We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Masseria Montelauro
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Otranto
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Relaxing Place”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here for 8 nights in May. We have been to other Masseria further north and enjoyed those, so decided to do the same again. At 160Eur per-night, this was reasonable value compared to other Masseria.

We had the standard room, though it looked like ours (#5) was slightly larger that the other standards. The rooms are clean/Spartan with a touch of Moroccan. Although they are not large, there was plenty of drawers/wardrobe space in which to place our cloths & bags, so we did not trip up over our stuff. The bathroom was large with a good shower. The bed was huge, (which makes the room in photos look smaller than it actually is). There was no air-conditioning, as we were told that it isn't switched on till June, -- However, they did supply us with fans.

The hotel is surrounded by its own extensive gardens, and grows it own veg. It has a medium-sized pool and a shaded area to relax under. The grounds where a big plus for us, as there were lots a seating areas where you could wander off an relax. They have free Wi-Fi, but you have to be near the Reception and even then it is weak. Staff where friendly and courteous. There are a few dogs and horses around, which have the place a nice farm-feel.

The breakfast was on par for a hotel of this standard, with lovely home-made cakes. We had lunch and dinner here a few times. Dinner is a set menu of several courses, and it was generally good, though sometimes hit & miss. Lunch was a buffet, but at 30Eur per-person seemed a tad expensive.

The nearest town is Ortranto which is only a 10min drive away. This is a nice little town, though the choice of good restaurants/bars was a bit limited.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if I were to visit this part of Puglia for a relaxing holiday (though there is far more to do/see further north around Ostuni).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrilloAido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    52
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
102
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

My husband and i stayed here on the first two nights of a Butterfield and Robinson bicycle tour. They usually choose great hotels of ever increasing luxury as the trip progresses, but this hotel was at the beginning of our trip and was our favourite. The masseria has been restored with true Italian panache, the bedrooms are airy and spacious, the restaurants both indoors and out were very inviting, and the staff were very accommodating. The only glitch for those addicted to modern communication was some difficulty getting an internet connection. But perhaps that was a blessing in disguise.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepest Darkest Westest Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel with its fantastic rooms and location. Not overly impressed by the food but the nearby Otranto more than makes up for this. The Mosquitos around here seemed to like my blood which is unusual..... The staff were all very friendly and helpful and did help resolve any issues that arose.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PembsAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Masseria Montelauro has only problem: once you enter, you never want to leave.
The staff is so nice and helpful, the food is so delicious and healthy, the location so cool and enjoyable.... can't think of a better place to enjoy and relax your day away!
A swimming pool with sea water.!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrVigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londra
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had a very nice stay at Masseria Montelauro.
The Masseria has been converted and modernised to very high standars into a an elegant resort; maybe smaller than other masserias in the region it maintains a pleasant "family" feel.
We stayed in a superior room, nice decor, which maintained all the authentic, traditional features you'd expect to find in a high quality conversion.
The entire Masseria has been modernised to very high standards with attention to detail; there is an enjoyable outdoor space to chill by the swimming pool.
Staff was always attentive and helpful - all recommendations regarding sightseeings, beaches and restaurants we asked for where spot on.
Excellent food, both at breakfast and dinner + spa services.
Cant think of anything to compalin about, overall, an excellent stay in a beautiful and well managed resort

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malaLondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We spent 7 nights at Montelauro in a nice decorated room with a comfortable bed. Almost all the rooms have their own entrance from the pool/garden. The rooms are all furnished in a stylish white and we slept quiet , even with AirCon. Outside every room has nice garden furniture. The rich and varied breakfast was served under the shadowy pergola. Staff was always helpful and friendly. We liked to stay in the big garden, laying on our sunchairs under a tree, and swam in the pool. At lunchtime a big buffet in the garden with apulian specialities was waiting for us. Next town 5 min by car away is Otranto which is also nice. We loved the "dolce far niente" at Montelauro...And would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

WE stayed two nights while cycling through the area. Working farm with gardens growing tonight's dinner. Restaurant has a fixed price menu with fresh pastas and local Puglian cuisine, and good inexpensive local wine. Big comfortable reception area. Large salt water swimming pool is refreshing after a long bike ride. Rooms were generous sized, and they were air-conditioned, but the system is a little weird. (It turns off if you open the doors, presumably so as not to waste energy, and I think it also turns off at night unless the motion detector realizes someone is inside the room. Made it worth getting up in the middle of the night to use the restroom, because then the room would cool off.) A friend arranged for a massage through the front reception, and said it was the "best massage I've ever had", and was only 50 Euros for a long hour.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otranto hotels
1.6 mi away
Tenuta Centoporte
Tenuta Centoporte
#7 of 39 in Otranto
350 reviews
1.6 mi away
Masseria Panareo
Masseria Panareo
#19 of 39 in Otranto
230 reviews
3.5 mi away
Masseria Muzza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Masseria dei Monaci-Ristorante il Gambero
0.6 mi away
Hotel Masseria Bandino
Hotel Masseria Bandino
#1 of 39 in Otranto
508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
#5 of 39 in Otranto
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Montelauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Montelauro

Property: Masseria Montelauro
Address: Uggiano Localita Montelauro, 73028, Otranto, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Otranto
#14 Luxury Hotel in Otranto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Otranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Montelauro 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Masseria Montelauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Montelauro Otranto, Italy - Puglia
Masseria Montelauro Hotel Otranto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing