We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem”
Review of Pure Magic Achill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pure Magic Achill
Ranked #1 of 3 Dugort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I don't often go places twice - especially places on the western coast of Ireland - but I know I'll return to Pure Magic. From the first evening watching the sunset over the cliffs of Keel beech to the full Irish breakfast miraculously prepared before my dawn departure, I felt like an honored guest. The host, the chef, the amenities, and the activities were all exceptional. Little extras made it even better: a guided tour of the abandoned village near town; the hot tub, occasionally replenished with water direct from the kettle; the local music that entertained us every night; and so much more. Thanks Pure Magic for a spectacular weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillianmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you Gillian for your review. It was a great week with you guys. Hopefully we will get to meet you again..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

I visited Pure Magic at the weekend. The setting is warm cozy and full of character. The team were welcoming and charming and so happy to help in any way they could. We had some amazing fresh local food in the restaurant and followed it on by spending time in the lounge by the fire. The scenery can't be beaten either. All in all it really was a magical weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here with us..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently spent the weekend in Pure Magic with a group of friends. The experience was top notch from the organization, the food, the lodging and activities. The scenery can not be beat and you can enjoy a lovely bike ride through the countryside or partake in the kite surfing excitement. The food is excellent, from breakfast through lunch and dinner. You can enjoy local specialities and their Pizzas are fantastic as well. I would highly recommend both seeing this part of Ireland and staying at Pure Magic any day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetcarolinepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanking you for your post Caroline, we're inviting you to come back and visit us again some day.

Take care,

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A place with a great atmosphere. I was part of a large group visiting Achill for the weekend. Francois and his team were unbelievably friendly and helpful and put together a great weekend for us notwithstanding the inclement weather on Saturday afternoon. The lounge with its warm fire was cosy and welcoming and the guys behind the bar (Hi Julian and Denise) were great. We ate there both nights and each night the food was fabulous. The lunch stew after a morning of cycling in gale force winds, rain and hail was also very welcome.

I didn't kite surf with Francois but the guys that did said it was superb.

All in all a great base for an active stay in Achill.

Shaun

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank soslawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Shaun,

Glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and our services. It's always a pleasure for us to share what we like doing. Hopefully we will see you soon for some more fun..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I helped to organize an event in Pure Magic Lodge last weekend, and I'm so glad I chose it. It is one of those places that will stand out in my mind as being a very atmospheric, fun and special. The rooms were lovely, with fun themes. The dining area is amazing, with lots of local artwork and pictures. The food was nothing short of fantastic, with beautiful local fare, with lots of love put into it. Even though we had more than 40 people at the event, everyone was really happy with the food. Can't recommend this place enough. Francois and his team did a PURE MAGIC job on us, and we will keep going back, year after year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipMcN1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your post Philip. It was a real pleasure for us to have all of you guys here, and what a great week end! See you very soon..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

You can expect an amazing welcome from Francois, Denise and the team at Pure Magic... We just spent 2 nights with a large group and the hospitality was second to none. The food and drink was of immense quality, as were the facilities, activities and local knowledge. Whether you're looking for culture, walking, kite surfing or something else, this is a fantastic place to get away from it all; just sitting in front of the open fire and looking out at the view was heaven.

Achill is a very beautiful place and these guys make it Pure Magic :) I will def be back; this time on a kite ;)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are very pleased to hear such a good review from you. Next time we will make sure that we go on a little Kitesurfing adventure with you. See you soon and thank you for your post..

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The fellow who met bus at the door was lovely and very welcoming. We said we were just after a cup of coffee and he made us some lovely coffees to get us around the rest of the island on a bleak day. We will keep this place in mind should we need accommodation here as the atmosphere is lovely.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MCLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your post, we are inviting you to come down again and stay with us sometime..

Thank you,

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dugort
1.6 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
122 reviews
3.6 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#6 of 27 in Achill Island
103 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
The Valley House Hostel & Bar
#2 of 7 in Achill Island
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pure Magic Achill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Magic Achill

Address: Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dugort
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique views from a traditional, charming and just refurbished stone building. 10 rooms en-suite, wine bar, pool area, restaurant. Just a Magical Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pure Magic Achill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pure Magic Achill Achill Island/Dugort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing