We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit”
Review of Osteria Sant'Anna

Osteria Sant'Anna
Ranked #11 of 83 Restaurants in Cisternino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$46
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Must Visit”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This restaurant ranks with the very best in Europe with many outstanding and innovative dishes. The prices are similar to virtually all the restaurants in Cisternino (and elsewhere in Puglia).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    175
    42
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Go! Go! Go!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This restaurant has an amazing atmosphere and the food and wine to match. The presentation of the desserts is outstanding! The restaurant was recommended to us by a local and it became perhaps our favorite restaurant of our entire Italy trip! It was so good we ate there twice in 3 days. The staff are lovely and were very helpful as we attempted to speak Italian to them. On the second night we ate dinner here, they remembered us and gave us a complimentary little dessert, which was also beautifully presented and delicious. If you are anywhere near Cisternino, GO! You will be glad you did :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exquisite Puglian cuisine in a refined setting.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

After our first meal at Osteria Sant' Anna we could not wait to return...and our second dining experience only added to our high esteem for this splendid restaurant. Not crowded during our lunchtime visits, the service was attentive and helpful. Most important, the cuisine was consistently superb and beautifully presented, exceeding our expectations! The selection of local wines was ample, and the value quite good. Only minutes from the center of Cisternino, this is a wonderful opportunity to explore elevated Puglian cuisine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barnett02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Deserves its rating”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lunch time Saturday - October. First finding the restaurant, it is directly opposite the railway station, but the exterior of the building gives no hint as to what the inside is like (from photos on the site) therefore its is easy to miss particularly if coming east to west. Once inside its exactly as the photos depict. There were children in there but they were no problem whatsoever, service is friendly and good. The menu has lots of regional dishes I can recommend the broad bean puree with chicory etc and the veal steak with mushrooms is as good as it gets. With wine and water 70€ for 2 .......excellent.
Closing day is Monday

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not for those looking for a quiet meal!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife & I had a meal here following a recommendation from the people we were staying with. The food is ok though nothing special. The problem area comes from the constant noise from young children running amok around the tables, something the staff seem to accept. The atmosphere is more akin to a branch of McDonalds than a proper restaurant. If you have young kids then this is the place for you. If you want a quiet romantic dinner for two.......go elsewhere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsteriaSantanna, Proprietario at Osteria Sant'Anna, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hello dear customer,
Our restaurant is renowned for being very quiet place where couples can dine in intimacy, we are sorry for this experience.
You've probably been unlucky to happen in an evening with some child a little too "lively".
Unfortunately, in these cases we can not "bind" the children or the parents scold, because experience has taught us that many times you get the opposite effect.
We assure you that we do not accept these situations, but unfortunately we are helpless in front of the ignorance of some parents.
What we can do in these rare cases is to give the opportunity to change the room, definitely quieter.
(And even the food you can eat it with more calm, and you'll enjoy it more).
if you have occasion to return, we will show you the words that we wrote.
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Sant'Anna also viewed

Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
 
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Osteria Sant'Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing