We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday, but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Resort & SPA
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in San Teodoro
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday, but room for improvement”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife, 10-month old daughter and I recently spent 11 nights at this hotel, and all in all had a really good time. It was a balance of great experiences and below-average experiences (especially given the 4-star rating) and given that the hotel is relatively new, there are a number of things that can definitely be improved upon (see below). Despite that, I would still recommend Paradise Resort: the food is excellent (special mention must be made of Mauro, the restaurant manager, who is definitely the best member of the team there is), the beach is great, the swimming pool and life guards are brilliant, and the environment for kids is amazing. I would return to the hotel too, which is always a good indicator to others. But that all said, there are a few areas the hotel can definitely improve upon, and a few things I wish I'd known before I went.

1. Area
The hotel is in a remote area, not within walking distance of anything other than the beach (which is a 5-7 minute walk from the pool). If I was to return, I would without question hire a car. While the hotel does offer a shuttle service, it is at specific times only, it only goes to one place (San Teodoro), and you are required to stay there for 3 hours. The alternative is getting a taxi, but you'll be paying 20 euros each way (for a 5 minute drive), given the remoteness of the hotel and the fact that the taxi has to come there from San Teodoro.

2. Staff
Per above, the restaurant staff were excellent, most notably Mauro. The rest of the staff, however, while trying hard, were not fully clued up on the hotel, and struggled with understanding English. Examples include (a) us being told prior to arrival that there were 2 restaurants at the hotel, but upon arrival being told there was only 1, (b) us booking a taxi 3 times (the first 2 bookings didn't make it into their notes!!) to the airport including a baby seat, only for the taxi to arrive without one, and the hotel not having one for us to use (c) us being told the shuttle to San Teodoro runs at any time during the day, only to find out that it in fact does not, (d) us being told prior to arrival and upon check-in that room service is available, only to find out from the restaurant that it was not, and (e) not being shown around the hotel upon arrival, so taking a few days to understand how things worked at the resort. I also emailed a few times before travelling there requesting an airport transfer, and didn't receive any confirmation from anyone until I eventually phoned them the day before we went. Yes, they're still learning, but there are certain things that hotels shouldn't get wrong. Other than contstant struggles with talking to a lot of the staff and being understood, the lack of English became really frustrating one night when there was an electricity black-out and a constant loud beeping noise in our room as a result of this, with no-one able to explain to us how to get it off - not ideal.

3. Features
The resort does not serve or sell pizza. And the ice cream available is poor - it is the same ice cream that one could buy in the supermarket, it doesn't get served in cones, and there are a maximum of 5 flavours at any one time. As a regular visitor to Italy, ice cream and pizza are always 2 highlights of our trip, so this was an obvious disappointment. There is also no shop at the resort, meaning if you run our of sun cream, for example, and haven't rented a car, you're either spending 40 euros on a taxi, or spending 4 hours with the shuttle going to buy it - obviously not ideal. Other than the kids club (the staff from there were great too, and very friendly to our daughter, despite her being below the required age) and the ability to buy half/full board, I'm not sure what differentiates this as a resort, as opposed to a hotel.

4. Room
The room we had (junior suite) was really spacious, with a great patio area for us to lie in the sun while our daughter slept during the day. Upon arrival, we realised the phone in our room did not work. 6 nights later, upon following up daily (the walk to reception is a good 5 minutes, so a phone would've been nice), it eventually got fixed, only to stop working again the next day. For 2 nights in a row, our shower gel was not replaced meaning we had to walk to reception at shower time (the phone was broken!) asking for more shower gel. Very much below expectations of a 4 star hotel.

Despite many of the frustrations above, we had a great and relaxing time and would go back to the hotel. I think a few minor improvements could take this hotel a very long way and for the sake of management, have added some quick-fix suggestions below:
1. Build a pizza oven: even if you want to charge for it separately (which will generate extra revenue, as every kid would want a pizza), do it.
2. Replace the ice cream offering with a fresh gelateria offering numerous flavours and cones, and possibly granita too.
3. Join up with a local car rental company and offer a discounted service on your website (I think the remoteness should be disclosed as part of the offering) to your customers. Alternatively, have a shuttle every hour or 2 to San Teodoro.
4. Open up a small shop at the resort offering basics like bottled water, sun cream, newspapers, etc. etc.
5. Have someone at the front desk at all times that is at least conversant in English, and/or introduce a concierge service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool - some of the rooms are quite a walk to the main area.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank VinylR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina_Seddone, Direttore at Paradise Resort & SPA, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at Paradise Resort, for writing this review and for recommending it. We would also like to thank you for your suggestions which are really precious and can help us to keep on improving. We all hope you’ll be back soon!
Our kindest regards
Bettina Seddone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    126
    60
    16
    14
See reviews for
154
164
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Paradise Resort for one night. Hotel is very nice, clean and we were met by a very friendly staff. We had family room on 6th(last) level with a big veranda. Both rooms were big and spacious. Bathroom is also very big, clean and good planned.

It was around 4pm when we arrived very hungry and tired, and we were told, they don't have anything to eat until 7pm and sent us to San-Teodoro, the town, which is located in about 20 min drive from hotel. We had to head to the town immediately after we checked in. I won't tell the whole story, but note, that all
restaurants are opening in Sardinia at 7pm. We couldn't eat anything until that time and consequently, came back to hotel quit late.
In the morning, we got up and prepared to go to the beach after breakfast, as we thought, we have enough time until 12pm check out, but we found out that check out time is 10am!!! So it meant, that we had to quickly have breakfast, and pack our luggage!
Likely, they allowed us to use all the facilities and I'd say, the hotel has a very big priority having their own sun beds on the beach. ( all the beaches are public in Sardinia)Although it's about 5min walking distance, it's one of the best beaches in Sardinia.
Swimming pool area and especially the pool bar are very nice, although it seemed a little abandoned for me.
You must have car to move around, otherwise, there is almost nothing in the walking distance.
To assume, the whole experience with this hotel was quit good and i'd recommend anyone to spend the holidays here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nino K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina_Seddone, Direttore at Paradise Resort & SPA, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for spending your time to review our hotel with such nice words!

As you wrote, in Sardinia (and generally everywhere in Italy) Restaurants have different opening times than in northern Europe. It may depend on the weather and habits. Since dinner is usually served quite late, our bar prepares a lot of snacks in the afternoon, but no warm dishes….

We look forward to welcome you again soon at Paradise Resort, maybe for a longer time!

With our kindest regards
Bettina Seddone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife, two year old son and I spent 8 days at this fabulous resort. It was simply amazing. The location is brilliant. Before going (& based upon other trip advisor reviews) we were worried about having to wade through some water to get to the beach, but the hotel has put in a lovely walk way over the tidal areas straight to the beach. The beach is incredible - really beautiful.
We opted for a half board (ie breakfast & dinner). The food was excellent and very generous. We also had a pre dinner drink on a few nights at the bar overlooking the beach & pool - and we always received sumptuous and delicious snacks with our drinks. The wines were reasonably priced too. The service with breakfast and dinner was brilliant too - Mauro (the head waiter) and his team are truly amazing.
We had a two room suite which suited us perfectly.
The only thing for improvement was that our room had a Sky box but we couldn't actually get it working. After ringing reception and then speaking to someone there on another occassion it all seemed too hard to get it working.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a balcony above it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina_Seddone, Direttore at Paradise Resort & SPA, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear David,
Thank you very much for your kind review!

Our staff works hard but with a strong passion and for all of us reading your words is a real pleasure.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Our warmest regards
Bettina Seddone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

September is maybe the best month to appreciate Sardinia. The seaside is not so crowded and there are very good offers for delightful hotels such as this "Paradise Resort", which may come out to be a little expensive in full season days.
The swimming pool is a tonic for your mood, with low volume, lounge-style music and a beautiful sight of the sea.
The beach, with a private area for the hotel customers, is 300m far and can be reached following a narrow path and two floating bridges which gets you across a picturesque swampy lacoon.
The staff was very gentle and helpful. Claudia and Manuela at the reception were always ready to meet our needs, and to give us suggestions for outdoor trips. Isabel, at the swimming pool, was there since the morning to make it a better day with her contagious smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dagoberto_il_nano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_DiTullio, Direttore at Paradise Resort & SPA, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and for praising our staff.
Paradise Resort boasts a wonderful location and our staff simply operate to make your our guests’ stay unforgettable.
Hoping to host you again next year, best regards

Roberto Di Tullio
GM Paradise Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for 4 days in July and were very satisfied. Nice and modern facility. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfast was good with a lot of choices, much more than normal in continental Europe. Pool area and beach are excellent for families. Rental car is absolutely required as there is nothing else nearby. Only 2 negative observations: Lack of curtain in the shower made the bathroom a mess, and not at least, the beds are rock hard, and not at all comfortable as mentioned by other guests as well. Nice roof terrace for our room (not all rooms) , but impossible to use due to lack of sun shade. Also note that the hotel may be hard to find, even wth gps. But still recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_DiTullio, Direttore at Paradise Resort & SPA, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Tore,
Thank you for choosing Paradise Resort and for writing this review. We are pleased to know that you have appreciated our resort and the courtesy of our staff. Thanks for your valuable and precious advice.
We hope to see you again soon at Paradise Resort!

Roberto Di Tullio
GM Paradise Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Paradise Resort in July and thought it was fab! This was our fifth year in Sardinia, staying in a different resort each time, the hotel was not a disappointment.

The pool area is gorgeous, clean and the beds are comfy and not too close together. Clean complementary beach towels are available each day.

We had a junior suite with a sea view and this was spacious. The bed was huge, although maybe a little hard

A car is a must though as the hotel is a little isolated and not within walking distance of anywhere, other than the beach. Sunbeds were free if you had a junior suite. There was ample free parking at the hotel.

While we were there it was my birthday and although we didn't mention it to the hotel, a bottle of champagne on ice, with two glasses was left in our room. A nice touch!!!

On the day we flew home, our flight was not until the evening and we were allowed to keep our room, at no extra cost, until we were ready to leave, which we really appreciated.

All in all a great place to stay. Would go back again, no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemay1960_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_DiTullio, Direttore at Paradise Resort & SPA, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Maggie May,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It's nice to read comments like yours! Our staff only wishes to make our guests’ stay unforgettable. We are glad that we made it for you as well!
We hope to see you soon at Paradise Resort!

Roberto Di Tullio
GM Paradise Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Having read all the previous reviews on this hotel I would say it has certainly improved in the past couple of years. Everyone has very subjective views on what they see as important or what they view as good or bad service so I will put a few bullet points down and leave it up the reader to decide.

Good Points

The pool area is excellent, one of the best I have been to. A decent size and fantastic raised double loungers. Staying in 1st week of Sep there was always a choice where to sit by the pool.

Proximity to the beach - it is a short walk to the beach where the hotel has an area with loungers - 15 Euros for 2 loungers and an umbrella for the day (expect to pay 20-30 elsewhere). It is also close to Cala Brindinchi which is a stunning white sandy beach.

Rooms - the rooms are modern, clean with aircon, good shower and patio area. The room also has Sky HD so you can flip the language to English on the movies if you have a rainy day.

Negatives

Wifi - over 7 days I would say we had functioning Wifi for 2.5 days. Despite complaining twice it was not fixed and when it was working it was still very weak in the rooms. One of the reasons we chose it was due to it having Wifi so having to pay for international data to check work emails was very frustrating.

Beds - the beds are very hard. Very hard.

Service - now it is harsh to say the service is bad. Everyone is friendly enough and cheerful but if you are expecting the above and beyond advice / service you would get from a boutique hotel or an owner operated place you won't get it unless you push for it. This is not a huge criticism but if the hotel has designs to become better then a more in-depth check in with advice and recommendations would go some way.

Overall it is a good hotel, lovely view and amazing pool area. If it has definite areas of improvement but is not too far away from being very good. I would say it is essential to hire a car and also make sure you get up to Costa Smeralda (about 1 hours drive)- have a look at Porto Servo and Porto Rotondo, take a boat trip from Palau (approx 60-80 euros for small boat, 30-35 as part of big boat) and try beaches around Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daccombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto_DiTullio, Direttore at Paradise Resort & SPA, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review.
Your suggestions are very important to us to improve. Paradise Resort opened up just 2 years ago and our first goal is to keep on improving and make our guests every day more satisfied!.
We hope to see you soon!

Roberto Di Tullio
GM Paradise Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Teodoro hotels
3.5 mi away
Bungalow Club Village
Bungalow Club Village
#3 of 27 in San Teodoro
553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Due Lune Resort Golf & Spa
Due Lune Resort Golf & Spa
#15 of 27 in San Teodoro
89 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Caddu
Hotel Costa Caddu
#1 of 27 in San Teodoro
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel L'Esagono
Hotel L'Esagono
#7 of 27 in San Teodoro
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Baia Salinedda
Residence Baia Salinedda
#16 of 27 in San Teodoro
138 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel San Teodoro
Hotel San Teodoro
#17 of 27 in San Teodoro
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort & SPA

Property: Paradise Resort & SPA
Address: | Località Lu Impostu, 08020, San Teodoro, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Teodoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Teodoro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Teodoro
#4 Family Hotel in San Teodoro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Teodoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Resort Punta Sardegna is a beautiful 4 stars superior hotel surrounded by a breath-taking natural oasis inside the Protective Marine Area of Tavolara. Guests can enjoy a wide garden with swimming pools and solarium, an exclusive restaurant, a private parking and a Mini Club.. At Paradise Resort sports lovers are definitely spoilt for choice: golf lovers can take advantage of the proximity of Golf Club Puntaldia, a 9 holes golf course just 2 km away from the Resort, and golf Club Pevero, 18 holes, just 55 km away. The beautiful white sandy beach of Lu Impostu makes every stay unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Resort & SPA San Teodoro, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing