurant is absolutely top notch - beautifully prepared using local ingredients, without being over cheffed and pretentious. A €3.50 daily corkage fee is a brilliant idea that really works. I brought along a few choice bottles and this really added to the experience.
We are already planning to bring a group over next summer for walking and cycling.
A real find, and well done to the team.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you very much! It will be a great pleasure to welcome you and group..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just stay away. This is a money making business and nothing else, they seem to have contempt for other humans, just want your money, eurgh awful. Rooms contain beds nothing else, no hair dryer, kettle, bath, etc

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rororororo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, General Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Despite of being extremely disappointed, the whole puremagic team is also very surprised to receive such a bad review about us.
We would have really much appreciated you to come to us and express your disappointment and surely, we would have found a way to make you feel better.
It has been several years now that we're sharing our hospitality and our passions with people and I won't deny that it has been successful.
I am very sorry that you did not feel the spirit and atmosphere of our place..
Best regards,
Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We only stayed one night which was not long enough. The atmosphere at the place was very happy and relaxed. Our room was very small but they had made the best use of space,making the room an Eastern Top of the World room, with a small ladder to climb onto the bed. The continental breakfast was very substancial and I only wished we could have stayed longer to have joined in the music and try all the menu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyofthebann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

See you another time and thank you for your review..

Best regards,

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at Pure Magic, that is me and my 3 sons aged 20, 17 and 14. Had a most superb time , as not only was the food first rate but staff were so friendly and accommodating.
Francois gave the boys great tips on how to surf and arranged their boards and wet suits, which they loved and are now hooked.
Also, there was a great laid back atmosphere and it is a beautiful setting.
My only regret is we didn't have enough time to join in with some of the music gatherings as we were on our own huge family gathering. Ah well, there is always next year !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa322013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Theresa,

Thank you for your review, delighted that you and the boys enjoyed our place and the surfing.. See you next year!!

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I can't offer enough praise for Pure Magic guest house/lodge - the staff are incredibly accommodating and welcoming; the rooms are cheerfully decorated, clean, and comfortable; the food is superb; and, best of all, there's wonderful music and fun for people of all ages. I stayed there with two friends during the week of the Scoil Acla Music School and we laughed, ate, and sang our hearts out. I loved especially how children were encouraged to sing and play instruments in and around the restaurant. Despite the frenzy of the week, the staff were never frazzled. Francois, one of the owners, even gave us a good deal on the cost despite surprising him with a third person at the last minute. One way to tell if a place is good or not is to observe whether the staff members smile at all. Pure Magic employees never stop smiling! The whole stay was Pure Joy. In fact, that might be the only better name for it!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an en suite room - the "Australia" room looked nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaglanRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

We are happy because you are happy. It's true that we all had a special magic time with everyone during Scoil Acla.. See you next year!!

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great food, in particular great fresh pizzas. Parents can relax and eat in comfort while kids play with snooker table(free!), or outside on hammock swings. Off the road, really safe. We have kids ages 2, 4 and 6, they love the freedom of the place. Also, not sure what the coffee brand is, but it is the best on the island, you get s double shot without having to ask. Top marks!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardrobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Glad to read this! We love seeing kids playing around, happy that you guys experienced a good time in our place..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dugort
1.6 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#6 of 27 in Achill Island
103 reviews
3.3 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
#2 of 7 in Achill Island
87 reviews
0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#2 of 4 in Achill Sound
184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pure Magic Achill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Magic Achill

Address: Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dugort
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique views from a traditional, charming and just refurbished stone building. 10 rooms en-suite, wine bar, pool area, restaurant. Just a Magical Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pure Magic Achill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pure Magic Achill Achill Island/Dugort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing