We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special... but I'm not sure if there is a better option around Iglesias”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Iglesias
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed there 3 nights and paid € 80 for a double room / night inclusive breakfast. The hotel is not easy to find at all; we had to ask help from a local bus driver. The location is finally quite close to the express way and therefore - depending where your room is situated - you will hear the noise done by the cars. Our room gave on the other (country) side and was therefore quiet. The room was clean but nothing special. The minibar was broken for example. The breakfast was of really good quality even if the breakfast room hasn't any charm to our opinion... We didn't try their restaurant as we didn't find the surroundings (enough) attractive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrik_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Patrick,

Thank you so much for providing us Feedback and Appreciations: Customer’s Satisfaction is always our first priority, and honestly we always like to understand our specific Areas of improvement. Your Review from over 3 years ago makes us understand how on that occasion our Services did not entirely meet Your expectations... we are sincerely sorry about that, but please note:
- You may conveniently use Google Maps to drive you directly to the Reception Building, and a new set or road-signs has been installed beginning from the expressway;
- Up to now none of our Guests reported excessive noise coming from the expressway: the mentioned road never too busy and adequately far away from the Suites, all equipped with double glazed windows facing the Gardens.

Meanwhile we are always striving to offer a continuously renewed experience at the lowest cost, in particular a new set of big screen digital TVs for common areas and the suites, the best Kitchen & Pizza by hiring new Top Qualified Staff, and new Panoramic Terraces on the pool.

Therefore, we warmly invite you to return soon and enjoy our Services again... maybe You could provide additional stimulus to improve.

Looking Forward Seeing You Soon,
Corte Rubja - Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

The Corte Rubja is a couple of miles outside the quaint town of Iglesias. It allegedly has a large swimming pool (though we never saw it - nor, to be fair, looked for it), and a relatively decent restaurant. The staff are courteous and friendly, as despite being one of only two sets of guests, we were well looked after during the couple of nights we spent here.

Whilst you are a couple of miles away from the town, there is an inexpensive enough taxi service (€9 each way - though needs booking, there aren't any wandering around town), and Iglesias is a town worth the trip. It's a strange quirky sort of place, with shops that seem to shut inexplicably between 4pm and 7pm, and then again from 7:30pm onwards. We still have no idea why this is.

The evening meal was tasty, and the choice pretty decent (if you speak Italian or have a phrase book). Breakfast on the other hand was utterly bland, with a choice of uninteresting bread, some long-life pastries and a bit of juice in a beer-fridge. The ball-and-chain (ouch - I got a slap for that, I of course meant to write "the delight"), refused to eat, and so fellas be warned - you may need to factor in the additional cost of a chocolate croissant at the local bakery into your holiday budget too. In seriousness though, we felt it was sub-par, and the only thing that really let the side down.

Bed-wise, well, it seems Sardinia doesn't do "double" beds in the way we imagine it - i.e. a double bed. Instead, you always get two singles thrust together in an awkward fashion. The two singles were however quite comfortable, and better than hotels far above the three-star grade.

Other facilites in the room are basic. If you are obese, or even fat, forget about taking a shower. Mozzies rampant, make sure windows closed.

Room Tip: Do NOT look up the address on Google Maps - you will enjoy an advanced course in car manoeuvrability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benjamin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here 2 nights at the end of our Sardinian trip. It was a little difficult to find - you actually pass it on the left hand side whilst on the main highway going west after the first exit for Iglesias. To get there you have to take the first exit for Iglesias (coming from Cagliari) and follow the signs for the town centre and after a couple of hundred yards and a mini roundabout there is a small sign on the right hand side and you turn down a small road on the left hand side and go under the highway. After going under the highway its about the 2nd road on the right. Ok that aside it was a lovely hotel - lovely clean traditional rooms - good landscaping, a pool, good views, really lovely food for breakfast and dinner - napkins and tablecloths, good wines and friendly staff in the restaurant and a particularly friendly reception chap who helped me find a telephone number for an old friend on the Italian mainland and he even offered me the use of his phone to call him. Breakfast in particular was plentiful and unusual compared to breakfasts in our other 3 hotels or agriturismos during this trip as there was just so much choice and it was good quality. The breakfast coffees came in different sizes - we chose large - but this wasnt just large - they were absolutely ginormous and so delicious! This reception chap also was very helpful in giving us local information - places of interest etc. Even although it is near the motorway we didnt really hear the traffic. The hotel is about 3 km south of Iglesias town which is a mixture of old and new. There was a cheesemaker nearby - with tours and tastes. Nearby countryside is stunning.There are lots of old mines in this area - think all closed nowadays - but you can get tours into some of them eg in Masua - and there are coastal walks joining villages together, some with ruins of old mining villages en route. Northwest its about 25 mins to Masua where you can get boat trips to the pan de zucchero stack/rock that sits out in the bay and about 40 mins drive to the beautiful beach of Cala Domestica further north. Southwest, its about 50 mins to a very pretty small village to the no 1 restaurant on trip advisor for this area (also outstanding where we booked for lunch), and its only about 15 mins to the nearest beach directly west at the coast. So great location for this very unspoilt area if you dont feel like packing and unpacking every few days. This hotel was also an easy drive from Cagliari airport on the main highway - just under 1hr. We would definitey return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottish-German
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Valentina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bonjour_GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Élisabeth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iglesias
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sport Village
Hotel Sport Village
#2 of 4 in Iglesias
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Euro Hotel Iglesias
Euro Hotel Iglesias
#1 of 4 in Iglesias
67 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Artu
Hotel Artu
#3 of 4 in Iglesias
71 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Lido degli Spagnoli
Hotel Lido degli Spagnoli
#1 of 4 in Portoscuso
146 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Luci Del Faro
Hotel Luci Del Faro
#2 of 6 in Calasetta
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja

Address: Via Barega, 09016 Iglesias, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Iglesias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Iglesias
Price Range: £56 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built with traditional Sardinian brickwork, this Hotel is surrounded by nature, only 2 km off Iglesias town centre. It features large gardens with a Jacuzzi-Swimming pool, and a Restaurant-Pizzeria. All Suites at Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja are independent and have a private entrance. They have hand-crafted furniture and wood-beamed ceilings. All air-conditioned, they also come with a TV, mini-fridge and a view of the surrounding greenery. Breakfast is Italian-Style at Corte Rubja and the Restaurant serves Sardinian specialities. Mountain-Bikes are available for rent, and Staff can arrange local excursions and nature trails. A car is recommended for all Guests. The Hotel is only 10 minutes' drive from Plagemesu and other white-sand beaches along the coast. Cagliari-Elmas Airport is no more than 40 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giardino Corte Rubja Sardinia/Iglesias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing