We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tenuta Monacelle
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Monopoli
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun spot for a wedding”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights for a wedding. The trulli are very interesting and unique and the staff is accommodating. I would say the rooms themselves are equivalent to an American three-star hotel, but the property and pool area are very cool. I don't believe the pool is heated, and there is no jacuzzi. There is no spa on site if that is of interest to you.

Pros:
Unique, charming atmosphere. The staff is very sweet and accommodating (Francesco, Grazia, Alessandro). Affordable.

Caveats:
You need a rental car because this hotel is outside if any town. Wifi is spotty at best (Not a big deal to me).

Cons:
The shower nozzles are very strange and spay water everywhere but down. Tends to flood the bathroom every time you shower.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katherinebma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenuta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Tenuta Monacelle, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Katherine

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience here at Tenuta Monacelle even though the weather was not great. Thank you for your recommendations... we need your suggestions in order to improve our service. Francesco, Grazia, Alessandroand the rest of the staff say hello! We hope to have you here again as our guests the next time you visit Puglia. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    106
    42
    28
    30
See reviews for
116
163
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Givatayim
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We saw in TripAdvisor that the hotel wasn't on the top of the hotels list in the area but since the pictures looked good and the locations was right we decided to order this hotel, and what a great surprise.
The hotel is amazing and is situated in a very quiet and beautiful surroundings, the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, the staff are polite and welcoming, the breakfast is great and the swimming pool is pleasurable.
The only problem that we encountered is a wedding at 2:00am until 4:00am which the hotel owner promised that it is the last time and the weddings in the future will end at 12:00pm. To avoid the weddings you can ask for a room far from the swimming pool.

Room Tip: A room far from the swimming pool and not the trulli.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelfromisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenuta M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tenuta Monacelle, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Tenuta Monacelle. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time here, and that you loved our resort. Thank you for sharing your advice about how to “avoid” weddings too. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel has a mixed-bag of both positives & negatives gathered collectively from 4 adults staying in 2 rooms.

+’s
-Stunning, luxurious and well-kept grounds
-Comfortable, modern rooms which are air-conditioned
-Luxurious, large and well maintained pool area with bar
-Relatively quiet
-Comprehensive breakfast selection
-Friendly staff
-Well priced

-’s
-No in-room wifi. 3G dongles available at a cost, although room rate we paid for advertises ‘free wifi’
-The ‘free wifi’ is either by the pool or breakfast area - both did not work throughout our entire stay
-Outside tables at breakfast area were not set and ready for guests on one morning
-Advised not to use outside tables (on the most stunning of stunning mornings) because of bees. Bees (or wasps as they turned out to be) can be controlled.
-On one occasion, eggs at breakfast were dry and burnt. Asked for more eggs to be brought out which did not end up happening
-”International Newspapers” available at the breakfast area and pool bar were nowhere to be found throughout our stay
-Very expensive restaurant
-The gates to the grounds are locked in the evening. Each night we were locked out and buzzed repeatedly to be let in, which took at least 10 minutes. This occurred just after 11pm!
-Our rooms were generally clean, however the floors were dusty and dirty on check-in and rubbish left on the floor of one room
-There was mould all over the tiles in the shower. Dark tiles do not conceal this.
-Our shower drain needed to be unblocked...small bath at feet whilst having a shower is disgusting.
-Outside areas in front of our rooms were unswept and dusty
-Mowing the lawns directly around the pool area once it had opened in the morning
-Lack of information re facilities available. We found out that there is a lot this hotel offers in the form of excursions, yoga, massage etc...on the morning we checked-out

Our general observation of this hotel is that there is not a full staff, hence some of the problems could have been easily avoided.

There is also a dramatic change of service levels dependent of which staff are working on which day. Consistency in process and service-standards is a problem for this stunning hotel which has so much potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank review_h0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenuta M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tenuta Monacelle, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for this detailed comment, full of both positive and negative points; the latter ones are very important to us as they give us the chance to improve our services. We do advertise “free wi-fi” because there is free wi-fi connection in common areas, even though we did experience a problem with it for a two-week time in July (during your stay). International newspapers are available on request by contacting the Reception and they must be reserved one day in advance. We are sorry to hear about the cleaning not being perfect, as cleanliness is one of our main priorities. However, we are working on the standardization of our staff in order to avoid the change of service levels you experienced. We hope to have you as our guests again in the near future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex/london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived to the hotel after a long flight to find the hotel did not have any hot water. We were attending a party and had to leave for the party without having a shower.
The rooms were ok but the floors were dirty and not cleaned properly. On one occasion we returned back to our room and the room had not be cleaned. We had no dry towels, had to wait 10 minutes for the maid to arrive with the towels when we were already in a rush to go out! We were told the system had assumed we were checking out that day, it was 6pm in the evening that we returned to our room, but surely if we hadn't checked out by 10am they would have noticed that our room had not been vacated?
The hotel is so remote if this is what your looking for then great but we were not. Over the weekend our group spent over 1000€ on taxis.
The free shuttle to the beach needs to be booked one day in advance. They do not tell u this when u check in so we ended up paying 80€ to get to the beach because we had not booked in advance. The hotel should advise this in advance!!!!
The communal areas around the hotel are not swept, and are dirty full of mud on the stairs there was tinfoil left on the floor for a day it shows there was no one keeping an eye and cleaning the communal areas. Whole Fruit at breakfast is old, the apples are wrinkly the strawberry s going off. The cut fruit is fresher.
I must say the staff in the restaurant at breakfast are very pleasant.
The taps in the toilets of the bar area don't work so you can't wash your hands after going to the toilet!!!! Basic cleanliness! Unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. I am shocked that this hotel has received a commendation!

The pool area is the only nice area of the hotel that is kept really clean and nice!

I would advise u to book elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenuta M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Tenuta Monacelle, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience at Tenuta Monacelle. We are sorry to understand that your time at Tenuta Monacelle was not as expected. Unfortunately we had some technical difficulties when your group arrived, due to a failure in the hot water system. However, our staff did their best to solve the problem, which was sorted out within two hours. We understand that that was not good enough for you who were in a hurry, but we are sure that you can understand that unpredictable problems like this can happen everywhere at any time. As for the cleanliness of the room (the floors were dirty and not cleaned properly), we must admit that we are quite surprised to hear this as hygiene is our main priority. Regarding the occasion when you returned back to your room and found out the room had not be cleaned, as explained to you we thought you were checking out that day; again, when the whole situation was clarified, our staff did their best to help you (ten minutes is a reasonable time considering how big Tenuta Monacelle is, but once again you were in a hurry). As you said, the hotel is remote and this is one of the main strengths: people usually choose Tenuta Monacelle for its peacefulness and quietness, as well as its proximity to all the main attractions and places of interest in the area, as described on all our brochures and websites. However, we do recommend people who wish to go out for sightseeing to rent a car for it is the cheapest and most flexible way to more round in the area. Maybe a remote place was not what you were looking for, so we recommend you to read the hotel descriptions carefully next time before booking your accommodation. As for the information about or shuttle service, and all types of other information about the hotel and the area, our staff always inform our guests at the arrival; but, once again, when your group arrived, you were all in a hurry and did not have time for the guided tour of the resort and for a comprehensive information delivery. We do appreciate you liked our swimming pool area at least, as well as we appreciated all the positive comments and compliments we received from other members of your group who probably were more fortunate. We apologize for this delayed reply, but we had a very busy Summer and we are taking this moment to answer all our guests’ helpful comments, and take this chance to send our best regards, hoping to have you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I can only recommend this place : it is simply fantastic and relaxing at the same time. One day in life you should try it : it is not easy to find it as it is right on the to of the hill close to the Selva di Fasano. It is a real mix of ancient convent sorrounded by trulli and a beautiful large garden with a nice pool. It is more than worth to spend 1-2 weeks there !

Room Tip: Definitely go for the trulli room - really special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serginh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Myself and my family started our Puglia trip here... what a great start, a very warm welcome, terrific service, amazing food.

We were able to combine historical site seeing at the Trulli (for the older ones), a fun visit to the zoo (for the young ones) all at a door step: all combined with execellent service, lovely accommodation (both rustic trulli and top notch masseria rooms) and least but not last top class food and wonderful wine at night.

Honestly from a frequent traveller and food lover, a place to return.

Dario

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario-foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This fall my husband and I enjoyed a weeklong stay at the beautiful Tenuta Monacelle resort in Monopoli, Bari, Itay. From a glorious hilltop setting overlooking the Adriatic, we enjoyed quiet and restful evenings after delicious lunches, dinners, afternoon snacks and aperitifs.......originally built in 1790, it has all the modern conveniences you'll ever need! Each room is like having you're own little Villa surrounded by lovely woodland gardens and cypress trees. What could be better! The staff is superb! Recommend a morning or afternoon dip in the outdoor swimming pool, then a nicely chilled glass of champagne or prosecco.

Room Tip: If you want extreme privacy suggest you ask for a room further away from the beginning of the prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monopoli
5.6 mi away
Porto Giardino Resort
Porto Giardino Resort
#4 of 14 in Monopoli
743 reviews
6.4 mi away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#5 of 14 in Monopoli
265 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Masseria Fortificata Donnaloia
5.2 mi away
La Peschiera
La Peschiera
#3 of 14 in Monopoli
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sierra Silvana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tenuta Monacelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tenuta Monacelle

Property: Hotel Tenuta Monacelle
Address: C.da Aratico | Selva di Fasano, 70043, Monopoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monopoli
#8 Family Hotel in Monopoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tenuta Monacelle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tenuta Monacelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Monacelle Hotel
Hotel Tenuta Monacelle Monopoli, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing