We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay and a lovely staff...couldn't recommend it more”
Review of Hotel la Torre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Torre
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bari Sardo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great stay and a lovely staff...couldn't recommend it more”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed 3 days at the hotel La torre beginning of july. The hotel has a lovely setting, comfortable rooms and ammenities. It is reasonably sized, it is peaceful and familial. But I would especially like to point the kindness of the staff who after a problem with our car has helped us for more than 2 hours with the police, the car assistance, taxi cabs and many other phone calls and translation. I have been travelling a lot and rarely saw people so dedicated to help you. A special thanks to Cornela, Mario and Olivier for taking care of all our trouble and helping sorting out everything. This was definitely a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a nice time in that wonderful region.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voutvout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
92
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We originally booked a room at a hotel a couple of hundred metres up the road (based on Trip Advisor reviews). However, having seen our dark room we wanted to move. There were no other rooms available but the staff were very accommodating and said that there would be no charge if we wanted to go to another hotel. So, we took a look at La Torre and it seemed much better. They had a room too that was only 3 euros per night more than our original hotel with breakfast included.

We Liked:

- Our large spacious room
- Quality of dinner at the restaurant
- Nice pool and ambience
- Not crowed
- Very close to the beach (not one of the best beaches in Sardinia but ok)
- Friendly and helpful staff - they were always happy to help
- They allowed us to checkout late - after 1pm so we had more time to spend in the pool area
- The quiet location
- The hotel is enclosed in a sort of small private complex which is safer for small children

We Disliked:

- Breakfast: no fresh juice, coffee was dreadful, limited selection of food and unappetizing cooked selection
- Waiter service was quite slow and on one occasion I believe led to my main course arriving cold
- Not a very good shower and no bath
- Wifi/internet was only available in the lobby area and was very slow

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millionyearsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I would rate this hotel as a three star rather than 4 star. The rooms are confortable but very plain. The food isn't very good even though the service at the restaurant is excellent. I would recommend to avoid the half board and dine à la carte. The beach is rocky and not sandy and therefore not very easy to handle with small children. Thankfully we had the car and found some much nicer sandy beaches at about 15 min. drive. The town of Bari Sardo has absolutely nothing to offer. The area of Ogliastra is beautiful but doesn't offer much fun and no night life. I would recommend this place only for people aged 50 and older.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I spent two nights at this hotel with my partner during a trip to the east coast of Sardinia. We were looking for a relaxing, romantic beach resort. What we discovered was a run down place that looked like it had not been updated in 25 years! First of all, this hotel is the only "resort" in the area. There is nothing else around but camping sites and another hotel next door. Two places to eat in the entire area! We ended up eating a pizza place both days. The beach was just OK (there are much better ones in Sardinia). However the atmosphere was destroyed by a beach bar that was playing really loud 1980s hits. Well at least the music matched the hotel rooms - black and turquoise leather on the walls! Beds were too short and mattresses were rock hard. Bathroom was small and outdated. People working at the hotel spoke little English and seemed indifferent / unwilling / unable to help. I am hard pressed to find anything l liked - maybe the gardens which were really lush and well kept, with a little pond for turtles. As for the area, again, nothing around - no shops, only two restaurants, completely dead at night! Mostly Italian families staying at this hotel - if that's not you then I suggest you SKIP THIS PLACE AND TRY ANOTHER PART OF SARDINIA!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank depechedip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Lovely hotel set in a park next to two beautiful beaches with clear water.The room was kept spotless and had heating which we appreciated in the evening. Good restaurant though the service is slow. It is situated far from the crowd and it was very quiet this time of the year. The pool is large but was cold and not very clear. The area is still unspoilt. We would recommend this hotel later in the season.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doublemixte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bari Sardo
0.3 mi away
Galanias Hotel & Retreat Domos Galanas
0.1 mi away
Domus De Janas Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Hotel Club Saraceno
Hotel Club Saraceno
#2 of 12 in Arbatax
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bajazzurra
Hotel Bajazzurra
#3 of 6 in Bari Sardo
75 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cala Luas Resort
Cala Luas Resort
#2 of 6 in Cardedu
541 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Bitta Arbatax
La Bitta Arbatax
#1 of 12 in Arbatax
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Torre

Property: Hotel la Torre
Address: Torre Di Bari, 08042 Bari Sardo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Bari Sardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bari Sardo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bari Sardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Torre 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel la Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Hotel
Hotel La Torre Sardinia, Italy - Bari Sardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing