We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, magnificent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Thurwieser
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place, magnificent location”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very nice place and very friendly hosts, the hospitality was superb. The location is perfect for hiking and cyling or motortrips. Excellent breakfast and nice view from the room. Also the backyard (lawn) is a very nice place to relax after a trip. From the hotel it's just a short walk into town.
Only small negative point is the fact that sound isolation of the rooms is not so good, but as most of the guest are quit, that was not a big problem

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerwinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    31
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
meilen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed with our 2 children, 8 and 4 years old, over Easter and had a fantastic time. Such a lovely and friendly hotel. Clean and cosy. What more do you want? Perfect location.
Hoping to come back soon again.
The Andersson family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaMeilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Dreamlike hotel in a dreamlike location. Nice and cozy. Beautiful view from the window. Very friendly staff - felt like home. I hope to return next year. I was with a friend in the New Year holidays. Spent 12 wonderful days in the hotel Thurschieser. Initially booked only 8 days, but decided to stay for a few more days. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langenboom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed with 15 cyclists from WTC De Doortrappers off Langenboom Holland during 6 nights in hotel Thurwieser. We have had a wonderful week in the Mountains in the national park Stelvio and we enjoyed the stay in the hotel. The hospitality was great and Bruna cared for us as if she was our second mother.

The breakfast was every day delight and great and we loved the cool beer Bruna served us when we came back from our road trips. It was difficult to go to work on monday but fortunately no one of us is traumatised because the memories are too good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldCLangenboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Garni Thurwieser for a week in February. The Hotel must be the cleanest Hotel in Italy. Our room was very warm and comfortable with excellent of the valley and mountains. The buffet breakfast was very nice - a lot of choice. On St Valentines Day special breakfast cakes appeared for everyone.

The hotel is well placed for the village and ski lifts

The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good affordable accommodation around the Bormio area. We will certainly use it again ourselves when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-McW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Very good hotel, very friendly stuff, good breakfast. Maybe a little too far from lifts.. especially if you snowboarder.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guitarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Thurwieser, for one night, while on a European road trip. Everything we needed was available at the hotel, thankfully because the almost the whole village seemed to have been closed down for holidays. On speaking to the proprietor she explained that most of the village closed down for May & June, after the ski season, and opening again for the summer. We had our evening meal in the hotel and were very happy with all aspects of our stay here. We would definitely consider staying here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyfrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Caterina Valfurva hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vedig
Hotel Vedig
#2 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni
Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah C...
#1 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Compagnoni
Hotel Compagnoni
#4 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cevedale
Hotel Cevedale
#6 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nordik
Hotel Nordik
#10 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Confinale
Hotel Confinale
#9 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Thurwieser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Thurwieser

Property: Hotel Garni Thurwieser
Address: Via Magliaga 11, 23030 Santa Caterina Valfurva, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Santa Caterina Valfurva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Caterina Valfurva
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Caterina Valfurva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Thurwieser 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurwieser hotel, typical of the mountain region, comfortable and cosy, gives you great freedom of choice with its B&B formula (continental buffet style breakfast). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Garni Thurwieser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Thurwieser Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing