We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Otranto Mon Amour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otranto Mon Amour
Ranked #28 of 56 Otranto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The first criteria in the hospitality business is ‘to like people.’ Sounds simple, but truly, the best visits are those remembered because of that extra mile owners go ensuring guests satisfaction; and here lies the compliment. Otranto Mon Amour owner, Véronique does just that. Very kind, caring and considerate, she has a flair for making her guests feel at home.

Thank you! For arranging my pick up at the train station, delivering me to the bus stop, giving me a raincoat and all other little extras such as … leaving a hotplate out so I could make a late night coffee. Situated at the end Otranto Bay, top floor of a small apartment building, the B & B overlooks town and ocean. The building and B & B are clean and quiet. Rooms not overly large but certainly big enough for a couple. Outside to the right, it’s a picturesque walk into town. To the left, the scenic coastal road continues.

The Benessere Room’s Jacuzzi, soft lighting, make for a romantic ambience. You don’t have to travel coupled to appreciate the use of artistic (often theatrical) surroundings. In fact, it’s Veronique’s individual style that makes her B & B a special destination. The second room of my stay, at the front, was equally enchanting, with a bathroom/shower and spectacular views. If it’s out the ordinary you seek, then Otranto Mom Amour is the place you should try. The rooms are air-conditioned. A previous reviewer mentioned, breakfast is a voucher for coffee/tea and pastry at a nearby café. As note, the B & B provides a basket of fresh fruit, water (sparkling/still) and juice available to guests throughout the day. Basically, hot drinks and food are taken off premises due to the limitation of facilities. Because it was quiet during my visit, Véronique kindly made available a hotplate, kettle, and milk so I could make use of my own coffee. I had anticipated a return visit before departing Italy, unfortunately unpredictable train strikes made this impossible. Hopefully, I’ll have that pleasure another time – “thank you so much Véronique!”

Travel note: Véronique arranges your pick-up/drop off, at bus or train station.
Local buses run to smaller beaches during the summer months and stop at end of August. Check ahead if you don’t have a car. Recommend doing travel research before you leave home, esp. if travelling by local transport. Not all travel agents keep abreast of alternate routes. I found a very helpful agent in Otranto: Ellade Viaggi, at via Gugielmotto d’Otranto, 33 – tel: 0836 801578-801005 English is spoken, and helpful juggling schedules and timetables, accommodation. I was glad I took their advice and pre-booked a cabin on my Brindisi/Greece crossing. The ship was packed. Had I not, I’d never have gotten a cabin on board. You can also purchase bus/train tickets here. The bus stop is across from the agent’s office. Otranto train station is a taxi drive…

Room Tip: Front room has the best views. Side view rooms are not objectionable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jampotannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Otranto mon Amour is an ideal B&B if you are looking for:
- a charming and quiet place right in the middle of Otranto
- an amazing view over the sea and the port
- a great and helpful host
All the rooms are nicely decorated and Veronique was very helpful in advising us on where to find the best places to visit or the best restaurants. She also provided us with a parking badge which was very useful to park the car next to the room. Breakfast is provided at the bar close by through a coupon.
We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOG843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Veronique is an extraordinary landlady who has created three artistic rooms that she rents to travellers. She is extremely helpful, and will give you hints on restaurants and interesting things to see. We can testify that she really made our trip to Apulia a success! She also gives you greatest privacy possible, not interfering with your private life at all. We strongly recommend her B&B, or, rather, just B, because she does not serve breakfast. Instead, you just stroll down to the friendly cafeteria a few yards away to get your caffelatte with a newly baked cornetto.
This may not be the place for everyone, since no meals are provided, but for us, who appreciate privacy and a tactful, yet warm amd humorous reception, it was just right.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank borbone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MatteoAcampora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otranto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Punta
Hotel La Punta
#30 of 40 in Otranto
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterraneo Camere
Mediterraneo Camere
#20 of 56 in Otranto
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Gelsimori
Bed & Breakfast Gelsimori
#15 of 56 in Otranto
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tenuta Donna Rosa
Tenuta Donna Rosa
#13 of 56 in Otranto
119 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palascia Wellness Relais
Palascia Wellness Relais
#17 of 56 in Otranto
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Faro Bianco
B&B Faro Bianco
#11 of 56 in Otranto
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otranto Mon Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otranto Mon Amour

Address: Via Riviera Degli Haethej 18, 73028, Otranto, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Otranto
Price Range: £43 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Otranto Mon Amour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otranto Mon Amour Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing