We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in San Teodoro
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced - not value for money”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked through RCI and paid 2 lots of booking fees as we were staying for 2 weeks and the resort only books in one week units. That was a bit steep but we decided to proceed with the booking anyway.

We arrived late at night and paid 49 euro per person per week as a mandatory charge. We had been told that there was a charge at the time of booking, but did not know exactly what it included. It transpired that this charge was for the use of wifi, access to the swimming pool and children's entertainment and a shuttle service to town. What a rip off. Have you ever heard of being charged to use a hotel pool when you are staying there? Well that's what happens when you are a resident and not a guest at the hotel. You are a second rate citizen. We were told by RCI that there was a charge but never thought we would be paying for items normally included, such as the right to sit by the pool or even jump in for a dip!. And as for the wifi - I think it pre dated the Romans ......

The shuttle service was the only thing of use, but that stopped early in the evening so evening meals were at the mercy of the resort - overpriced - or made in the impossibly designed partial kitchen.

Both apartments we were given were damp and smelly. Yes - we had to move half way through our stay. The kitchen area was a joke. It certainly lived up to its description of a partial kitchen. We went to bed dehydrated on the first night because we had no provisions and everything was closed by the time we were checked in, wearing our hospital style arm band which I later discovered highlighted our lowly status as a resident and not a guest.

The whole resort was very tired - lots of peeling plaster falling from walls and ceilings and dirty antiquated fridges in the kitchen. The grounds were untidy but were being worked on while we were there.

You can only use the pool when there is a life guard on duty. The poor girl had no authority and kids ran rings round her while bombing in the pool. No chance of a quiet swim. Hire of beach towels was also a rip off. White apartment towels are not allowed pool side so we hired 2 thin and worn rags for 10.50 a week + 15 deposit each (51 euro)! We then discovered that no one follows the rule anyway.

The food we purchased at the resort was not the greatest. We used the shuttle service to town and ate there or bought food at the supermarket. A fruit seller calls every day at the resort and he has amazing local produce for sale. Listen out for him calling over his tannoy. Another chap calls daily selling cheeses. Also worth a look!

Beware the 30 euro cost for cleaning the apartment when you check out. Cheaper to buy cleaning stuff and do it yourself. Potentially we could have had a 60 euro bill as we stayed in 2 units.

Don't expect to see room service either. As a resident all you get is one set of bedding, towels and loo rolls for the week. You can of course have "room service" at a cost.....

On a positive note the staff were lovely - despite the language barrier - they did their best to be pleasant and polite at all times. However, they were very busy with their corporate clients / guests who were staying; we were not a priority.

We asked several times to see the RCI rep and were told when he was coming. On the big day we were told, "No one is coming", so never saw the rep to explain our concerns. I wonder if RCI know what a raw deal their customers are getting?

San Teodoro is a lovely town and the supermarket on the Via Sardegna is full of all the essentials and good value for money. Well worth a trip in the shuttle car to stock up on provisions, rather than the on site shop which is limited and expensive.

The beaches nearby are lovely - each very different and well worth exploring. The shuttle will take you to La Cinta and other beaches can be reached on foot from the resort.

If you want to explore the island you really do need a car. There is a local hire firm on the Via Sardegna which is cheaper than booking through hotel reception. Ask at the tourist office for details. We paid 135 euros for a small car for 3 days. The hotel quoted 150.

A word of warning - taxi fares from the airport to the hotel are 70 euros. We arrived late at night when buses had stopped, but returned to the airport at the end of holidays for 3.5 euros each. and it took about the same length of time as the taxi!

We will return to the island as we loved Sardinia but we will look for a better resort than this one.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    198
    68
    49
    28
See reviews for
352
84
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was in this hotel for 3 nights, and it was just OK. Nothing wrong on the property but also nothing that great. The service as in most of Italy is lacking though....The beach behind the property is nice although they dont tell you there is a direct access "path" in the bushes to it.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with air conditioning if you travel in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chavo_mx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our apartment though small was relatively well equipped, though being Brits, we went out and bought mugs for tea! There were many interesting locations to visit nearby and the town of San Teodoro was a hive of activity in the evenings.

Yes, you could hear the sound of music pounding way into the night friday and saturday nights... but hey, it wasn't that bad really.

Oh, and we swapped the indoor wooden table for the too flimsey plastic one for the two weeks we were there (as it was booked for 5, 5 chairs would have been good too)

The parking was a challenge though, never quite enough room to turn out on the the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and I found it perfect for the location close to the beautiful Isuledda beach, the location of the rooms in a nice garden, the animation and the pool for the children.
On the other hand the biggest problem was definitely the food: not worthy the money at all! Almost good for a 2 stars hotel, not a 3!
Moreover I recommend to rent a car if you don't come with your own to be able to visit all the beaches around and the villages in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I read all the reviews before going there and honestly... all of them are correct. The final opinion depends on one thing – price. My offer was spectacular – I paid 400 euro per person, with flight and three meals included. For that money I didn't complain on anything – yes, I had broken fridge in the room (next to the working one), yes, to get in the shower you have to suck up your belly, and yes – white pre paid card is annoying. But if you know that ichnusa beer costs 3 euro and heineken 3,5, its easy to load it with amount you will actually use. I obviously loved my stay beacuse of the price, but leaving the fact that I'm biased aside:
-HOTEL: property is large, in a well maintained garden with tennis courts, children playground and stuff. It is a fact, that from one side of property to the restaurant you'd have to walk like 500 m (so ask for bungalow closer). Reception very helpfull and nice. Good english (as for Italians). WIFI working even in the rooms and on the closest beach. wrist band is required.
-SAN TEODORO: 1200 m uphill and downhill walk. possible, though a bit tiring (my boyfriend loved it though) and you have to be carefull walking down the road (no pavement for half of the way). Supermarket is just at the begining of the city.
-FOOD: on Liscia Eldi you have only bar and pizzeria (which is open from like 7 pm). In a bar you can find crossaints and sandwiches but only one type and not many of them. All three meals guests have at La Suari hotel which is just next door. Food was delicious (apart from basic breakfast). Lunch and dinner were amazing. It often happens in all inclusive resort that you have to try few different things to find what you actually like. Here - everything you taste is great. If you like pastas and seafood – its your place. To pay for alcohol you need famous white prepaid card. water, jucies and coke are included.
-BEACH: three of them available. The closest one is ugly. Next one–Isuledda requires a walk but its nice, great for kids. TIP: there are no signs whatsoever how to get there. you need to walk as to Calambra (the ugly one), and before big bushes turn right. after about 300-400 m, you'll reach T. go left (despite the impression that youre going to ugly one Calambra), turning right – even though the road looks more trustworthy - will get you into jungle-like bushes.
La Cintia is also very nice. Shuttle from the hotel is free.
-ROOMS: small, outdated. dont expect to cook in there, even though there are "facilities". NOTE: only four double rooms or so (the one for guests of the tour operator I traveled with) have A/C. I'm not sure how it is with quadruple though.
-POOL: great, deep. well maintained.

TIP: If you want to go to Olbia, DONT use taxi service – its 55 euro one way, and the very nice public bus goes from San Teodoro to Olbia center for 3 euros (takes 30 minutes, timetable at the reception).
TIP: Remember about siesta. Whatever you want to do in San Teodoro between 1 and 4 pm – forget it.
TIP: Mosquito repelent!
TIP: Good animation program for kids (as well as nice playground)
TIP: ask for room closer to the restaurant (if you mind walking), or – if you dont like sun – room heading tenniscourt/reception area (the one facing the other side are sun exposed all day)
TIP: if you actually want to prepare meals in the kitchen area, you have to leave it clean (and there are no detergents), otherwise you pay 30 euro

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

All round the facilites were great, tennis court, free Wifi, football enclosure, playground, amazing swimming pool. I was a little disappointed as there was no kettle or microwave but these are minor things as overall Liscia Eldi was ideal for our needs and budget. We travelled in a group of 3 families made up of 6 adults and 7 children, ages ranging from 6-13 yrs. They all had an amazing holiday. We booked three apartments\bugalows in a row facing the tennis court, football and playground which was perfect for adults to relax and watch the children doing their chosen activities. The resort was very quiet as the official season started the day we departed. Well done and thanks for a most memorable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna72Fell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at "Liscia Eldi" last week and had a great time.
3 families, 7 kids, and 6 big kids (3 couples) all thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to most people, especially families.
The location is great, the accomodation is good (better than expected, though I would recommend the apartments for 6 even if you don't need all the beds as they are roomy and cost little extra) and the site facilities excellent, ie, swimming pool, tennis, all-weather football court, etc. The location of the holiday vilage is great.
We went when the holiday village was relatively quiet (half-term hols at end of May 2013), and would probably choose this time of year again as these facilities may be over-crowded if the site was full.
The on-site pizzaria was good, though we thought the restauarant was pricey. The staff were extremely helpful, and the kids' team seemed lovely too.
The local beaches were breath-taking, especially the very close-bu L'Issuelda and La Brandichi /L'Impostu (15 minutes by car). Brandinchi is one of THE most beautiful places I think I have ever seen, and so unspoilt/natural.
You can walk into San Teodora (another delightful find) in 15 minutes which we did most evenings, and we found some lovely restaurants and shops there. Taxi's expensive!
A great family holiday, and a wonderful place to be based at LISCIS ELDI......TimF (UK)

Room Tip: We took the APARTMENT FOR 6 even though we were a 4.....mezzanine bedroom is lovely and gives extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Teodoro hotels
0.1 mi away
Club Hotel Li Suari
Club Hotel Li Suari
#18 of 27 in San Teodoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bungalow Club Village
Bungalow Club Village
#5 of 27 in San Teodoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Esagono
Hotel L'Esagono
#6 of 27 in San Teodoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Club Le Rose
Hotel Club Le Rose
#26 of 27 in San Teodoro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Caddu
Hotel Costa Caddu
#1 of 27 in San Teodoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Teodoro
Hotel San Teodoro
#17 of 27 in San Teodoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi

Property: Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi
Address: Via Romano Ledda snc, 08020, San Teodoro, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Teodoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Teodoro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Teodoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi, is a beautifully located holiday resort between the hills and sea on the north eastern coast of Sardinia. At only 200 meters from the sea and less than 1 km from the center of San Teodoro, the Resort is 30 km from the port and International airport of Olbia and 30 km from the port of Golfo Aranci. The property hosts typical Sardinian style villas which are nicely distributed on a lush green garden. 128 residence apartments of different sizes with the possibility to buy half or full board meal packages directly upon arrival. In the Resort there is a lot of spaces for practising sports, relax and fun. Sport tournaments are regularly organized by the animation team; it is possible to listen to good music and children can participate to the daily games as well as to the baby dance before the start of the evening shows together with the entertainment staff. The Isuledda beach is reachable by foot in about 7 min or it’s possible to take the free shuttle that goes to La Cinta beach (day service) or to San Teodoro at about 1 km (evening service). Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi is pleased to offer you the following services: •Ample outdoor parking (unguarded) •FREE shuttle service to the famous ‘La Cinta’ beach during the day and to San Teodoro during the evening (at fixed hours) •FREE Wi-Fi throughout the garden and pool areas •Medical assistance (at fixed hours) •Conference room (90 pax) •Entertainment during the day and the evening with sport tournaments, fitness, water gym, games, dances. •Gaming area with Nintendo consoles, table football, ping pong •Sport Area with soccer, basket, tennis and volley fields and boules court •Game Area with Mini club and big playground in the garden area •Pet Area, the Resort is accessible to animals (small/medium size animals - max 15kg - on request) •Beauty Center with massage service, facial treatments, waxing, manicure/pedicure… •Photographer •Excursion Office •Laundromat service •Hairdresser for men & women ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liscia Eldi Hotel San Teodoro
Hotel & Residence Liscia Eldi San Teodoro, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing