We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class experience with some caveats.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Papaleo
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Otranto
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“First class experience with some caveats.....”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The main reason for choosing Palazzo Papaleo is the location; in the hearth of Otranto, so, in the hearth of the best town by the sea in Salento! (Just to give you an idea....the Basilica is so close that you feel "upset" by it!). The second is the quality of the structure; an old palace restored at perfection, very very well done! The third....is the roof garden, with the best restaurant, by location, in Otranto....on the "minus" side..,,rooms (or, better, my room) are too small for a real 5 stars, air conditioning is not effective and cumbersome, wi-fi....you had to enter password everytime you got into the room and some other minor things....restaurant....well....good "hand" but long way to go.....good experience, not sure if worth the price.......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtlng62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    113
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
53
337
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

terrific location. excellent service. called to warn me about traffic, met me in my car outside the city, parked it in the lot. walked us to our first restaurant to make sure we were sorted. highly recommend. only reason it isn't 5 stars is that the room decor is somewhat dated.

Room Tip: few rooms have balcony and ocean view. but those with ocean hear the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A beautiful boutique hotel in a fantastic location right next to the Duomo. Exquisite historical furnishings and antiques and we were upgraded on arrival to a magnificent room which was a lovely surprise.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, breakfast on the roof was lovely, great wifi. Really restful stay
Would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We usually prefer B&B's to hotels, but this small boutique hotel was the exception. The friendliness of the staff, their attention to detail, their desire to go beyond what is expected made our visit wonderful. Our room was small, but was booked at a very reasonable rate. There are larger rooms for higher rates. Wonderful Etro bathroom amenities. We loved our two little balconies that had a side view of the ocean and a view of the little street with shoppers and life going on. Our only regret was that we left early because there was bad weather. We would have liked to have stayed longer. The little town is really sweet and shopkeepers very friendly. I would give six stars to service!

Room Tip: Our room had two balconies which we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This should be the no 1 place in Otranto.
We stayed here for a couple of nights and while the rooms are not the biggest it has all the things a good hotel should have.
It has position, great staff, a good bed, good wifi, and windows you can open.
Also you will find a good sized bathroom with excellent products, good lighting in the bedroom and a simple air conditioning system that works. (Unusual in Italy). Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a bonus.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a lovely old building in the historic centre beautifully restored with lots of antiques and a nice rooftop terrace with hot tub. But what makes it really special is the staff. All of them are really friendly and charming and nothing is too much trouble. For our 3 day stay they organised bike rental, guided bike ride, horse riding, massages and beach club.

Room Tip: We had suite Papaleo (number 21 if I remember correctly). Very spacious room with lovely fresco cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

With much charm and grace Dario reset routers etc and free wifi works well again. We had a very enjoyable time and would hope to visit again.
Also the drive down to Castro with lunch there is a great add on to Otranto and that part of Puglia
Ciao ciao Dario e Maurizio

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otranto hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Masseria Bandino
Hotel Masseria Bandino
#1 of 38 in Otranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
Relais Valle Dell'Idro
#6 of 38 in Otranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corte di Nettuno
Corte di Nettuno
#9 of 38 in Otranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tenuta Centoporte
Tenuta Centoporte
#8 of 38 in Otranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baia dei Turchi
Baia dei Turchi
#3 of 38 in Otranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Papaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Papaleo

Property: Hotel Palazzo Papaleo
Address: Via Rondachi 1, 73028 Otranto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Otranto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Otranto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Otranto
#9 Family Hotel in Otranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palazzo Papaleo 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Papaleo, unique 5 stars luxury Hotel in Otranto; between the enchantment of the frescoed ceilings and the pristine beauty of the sea of Otranto, you will enjoy excellent services and an exclusive relax. Equipped with modern facilities and panoramic terraces on three floors with a 360 ° view over the city, Hotel Palazzo Papaleo offers his amazing roof garden with Jacuzzi, sunbathing and reading area. Breakfast is served in the lounge room on the first floor, in your bedroom or on the roof garden; the bar is in service on the main floor of the palace or on the terrace on the top floor, to enjoy an aperitif or a drink watching the sunset.Hotel Palazzo Papaleo,unico albergo 5 stelle di lusso di Otranto;tra l'incanto dei soffitti affrescati e l'incontaminata bellezza del mare di Otranto godrete di eccellenti servizi e di un esclusivo relax.Dotato di moderni confort e di terrazze panoramiche su tre piani con vista a 360° sulla città,l'Hotel Palazzo Papaleo offre lo spettacolare roof garden con vasca idromassaggio Jacuzzi,solarium e angolo lettura.La prima colazione viene servita nel salone al primo piano,in camera o nel roof garden;il bar è in servizio al piano nobile del palazzo o sulla terrazza dell'ultimo piano,per un aperitivo o un drink da consumare ammirando il tramonto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Papaleo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Palazzo Papaleo
Palazzo Papaleo Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Papaleo Otranto, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing