We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel.”
Review of Hotel Compagnoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Compagnoni
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family hotel.”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Excellent service, great location easy for the ski shops and the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    35
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My family and I have have stayed with Giovanni and family for 10 consecutive ski seasons. This hotel is just the most fantastic home from home. Sometimes it's full of British, sometimes it's just Italians and Swiss, but it is always without exception a pleasure. Every other season since 2005, we have been for Christmas and New Year. This is a terrific time - the multi-course New Year's Eve dinner starts about 8pm and Prosecco and dessert arrives about midnight along with a battery of fireworks being let off around the village.

With every other holiday I enjoy venturing somewhere new, but I'm in love with Santa Caterina Valfurva.

The ski area may be look small on the piste map, but it is perfectly formed. I enjoy taking a few lessons - I choose the same instructor every season so we can pick up where we left off. There are easy slopes to play on and there's a challenging championship grade downhill slope with an 1100m vertical drop, and if this proves to be not enough for you there is Bormio 12km away with its famous Stelvio men's downhill slope - the fastest downhill course of them all - and the delightful tree-lined area at Oga/St Colombano a few km further on.

I'm visiting for a weekend break with my wife in July 2010 just to see what it's like in the Summer.

I love it! I love it! I love it!

Santa Caterina Valfurva. See you soon and again in snow in February 2011.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gideon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel, but it has been 3 years since our last visit - However I am very pleased to say that nothing has changed and that the hotel is just how we remembered it.

My wife and I travelled from Dubai to Malpensa with Emirates and then transferred to the hotel (the transfer was organised directly by the hotel).

On arrival we were greeted by Giovani and Family and realised that once again we had made the right decision in returning to Santa Caterina. This really is a gem of a hotel in an Idyllic Italian Village with excellent skiing for all abilities.

The Hotel offers clean, affordable accomodation in a perfect location (close to the ski lift), and excellent food and wine.

Above all though it is the welcome and service that you receive from Giovani and his family that makes you want to return year after year.

I really can't say enough about how good this place really is.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubaikevinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

If you have not already visited Santa Caterina Valfurva you should start planning now. We rang Giovanni, the owner of the Albergo Compagnoni, and he helped us to organise our skiing with minimum fuss. Santa Caterina Valfurva is not so much a resort as a village which happens to be a wonderful place to ski and this hotel is slap bang in the middle of the village. It is a two minute walk to the ski lift (where the queues are tiny) and a one minute walk to the Pub Camino. Giovanni organised ski passes for us, entrance to the spa and swimming pool at the Tri Signori Residence and generally made our life easy and enjoyable. The food served by the wonderfully friendly and helpful staff is perfect - simple food, cooked well using regional ingredients and recipes. We used the excellent ski school for our 6 yr old daughter who loved it. Seriously, if you and your family want a relaxed and stress free holiday, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danleighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We've been using the Compagnoni for ten years and have no desire to go anywhere else in Santa Caterina. Gio and his family are on top of everything and go out of their way to make sure everything is right for you. We think it highly unlikely that you'll find anywhere else in Santa Caterina that maches the quality of this place at a similar price.

Try it - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwertonParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stumbled upon this hotel 8 years ago and have been back to visit every year since.

The owner - Giovanni- and his family go out of their way to make you feel very welcome from the moment you check-in until it's time to go. The rooms are spotlessly clean & comfortable, the food tasty & satisfying, and the atmosphere in the bar - convivial.

The village is small and pretty with two main lifts giving access to the skiing area (the closest lift a 3-4 minute walk from the hotel). Though not huge, the skiing area is always well covered in snow (due to the high alititude) and free from crowds even in school holidays. If you want more skiing take a 20 minute free bus ride to Bormio and ski to your hearts content though most visitors find plenty to satisfy them on the slopes of Santa Caterina.

The village is not currently served by a UK Tour operator meaning its refreshingly short of 'Brits Abroad'. But fear not - if you want to visit this fantastic place ring or email Giovanni and he will arrange airport transfers (Milan), ski passes, ski school etc all before your arrival. He is used to doing this for his large number of loyal frequently returning visitors.

The hotel can be found at [-] and all necessary contact details are found there.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlashHarrySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2009

The hotel is a perfect relaxed family run business where you feel part of that family.
it was our third visit and it gets better each time. We had a family room with our two daughters aged 10 & 13 and had plenty of space and storage.
The hotel is central to everythign and everyone knows the owner Gio. nothing is too much for him and his team, from birthday cakes to negotiating in the local shops.
The food is plentiful and tasty. Enjoy it if you can.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard47London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Caterina Valfurva hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni
Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah C...
#2 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vedig
Hotel Vedig
#1 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alle Tre Baite
Hotel Alle Tre Baite
#17 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cevedale
Hotel Cevedale
#5 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meuble Adler
Hotel Meuble Adler
#13 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Thurwieser
Hotel Garni Thurwieser
#8 of 22 in Santa Caterina Valfurva
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Compagnoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Compagnoni

Property: Hotel Compagnoni
Address: Via Frodolfo 1, 23030 Santa Caterina Valfurva, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Santa Caterina Valfurva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Santa Caterina Valfurva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Compagnoni 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Compagnoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing