We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“'Truilli' Stunning Experience!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Santoro

Villa Santoro over the beach pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Santoro over the beach pool
Villa Santoro through Almonds Villa Santoro, evening over pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Villa Santoro over the beach pool
Villa Santoro through Almonds
Villa Santoro, evening over pool
Pool from seating through terrace
Villa Santoro dining terrace
Villa Santoro dining room and kitchen
Villa Santoro living room from dining room
Villa Santoro bathroom
Villa Santoro living room and fireplace
View from Villa Santoro
Sky from Villa Santoro
Panoramic view over pool from tarraces
Trullo stables near Ceglie Messapica
Villa terraces from the pool
Living Room
View of pool
Pool surround
Pool and Villa at night
Clouds over trullo cones
Bathroom
Pool panaorama
Sunset over Villa Santoro
View over pool through pergola
Pergola to the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Trullo -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HT53
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Truilli' Stunning Experience!”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful family holiday in this beautiful setting.
Beautifully designed accommodation with an extensive out door living/dining area and an exceptional pool.
A great location to visit many local towns Ostuni, Cisternino,Alberobello.
An enjoyable Puglian experience!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
I am delighted you had such a good experience at Villa Santoro. We would love to have you or any of your friends back.

Many thanks

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathg13
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation like a Hollywood star!”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Me and my wife stayed at villa Santoro for two weeks. We travelled with my wife's mother and our 2 year-old son.

The villa is beautiful inside out. it has a modern feel while giving us a sense of regional authenticity.

Because we were travelling with our two-year old we needed a place that was central with no more than 1.5 hour drive between the main attractions. Villa Santoro was perfectly located for that.

Over the 14 days, we travelled to a different destination each and every day. We travelled in the morning and came back early in the afternoon for our son to nap. In the afternoon, we took full advantage of the outdoor kitchen, the outdoor lounge area and of the beautiful pool. It literally felt like we were living on a 5 star resort by ourselves. The pool is perfect for kids because it has a swallow area all around the peripheral. Our son could play in the water with his toys just like he would on a beach.

I love to cook and if you do too, this is your place. They have a gas range both inside and outside and a wood burning BBQ. We made good use of all of them during our stay. The dining table outside is beautiful and offers a great view on the sunset in the evening.

The closest town to do your shopping is Martina Franca. There is a small grocery store at the entrance of the town where you can easily park and buy all the basic stuff. They are better shops in town but parking is complicated therefore for small daily errands we stuck with the grocery store.

If you don't feel like driving too far, there is a small store less than five minutes from the villa. You can buy you burrata and buffala mozzarella there and they have a good selection of cured meat. They cut it at the counter for you. We were filling up on Mortadella, prosciutto and on their local Capocollo di Martina Franca almost on a daily basis.

The villa is in the countryside and there is a regional bike path running on the edge of the property. It is a perfect place to go for a bike ride if you have your bicycles or for a long evening walk.

Also, it was really helpful to have Rosanna and John live not too far. They were on site to welcome us and made sure we had a bit of food in the fridge to get us started.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thanks so much for your review Mathieu and of course we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S-A-Willi...
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful first trip to Puglia”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We choose the villa because of its style and accommodation and found it to be in a wonderful location near to a great local shop, three charming towns and a manageable 40 minute drive with two little ones, 3 and 1yrs, to a choice of gorgeous beaches . We stayed for 2 weeks.John and Rosanna were excellent' hosts' sorting out the few problems we had as quickly as they could and we enjoyed Rosanna's delicious cooking on several occasions.
The pool here is stunning but its water was not warm enough for the children to swim in until the last 3 days but they happily wallowed in the shallow areas until then.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the location and the setting of the villa
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you Sarah for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. May maybe a little early to enjoy the pool to the full! Do come back again from June on, we would love to see you here again. Glad you enjoyed Rosanna's cooking too. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful holiday in Puglia. The Villa is perfect for a family group or couples and children, it is well appointed, well located for some wonderful local towns and an easy drive to the coast. A local supermarket is within a short drive and the wonderful town of Martina Franca is also near by. Martina is simply beautiful and has a large number of excellent restaurants. An absolute highlight was the pool, with its shallow beach effect, perfect for lazy afternoons relaxing in the shallows.

The owners are on hand and are always willing to give good advice on where to go and where to eat and their own wine is well worth buying

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa was overall excellent
Liked least: The alarms and gate process
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Andrew and Sophia, thank you so much for your very kind review. I am delighted that everything appears to have fulfilled your expectations. Very few people realise what a beautiful Baroque town Martina Franca is until they get here. Thanks for the plug for my Brigante wine too! I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Villa”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for one week in a group consisting of four adults and six children. The villa is beautifully designed, both inside and out, with a fantastic pool and a wonderful position overlooking the local countryside. It was perfect for our group. Lovely towns within easy reach include Martina Franca and Locorotondo. The owner's partner, Rosanna, is available to cook meals if booked in advance - her cooking is not to be missed! Satnav or Google Maps is recommended when travelling to the villa as local navigation can be tricky.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thanks Jessica and Ben

Both Rosanna and I are delighted you enjoyed Villa Santoro so much. I think Rosanna has to pass on some recipe suggestions for you!

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich802
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience in a Charming but Updated Villa”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in August 2013

I rented Villa Santoro for 5 weeks in the summer of 2013 with my wife to celebrate our 60th birthdays. We invited our family and friends and over the course of the 5 weeks had 29 house guests. Villa Santoro was the perfect venue for this as the 4 bedrooms plus 3 bathrooms, huge swimming pool and pool deck, loggia and outdoor dining table made the entire stay comfortable and memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Eric and Linda, a very late response from me. Of course we are glad you loved Santoro and as we feel we have become friends, would love to welcome you back. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieDP
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing week at Villa Santoro”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a beautiful week in Villa Santoro. John Dabney, the owner, was very helpful in booking and advising us on things to do during our stay. He provides a very detailed House Book with great restaurant recommendations, list of markets, nearest beaches and many other helpful tips. The villa is perfectly located near several beautiful towns: Ceglie Messapica, Martina Franca, Ostuni, Locorotondo, Alborobello, etc. We enjoyed visiting each of them as well as going to the seaside (Monopoli, Polignano and Torre Canne). John also helped us hire road bikes to cycle throughout the area taking in the olive groves, vineyards and many Trulli houses. There is also a convenient coffee shop and market only a few minutes away and a delicious restaurant with pizza and grilled meats (Sale e Pepe). The house itself has the most amazing outdoor space. The pool is fantastic. It has a great shallow area along the edges for young kids or those who just want to lounge in the cool water without fully committing! The pool is bigger than some hotel pools! The middle part is deep enough for diving games and long enough for family races. The views around the property are stunning. There is a beautiful outdoor dining table, a comfortable hammock and a large shaded lounge area. There is plenty of space for everyone to relax and enjoy. The inside of the villa is nice and comfortable as well, but who wants to be inside with such a beautiful outdoor space.

Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: The mosquitos!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing