We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Coffee Shop”
Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Dugort
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute Coffee Shop”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I went here just before lunch time one day and I'm glad I did as 20 minutes later there were people queuing at the door to get in. I love this cafe and return to it each year. The selection of food and specials reflect what the island has to offer and the homemade desserts are to live for!! Staff were friendly although disappointed that I couldn't choose what ice cream I could have with my chocolate fudge cake - I know from experience that there (in the catering industry) there should be no price difference on flavor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCB2130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Coffee Shop”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A busy spot, seems popular with locals as well as tourists. Lovely spot for a bit of lunch, or coffee and cake. Very clean, bright and we were looked after by great staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place for a lunch”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is categorized here maybe just as a cafe and tearoom, but I'd definitively would visit this place for a lunch as well. Our seafood portions from the chalkboard were one of the best we tasted in our trip to Mayo.
And the view to the sea and prompt service did not bother either.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kphalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice coffee shop with good service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a coffee and scone sitting out in the sun on the "terrace" which has wonderful views. The coffee and scone were good and the service friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tincan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“'A treat with the views to match'”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had lunch here on a number of occasions while on a recent visit to Dugort. Delicious food, good value. and efficient service by lovely, friendly young ladies , in an extremely beautiful part of Achill Island. Great to see it so busy with families, walking groups, and foreigners , all adding to the ambiance. A great addition to that side of the island.
Only drawback, as in many cafes and restaurants in Ireland, the noise of wooden chairs scraping on wooden floors.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing