We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”
Review of Masseria Cesarina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Masseria Cesarina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our family stayed here for a night. Upon arriving, we were disappointed that we only booked for a single night, as we could have stayed here longer. There is a great pool, the room we were in was decent size, and the entire place was very clean and well kept. The owners were very helpful and friendly. It's conveniently located near Alborobello, Polignano a Mare, and Trani (where we stayed the previous night- worth visiting for the passeggiata experience- we've never seen one quite like it).
Also, I would recommend visiting the nearby caves- I've been to a bunch here in the US and this was hands down better than any that I have ever seen before- well worth the eu56 it cost for the 4 of us to go on the long tour. It's quite well run and you can see the money is put back into the preservation and upkeep of the cave.

This place was a bit hard to find, even with GPS. It seems that Italy has recently changed all the road names/numbers, and our GPS maps were a bit out of date, which resulted in us taking the back lanes to get to the masseria.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Masseria Cesarina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Masseria Cesarina for four nights. The accommodations were spotless and very comfortable, and the gardens and pool were beautiful. Our hosts Julia, Tony, and Alex hosts were friendly, gracious, and helpful. The endless supply of freshly picked fruit every day was a real delight. the location is super-convenient for our day trips to nearby villages and towns, as well as the beaches, and even the city of Matera. We would stay at Masseria Cesarina again with no hesitation! We feel very fortunate to have chosen such a winning place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annapolisitalophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

If you are looking for:
A nicely restored building in a quiet, secure location, yet near a number of attractions
Accommodation that is exceptionally clean
A comfortable bed and powerful hot shower
A spacious lounge and the availability of coffee and tea at anytime
An ample self service breakfast with fresh fruit from the farm
The opportunity to cook your own evening meal in a well equipped kitchen
A great pool with plenty of sunbeds and shady areas
A good restaurant within walking distance
Three kind, helpful hosts who go that extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable

Then choose this Masseria you will not be disappointed. We had a wonderful four night stay here and would highly recommend this Masseria.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed at the Masseria Cesarina last week with my daughter and we were really well looked after by Alex, Julie and Tony. The masseria has been renovated really tastefully, with a truly rustic effect. The whole atmosphere is very quiet and laid back - the pool is great with lots of loungers too. Having use of the kitchen is also a big bonus.
It is situated in a great place if you have a car - which we did not - but the family were really helpful about lifts to the train station and also found us a car and driver to take us to Matera.
There is a really good restaurant within close walking distance where the host, Francesco, provided great entertainment as well as excellent food!
I would highly recommend anyone going to Puglia to stay here.
Thanks again Alex, Julie and Tony!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a lovely stay at Masseria Cesarina earlier this month! Firstly, Alex, Tony and Julia are fantastic hosts and very welcoming. The B & B has been beautifully refurbished and if full of gorgeous antique furniture which Tony has imported from England and restored. It is quietly situated amongst olive and cherry trees off the main road, which makes it an ideal getaway if you're seeking respite from the frantic pace of Italy's roads and tourists whilst being central to a lot of the attractions Puglia has to offer. Alberobello, Martina Franca and the beaches are all within easy driving distance but you don't need to go far from the B & B to find good food and trulli! We loved being able to make a meal in the kitchen one night and picking endless cherries from the tree out front. Thank you for your hospitality and generosity!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarah0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We went for a 5 day break in Puglia. Alex, Julia and Tony made us feel very welcome. Room and breakfasts were exceptional. Highlight of the week was when we made Pizza on the outdoor wood burning oven. Good company, good food and good wine. who could ask for more. We missed the opening of the pool by one week which was a shame but the pool area is also great. Definitely going back next year.

Room Tip: We got to see all the rooms and they are all spacious and of high quality.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Very nice accomodation, in which you feel welcome from the first minute. We stayed already in April, meaning it has not been to hot - so perfect to explore the environment like Trulli, Grotta or just the seaside with its beautiful cities such as Ostuni. Apart that the Masseria offers a great and huge international breakfast and a big kitchen to be used by the guest at any time. We really enjoyed staying there and we can imagine that it will be even better within the summer using the great pool. Than you, best regards Romy & Fanny

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellana Grotte hotels
1.7 mi away
Semiramide Palace Hotel
Semiramide Palace Hotel
#2 of 4 in Castellana Grotte
348 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park Hotel La Grave
Park Hotel La Grave
#1 of 4 in Castellana Grotte
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ape Rossa B&B
Ape Rossa B&B
#1 of 49 in Castellana Grotte
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
L'Isola Felice
L'Isola Felice
#6 of 49 in Castellana Grotte
370 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Il Piccolo Rifugio
B&B Il Piccolo Rifugio
#10 of 49 in Castellana Grotte
44 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fontana Vecchia B&B
Fontana Vecchia B&B
#9 of 49 in Castellana Grotte
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Cesarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Cesarina

Address: Strada Borgo Scorzone n. 4 | Bari, 70013 Castellana Grotte, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Castellana Grotte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Castellana Grotte
Price Range: £39 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Masseria Cesarina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masseria Cesarina B&B in Castellan a Grotte Puglia is immersed in amongst olive groves and fruit orchards.Locatednear Bari and its historical centre, Ostuni, Alberobello in the heart of the Trulli'sand Zoo safari near Fasano. The farmhouse has been recently renovated to a high standard and tastefully furnished retaining the character of the building with modern facilities of A/C,T/V, DVD &en-suite bathrooms ensuring your stay with us is as comfortable and tranquil as possible. Masseria CesarinaBed and Breakfast/Guesthouse comprises ofbedrooms (a former cheese room and living accommodation) with bidets and spacious shower cubicles. We have family rooms with king size beds & extra beds can be added on request 2 of our rooms are interconnecting cots are available on request linen and towels are included. The B&B is all on one level and it has wide doorways for wheelchair access and one bathroom for disabled visitors. The open plan dining-room and kitchen (the former stables) is a public area with TV, WIFI Internet& DVD player. Tea & Coffee making facilities in the dining-room Breakfast can be served al fresco in the courtyard Guests are welcome to cook meals in the kitchen or have a BBQ in the English style garden with BBQ for guests rather than going out to restaurants or a swim in the pool. The English speaking & English run family friendly B&B in Southern Italy Pugliaoffers welcoming accommodation where you can relax and unwind in comfortwhile remaining close to amenities and central for other tourist attractions. Close to the sea and situated in the countryside. Whether a holiday vacation or just visiting Puglia for a short break B&B Masseria Cesarina is the perfect location for your Business trip or holiday. Places to sleep in Puglia are plentiful, but to sleep in Castellana Grotte central to many places to visit, is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Masseria Cesarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Cesarina Italy/Castellana Grotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing