We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, personal and friendly”
Review of Hotel Bonsai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bonsai
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in San Teodoro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hotel Bonsai gets my best recommendations for nice atmosphere, friendly staff and positive service. 5/5 also underlines nice surroundings, clean and fully functional rooms and in fact nothing that I can put a finger on.
In short exceeded my expectations for the hotel.
Travellers should though be aware of that after Oct. 15th. restaurants in the closest vicinity have closed. And that I can not understand since the weather at this time of year is very suitable for at least people from the northern hemisphere.
Last but not least I forgot an expensive battery and a charger for my camera in the room upon leaving... but had it sent home only about week later without any problems.
Thanks for good service Hotel Bonsai.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jongauti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bonsai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Fantastic hotel, wonderful staff and decor. From our balcony watched the sun go down over the mouuntains. Staff really friendly and helpful. Short walk to lovely town with excellent restaurants and bars.
Tip: use the bus from outside the airport drops you 25 yards from the hotel and only costs 3.5 euros per person rather than the 60 euros a taxi wanted,

Room Tip: The hotel rooms with the balconies at the front of the building give you sunshine all day and a fant...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul186360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

clean, comfortable hotel, friendly staff but speak very little English other was manged to communicate
the only thing was there breakfast was very limited.
the view from the roof terrace was amazing you can see a good veiw to the town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sudan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Think of what a decent and expensive 4-star hotel usually offers to its guests...
Now take a look at what kind of a room 4-star hotel Bonsai in San Teodoro offers to its guests for at least 155 Euro per night in August.
- old cheap furniture
- walls and ceiling painted in colours with absolutely NO taste (orange and pink walls vs. dark blue ceiling)
- wires sticking out dangerously from sockets in several places
- worst air conditioner ever
- broken shower cabin (they fixed it lazily after we pointed this out)
- dirty bed linen
- TV with 1 working channel
- dim lights inside the room with no windows, lamps outside the room not working

To confirm these facts, we uploaded pictures of the room.
You think it's enough? No. The hotel staff speak almost no English, are unhelpful and just don't care. On the official Bonsai web-site the rooms look nice, and maybe there are really a few good rooms in the hotel. We asked for a better room, but one of the staff told us, "you never can choose a room, the hotel is booked, maybe in a few days we will move you to another room".
We had to spend 1 night there because it was pre-paid. Next morning we checked out and found a much better place with lower price and far better value and attitude, where we stayed for another 9 days.

The only reason we gave it "poor" and not "terrible" is a decent breakfast.
Don't follow our mistake. This hotel doesn't deserve even 2 stars.
Look for better choices, both among local hotels and B&Bs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank travelnice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Booked through Expedia with 2 days notice. 130 euro seen as way too high for the quality we received. Placed in room 118 with no windows to the outside, a rock hard bed and a very noisy air-condition. A very basic room! Complaining to the hotel took us nowhere, and we were told the manager would not be there until 24 hours later. The receptionist understood very little english, so we need one of the guests to translate.

The location is good, with just 5 minutes walk to the town centre and 15 minutes walk to the beach. The outdoor seating for breakfast is also good, but the quality not. No eggs or fresh juice, and very limited selection overall. But...proper coffee.

No WiFi, also very limited mobile reception indoors.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with windows facing outside
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed here in September lasy year.
The rooms are spotless,the owners really welcoming and friendly
The layout has lots of terraces and patios and there are good views around the town from the roof terrace.Short walk into town. OK breakfast is a bit basic but when you are on holiday and heading for the beaches you dont need much
San Teodoro town has a really good atmosphere and Sardinias beaches are fantastic.We couldn't afford Costa Smerelda!
This hotel is all you really need for a base to explore the local area

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrnewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Located up to 5 minute walk frm the center of San Teodoro and a 20 min alk from La Cinta Beach. Rooms were very clean and people are nice. Only Breakfast is very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Teodoro hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Teodoro
Hotel San Teodoro
#15 of 27 in San Teodoro
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel L'Esagono
Hotel L'Esagono
#7 of 27 in San Teodoro
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella Marina
Hotel Stella Marina
#11 of 27 in San Teodoro
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club Le Rose
Hotel Club Le Rose
#26 of 27 in San Teodoro
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalow Club Village
Bungalow Club Village
#5 of 27 in San Teodoro
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terradimare Resort & Spa
Hotel Terradimare Resort & Spa
#13 of 27 in San Teodoro
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonsai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonsai

Address: Via Golfo Aranci, 08020, San Teodoro, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Teodoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Teodoro
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Teodoro
Price Range: £48 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonsai 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bonsai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Hotel San Teodoro
Hotel Bonsai San Teodoro, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing