We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“villa palazzola”
Review of Villa Palazzola

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rocca di Papa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Palazzola
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocca di Papa
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“villa palazzola”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a wonderful acommodation within easy reach of rome. Myself and my wife stayed in june 2013 for 5 nights. The food is excellent, mainly soups or pasta to start,followed by a main course of meat dishes,finished off usually with fresh fruit. There is wine with lunch and dinner. We were in a room overlooking the lake, with a view directly across the lake,of castle gandalpho. We flew from manchester to ciampino airport and arranged with the hotel to be collected by a local taxi firm. Going to rome was easy. Taxi to train station, train into rome and collection on return.Would certainly choose villa palazzola again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandher255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
14
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I've been coming here since I was a child. Villa Palazzola is a truly beautiful and peaceful place to go on holiday. I've visited with large groups, with family and as a lone traveller and each time it's been brilliant. The accomodation is simple, so if you can't live without your Molton Brown toiletries and egyptian cotton towels - bring them with you! (If that doesn't appeal, it's probably not the place for you). Mealtimes are a social time as all guests dine together. Food is simple and tasty with meals outside during the summer months. Lovely pool and there's also a bar (George's Gin and Tonics are legendary). I'd highly reccommend this place if you are travelling alone as you are bound to meet people as it is so friendly there and there are usually a variety of age groups. Staff are great and the views are unbeatable. Just go.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are absolutely fine, with spotlessly clean bathrooms just across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank catspyjamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
256 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Villa Palazzola is unique place... you could not call it a hotel and yet you are catered for in every respect. As the Villa has been a convent and retreat house in its past, it retains that feeling of being a 'community' of which, as a guest, you become part. For example, meals are taken in a refectory style dining room and the rustic Italian food is shared by all. The wine served is excellent. There are tea and coffee making facilities within a pleasant sitting room (with pc's to check your email) and there is a well stocked bar. The Villa is situated high above Lago Albano and from the Italianate gardens you look across to Castel Candolfo on the opposite shore, beautifully reflected in the lake, and see Rome beyond that... stunning. For friends travelling together or groups, this venue really comes into its own. It's excellent.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are ensuite or have lake views - ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Villa Palazzola is a wonderful place just to relax. Food is great, as is the wine. The rooms are newly refurbished and are warm in winter.

The staff cannot do enough for you, the service is friendly and efficient. The Villa has the feel of a house party, small groups of people sharing the same space. The views are suburb.

For retreat, for a few days away from it all, for a holiday - it is a really suburb venue.

Room Tip: The new wing is by far the more comfortable, if you can get a lake view - its stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just finishing up my first stay at Villa Palazzola and it definitely will not be my last! The staff is amazing. Anything they can do to help, they will do. The Palazzola is the English College's (that's a seminary for English priests) home away from home in Rome, so it is English speaking and a wonderful base from which to begin Italian. The price ordinarily includes full board, and is well worth it, fresh and tasty. Red and white wines on the table are included.

Mention that you would like a lake view, because the property is set high and overlooks Lake Albano, a gorgeous and pristine volcanic lake, visible from the terraces as well. There are hiking trails around the lake that reach nearby villages, including Castel Gandolfo, where the Pope lives in summer. Nemi, Grottaferrata, and Frascati are picturesque and nearby. There is a car service (extra cost) for people who would rather drive. Rome is an hour away by car or taxi + train.

Overall the experiencce is like being in a beautiful, historic English house as a guest. This house, though, has a medieval, monastic style chapel, and for anyone who wants to go, Catholic Mass is celebrated daily. There is good fun and camraderie among the guests. People come and go and you meet very interesting people that you might never meet anywhere else.

If it sounds like a magical place, that has definitely been my experience!

Room Tip: Some rooms must be reached by stairs, so if that is an issue make sure to mention it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelthruEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is my second visit to Palazzola, the first being with a group. The location is unbeatable and the view is simply stunning as you look across the lake and into Rome. The staff do everything possible to make your stay memorable and nothing is ever too much trouble. The home-cooked food is delicious and plentiful, as well as the local wine served as part of the meal. Our room looked out over the lake and was warm and comfortable, despite it being freezing outside. The gardens and terrace are the perfect place to relax and they even provide blankets and cushions during colder weather. Sitting outside and looking out over the stunning scenery is one of the many highlights of Palazzola. From my previous visit in May, the tennis court and outdoor pool are features that add to the relaxing nature of this wonderful place. Unlike a lot of breaks abroad where you come back needing a rest, we had a restful weekend and the easy drive to/from Ciampino is ideal! This place is an oasis and I would highly recommend it. Thank you to all the staff for making our weekend so wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJPRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I can only endorse the other comments. It's a wonderful place, lovely to look at, friendly, comfortable, offering me as a solo traveller a pretty good balance of sociability and doing your own thing.
The rooms are quite varied. I had a modern room with en suite but no view. Other rooms have only H&C, but an amazing view over the lake. The food is fine and plentiful. George is extremely helpful, ready willing and able to answer all the questions.
There are lots of different spaces - a quiet reading room, a bar, a tv lounge, a place to make a cuppa and keep your cold drinks, an ironing room. Plus outside a truly stunning terrace garden looking out onto the Castel Gandolfo across the lake, plus outside pool
The ethos is Catholic with daily Mass, which suited me fine, but I don't think Dawkinsites would get too upset as long as they can endure grace before meals.
I got a flight from London to Fiumicino for £100, hired a car for the week for £200, and paid €25 a day for full board - all amazing value.
If you think you might like it you will love it.

Room Tip: Ask about en suite and/or view. Don't know if it is possible to get both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentgeordie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocca di Papa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castel Vecchio
Castel Vecchio
#2 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
376 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tenuta Cusmano
Tenuta Cusmano
#1 of 4 in Grottaferrata
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Locanda del Pontefice
3.6 mi away
Locanda dello Spuntino
Locanda dello Spuntino
#4 of 4 in Grottaferrata
84 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Palazzola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Palazzola

Property: Villa Palazzola
Address: Via Dei Laghi Km. 10.800, 00040 Rocca di Papa, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Rocca di Papa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocca di Papa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning lakeside location just outside Rome, Villa Palazzola is a 13th century Cistercian monastery, fully refurbished and modernised with a large swimming pool and breathtaking garden terrace. It's the perfect place for parish groups, pilgrims, school groups, families, couples or people on holiday on their own who stay for a couple of days or a couple of weeks. It's also a wonderful place to hold a wedding in Rome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Palazzola Rocca Di Papa, Rome, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing