We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Baia dei Turchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baia dei Turchi
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Otranto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent. Rooms a little dark. Excellent location and charm. Well organized services, friendly and professional staff. Top food and beverage.
Excellent. Rooms a little dark. Excellent location and charm. Well organized services, friendly and professional staff. Top food and beverage.
Excellent. Rooms a little dark. Excellent location and charm. Well organized services, friendly and professional staff. Top food and beverage.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carnama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Baia Dei Turchi. I found the room to be comfortable (even if a little dark between the decor and only the double door as a source of light), the staff to be friendly and accomodating, the pool and grounds were well kept and clean and a nice way to spend a few hours in between activities. The plumbing could have been better, but this is a minor detail that hardly reflected on the quality of my stay. I only ate dinner there my first night, it was a large buffet, served at 8:30 with only pasta... they were all good, but I'd have liked to have seen more vegetables and meats or fish. The breakfast buffet had too many sweet things for my taste, but enough other things that I was able to happily eat every morning. You could order lunch by the pool, which was quite good. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnalisaBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We originally booked 6 nights here but actually left after only one. I could probably stop there, but… just to give a flavour…

General ‘feel’ and state of repair of the place is poor, e.g. the so-called “Garden Restaurant” looks like someone’s junkyard, décor in the rooms is shabby (shower unit was hanging off the wall), tennis and basketball courts badly in need of some remedial attention. I would say the pictures on the website are seriously outdated.

Staff are, to say the least, variable. A couple of the front-of-house people were pleasant enough, albeit rather too keen to emphasise what you needed to do to make their lives easier rather than the other way around. However, the waiting staff were almost comically terrible – monosyllabic, inattentive, and rude. There is no excuse for this at a hotel which charges this sort of prices.

Most bizarrely of all, the much-vaunted “six restaurants” thing is absolute nonsense. I am really puzzled as to how the hotel (and strangely even some previous reviewers) can describe there as being a ‘choice’ of where to eat. That is a serious misrepresentation. The reality is that there is no choice whatsoever. Admittedly, yes, there are (allegedly) six different locations where food is served. However the hotel decides in advance where, when and even what you are eating.

Our own dining experience at the “pool restaurant” started by waiting with all the other diners at a gate, where we had the privilege of watching the staff putting our pre-ordained starters onto the tables about 20-30 minutes before we were eventually allowed through to eat them. Having managed to gulp some of it down – it was pretty wretched but we were famished – a morose waiter brought over a few fatty lumps of meat which he had just burnt for us on a nearby chimenea. A polite request for some more wine to help blot out the taste of all this was curtly refused. We ended our first and only night listening to what seemed to be a steadily-worsening series of dog-fights outside the walls and wondering whether we had accidentally booked a walk-on part in a Puglian version of the Amityville Horror instead of a relaxing vacation.

I cannot stress enough that, having seen this place for myself, I really do not comprehend the rating that it presently enjoys on TripAdvisor. Personally I have real doubts as to whether some of the positive reviews (particularly those written in rather broken English, which in retrospect I suppose did seem a bit odd) are genuine. To me, however nice it might have been when first constructed, this place gives every appearance of being on its way into the ground. I would avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Tom-P-BOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a short time in September, it was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The cost was 200 euros per night per couple including evening meal. It was advertised as having 6 different restaurants to choose from. On arrival we were told that we had to eat at the poolside restaurant at 8.30 that evening. Some of the restaurants looked like they had not been in use for some time. We went down to the pool at 8 to have a pre dinner drink and were told this was not possible. At that time all the starters were already on the tables even though dinner was not until 8.30. We ordered wine with dinner and then asked for some more wine with dessert but were told that we could not order more wine!! The service was absolutely appalling & the food was v poor, v fatty pieces of beef and prawns that were far from fresh. The rooms were v basic and tired looking and needed a good clean. The shower head was hanging off the wall in our bathroom. The pool looked amazing but was rarely used. This place has lots of potential but is currently being run very badly. I would definately not return!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LPJcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent only 3 night at Baia dei Turchi, but we would like come back again very soon!
It is really pretty and people is so friendly and effective! Very good standard, beautiful beach, great service at lunch on the beach; amazing swimming sea clean water with withe sands. Perfect refreshing swimming poll.
Really a good escape!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaetano55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent a week at Baia dei Turchi and had a great time. It's close to the seaside (3' by minibus, running every 15 minutes at peak times, but you can walk there too along a pleasant country road), has a large swimming pool large enough to train, and is impeccably maintained. Superb breakfast in the morning, reasonable rates for light lunches and a h/b accommodation deal that allows you to enjoy 6 different mini-restaurants in the complex, at your choice. The location is excellent: 5' by car to reach Otranto - charming esp. at night - and generally close to Lecce (45'), Gallipoli, Santa Maria di Leuca and the like. Salento is well served in terms of roads, and all places are pretty close to each other. Baia dei Turchi is an excellent base-camp for tours and a proper pampering nest to chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at Baia dei Turchi for 8 nights and from the day we arrived (messed up my dates and was a day earlier) we were welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. We thought we might have to leave early as my father was ill in England, fortunately things worked out ok and we were able to stay. The manager was fantastic, a real asset to the hotel. The boss (think his name is Giovanni) even tried to speak English, much better than my Italian too!

We would love to return one day.

Thanks to all the staff (crepe maker was just lovely - works so hard and smiles all the time) for making this a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmzyAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otranto hotels
3.2 mi away
VOI Alimini Resort
VOI Alimini Resort
#8 of 40 in Otranto
865 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
#6 of 40 in Otranto
463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vittoria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Masseria Muzza Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Hotel Masseria Bandino
Hotel Masseria Bandino
#1 of 40 in Otranto
530 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tenuta Centoporte
Tenuta Centoporte
#10 of 40 in Otranto
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia dei Turchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia dei Turchi

Address: Via Fontanelle, Otranto, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Otranto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Otranto
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Otranto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Otranto
Price Range: £139 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia dei Turchi 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Resort. From a combination of a traditional scheme and a contemporary Zen culture, it comes out the charm of a place that emits a delicate sensuality and an absolute calm.Refined decorations and suffused lights will invite you to quiet and padded atmospheres, and scents of Cedar will run through musical notes participating in the awakening of your senses.The most beautiful sea close to the wildest nature lets the Turkish Bay Beach be a unique place.The proximity to Otranto, nicknamed the "East Gate" for its Eastern charm, gives it the privilege to be the starting point for visits of cultural and gastronomic interest, while its beautiful coast, characterised by sandy dunes rich of charm, offers you a complete holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baia dei Turchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Dei Turchi Otranto, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing