We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Peaceful retreat in the Valle d'Itria”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning Masseria with enclosed private pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Masseria with enclosed private pool
mediterranean garden surrounding the beautiful enclosed swimming pool spacious covered dining gazebo overlooking the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
16 reviews
Stunning Masseria with enclosed private pool
mediterranean garden surrounding the beautiful enclosed swimming pool
spacious covered dining gazebo overlooking the pool
Dining alfresco
beautifully restored traditional Masseria
Enter a caption for your photo
Comfy seating area on 1st floor veranda  overlooking spectacular countryside
Elegant 'L' shaped Living Room with seating for 10
Masseria stone floors throughout
Dining room with high curved ceiling
Spacious master bedroom with high domed ceiling
direct access to garden or veranda from all bedrooms
ground floor bedroom with wheelchair access to garden and pool
Large twin/triple bedroom with feature fireplace
superb views from upper bedroom windows
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Brick built BBQ close to dining gazebo
spectacular views from 1st floor bedrooms and veranda
Polignano al Mare, local seaside town
UNESCO heritage site Alberobello just 20 minutes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Castellana Grotte, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
luvtotrav...
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat in the Valle d'Itria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Beautiful farmhouse set amidst vineyards and olive groves. Location is great for exploring Puglia. We did day trips to Grottaglie, Lecce and Ostuni. Easy to explore all the towns in Valle d'itria as well. The outdoor living areas are well designed and comfortable. The pool was pretty cold when we were there but we did use it once and it was refreshing. The kitchen has everything you need for easy meal preparation. The bedrooms are spacious and several have access to the outdoor spaces. There is a washing machine but no dryer so clothes are hung outside on a line to dry. There are lovely flowers, shrubs, fruit trees and herbs all around the garden area.
Daz and Doni, the caretakers, are delightful. They prepared two meals for us and we were amazed at the variety of typical puglian dishes that were presented. Doni uses many family recipes from her mother and grandmother. Every dish was delicious!
They took us on a tour of a local cheese factory and winery and then a walking tour of their home town of Conversano. It was a wonderful experience.
The location is about 20 minutes to Polignan a Mare, the beautiful sea side town. There are great restaurants near by in Castellana Grotte and Conversano. There are banks , gas stations and supermarkets in all the towns. Remember that many things like shops, super markets and restaurants close between 1pm and 5 pm most days.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the meals provided by the care takers
Liked least: That the pool was not heated and that there was no clothes dryer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2013
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Masseria Casalicchio and that Darren and Donatella looked after you well. They are a treasure and are always on hand to help clients. Maybe you will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Even better the second time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Having had a wonderful family holiday at the Masseria in August 2012, we returned in August 2013 and fell in love with the house and the area all over again! This time we were with another family to make the most of the wonderful space. We returned to some favourite places and found some new ones, including the brand new waterpark nearby which was a big hit with the children. Darren and Donatella were as friendly and welcoming as ever and wonderful with the children. Despite having now spent two summer holidays at the house there are still many nearby towns we have yet to visit and we are already considering returning for a third time next year!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The amazing pool and patio area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete J
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to rent with friends and children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We were a party of 8 adults and 5 kids for which this masseria was perfectly suited. Whilst being a large party there was plenty of space for us all. The masseria has been very tastefully restored and has an impressive inventory. The pool area was perfect for relaxing after visiting one of the many local sites but equally perfect for lounging next to for the entire duration of the day. The masseria is about 5 mins out of Castellana Grotte and pleasantly secluded within a vineyard. A car is essential. The beaches which are fantastic are about 30 mins away.
As we had young children we ate in most evenings which was not a problem with many well stocked supermarkets nearby.
The masseria caretakers, Darren & Donatella are a real credit. They cooked for us one evening. The food and wine was excellent and in abundance. The meal was reasonably priced and a highlight of the trip. We should have asked them to come over more often. Next time!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Huge amounts of space, well provisioned.
Liked least: Dirt track leading to the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic, spacious villa, tucked in between beautiful olive groves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in January 2012

The Masseria was a beautiful house set in the most picturesque olive groves. It was private, tucked down a long driveway, but not isolated. It was only a 5 minute drive to the nearest town which had plenty of good amenities, restaurants and cafes as well as a great food market once a week.The house was really well equipped. The large open plan kitchen had great facilities, lots of pots and pans, crockery basically everything you needed. The kitchen led onto a large dining room which had a beautiful large wooden table which could seat at least 10 people . We didn't need to go out to eat because we could all enjoy meals together at home. There are a number of separate seating and relaxing areas which created a large sense of space. The bedrooms were all well furnished and all but one had ensuites.
When I visited, the pool wasn't finished but it was winter so we probably wouldn't have used it much anyway but I can imagine in the Summer the pool would be fantastic for families especially those who have children. All in all, a fantastic villa which I can't recommend highly enough.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The size and space of the villa
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matsilojo
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ticked every box for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We are two married couples in our sixties who wanted to tour Puglia. This villa was perfect for our first visit to the area and we were met on arrival by the caretaker who couldn't have been more helpful and the very generous starter pack of basics that was provided was much appreciated. The interior and exterior of the villa had been lovingly restored and was a pleasure to stay in. We loved Puglia and will return; the people are very warm and friendly and we were made to feel welcome where ever we went. This villa will not disappoint.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked least: Setting the house alarm took a bit of getting used to
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardeniin...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautifully restored historic building in a peaceful rural setting and with a fabulous pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I stayed at the masseria for a week in early October (it was warm enough to eat outside and to use the pool). I understand that the restoration of this historic, listed farmhouse has only recently been completed and I was bowled over by the quality of the workmanship, the large, airy, light and well designed rooms and the very modern facilities. The decor of the house is fascinating, too - an eclectic mix of old English, French and Italian furniture combined with artefacts from around the world. The house is in the countryside, surrounded by orchards of grapes, olives, almonds and cherries. It is very quiet. Castellana is a couple of kilometres away with all shops and markets needed for a self-catering hoiliday. Puglia is a great area to explore, the sea is a mere half an hour away. Go for it!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The house itself.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinny S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best holiday house I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Set in a beautiful, rural, location but close enough to visit many places of interest, this extraordinary house felt like a luxurious treat. It has been decorated in such a thoughtful and classy way that I felt pampered even though I was not in a hotel.
In fact I would love to keep it a secret, but I cannot recommend it highly enough to adults travelling alone or families with children of any age.
I will definitely go back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The house, the pool and the tranquility
Liked least: That I could not stay longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing