We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little piece of heaven”
Review of Gray's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dugort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 3 Dugort B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Gray's Guesthouse is quaint & yes a little old fashioned but that is what makes it so wonderful in this idyllic setting. My room was called the Pink Room and it was very well appointed with a great en suite and wonderful shower which was much needed after completing the Half Marathon on the 6th of July. A good hearty breakfast set me up for the day and there was loads of choice for all the hungry runners. The brown bread was fantastic, so good, I actually asked for a loaf when leaving. They should sell it as an extra.
Achill is a fantastic place; with sweeping views and amazing blue flag beaches. The weather may not have been great when I was there this time but it's still a magical place.
Gray's has stood the test of time and will continue to do so as long as Achill is on the map. So switch off your mobiles and switch on to bliss and just soak it all up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenbackoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

I spent a weekend at this guest house where there is now excellent value for B&B and also for evening meals. Based at the foot of Achill's Slievemore Mountain, it was once part of the nineteenth century Achill Mission Settlement at Dugort. An ideal location if you like a peaceful, scenic spot, and a good base for exploring the wider Achill Island, and doing some scenic walks for which there are many suggestions at the Tourism Office in Achill Sound. The guest house is a few minutes walk from the cottage - now an artists' residence - once used by the German writer Heinrich Boll - it is also within walking distance of the historic site of the Deserted Village mentioned by Boll in his Irish Journal. We enjoyed two enjoyable three-course evening meals during our stay, nice walks on the nearly strand, and visits to the nearby Keel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gatechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Thanks to Vi and her fantastic team - my wife and baby son had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in Grays in Aug 2012. Grays is an authentic Irish guest house, full of Irish art and still used as a retreat for up and coming artists. We took advantage of a cancellation short notice and Vi had an extra heater in the blue room for the baby visitor which was much appreciated. The location was just 5min walk to the beautiful Dogort beach. The breakfast and evening meals offering fresh local fish were 5 star and great value....

...and most importantly - we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here recently as had no knowledge of Achill before and went by the recommendations on Trip Advisor! Definately would not recommend this place mainly because it is such bad value.Room was pokey, dated, with paper thin wall, towels with holes, shower was literally a trickle that was either scorching or freezing (ladylady said it was old, well get a new one if you are going to charge €80 per night for the room!), staff not particularly friendly, breakfast nothing special, even re the location I would say stay in Keel or southern Achill, its pretty there, Dugort has few options for dinner, apart from at Greys itself where again you are ripped off in having to have full set menu dinner. Checked out other B&B options in Achill when there, that were streets ahead and same price or cheaper!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank sylvie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The history, hospitality, and food remain as ever, wonderful. In addition, for the 2012 season, last autumn in 2011 Grays' Guesthouse have refurbished bedrooms, introduced a website (grays-guesthouse.ie), and priced Bed & Breakfast at €40 high season. There's really not much more that Grays could improve, do your heart good, and call in.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Happy-2-oblige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were astonished when we read someone else's one-star TripAdvisor reviews in August 2010. :-o It sounds to us as if those reviewers did not realize that the Gray's Guest House are designated historic buildings, dating from the 1830s.

When we first stayed at Gray's in 1999, we were beyond impressed that every bedroom in these historic buildings had been updated and an ensuite bathroom added--with plenty of hot water! We've stayed at Gray's every year since 1999, as a family with children, as a couple, and as a solo. We have seen several more rounds of updates to the premises over the years, and are always amazed that Gray's somehow manages to make the updates without sacrificing the historic ambience of the buildings and grounds.

Why do we love Gray's so much? Here are just a few reasons.

*There are sun lounges, a games room, and a main sitting room at Gray's. All are open to guests. We are not stuck in our bedroom when it rains in Achill, as it often does. This was especially grand when our children were younger and travelled with us.

*The fabulous Blue Flag beach of the Dugort Strand is--literally--steps away from Gray's.

*The historic St. Thomas Church (now often used as a community concert hall, especially in the summertime) is across the road from Gray's. The Cyril Gray Memorial Hall, where artists-in-residence at the Boll Cottage often hold public lecture/readings, is adjacent to Gray's.

*Gray's offers hotel (with breakfast), B&B, and self-catering houses. Over the years, we've stayed in all of these kinds of accommodation, and been very comfortable.

*The meals at Gray's are go-hiontach! We once drove all the way from Kinsale (and back the same night) to have dinner at Gray's, and were glad to do it.

*The Gray family and the staff members. The Grays are hoteliers of many generations in Dugort, and the staff members have been at Gray's Guest House for a long time. Their kindness is unparalleled. Example: We once stayed at Gray's after a *very* long overseas flight followed by driving from the airport to Gray's. We were tired the next morning from our trip, so we slept through breakfast. When we finally woke up, we found that Gray's had held breakfast for us--for two hours!

*The guests of Gray's Guest House. Don't be shy--the lounge/sitting room in the main guest house is for you, too. Go in there and see who else comes in; there is always someone interesting to talk to at Gray's!

Room Tip: Tell the person making your booking (probably Dorrie or Margaret) your needs for a room, and ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AbigailGrainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have stayed in Gray's since I was very young and every time I went it was always great. The staff are lovely and would do anything to make you stay more enjoyable. The food was always delicious; soup, starter, main course, desert, coffee, so you always came away full. Cooked breakfast, cereal, toast and Margaret's famous porridge which you must try at lease once.
This is a fantastic old style B&B, so if you want a break from the real world then this is the place for you. Pets are more than welcome so bring them as they have their own, and pool table and table-tennis table also.
Keem Bay, Keel Beach, Minaun heights, Atlantic Drive, Achill Secret Garden are all a must when visiting Achill. There are many more, too many to mention.

Room Tip: Separate houses also available if you want a bit more privacy or if in a large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mcdowesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dugort
0.0 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#2 of 4 in Achill Sound
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray's Guest House

Address: Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dugort
Price Range: £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Gray's Guest House Achill Island/Dugort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing