We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food in a very Sicilian. Holiday village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria La Battigia - CLOSED

Trattoria La Battigia
Price range: US$39 - US$63
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a very Sicilian. Holiday village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed both of our visits to this restaurant ..once for dinner and the other for lunch .
We were there in June which was quiet and so we were very well looked after by the patron/ chef and his front of house staff .
The food was totally fresh and delicious , and the house wine very much a cut above the rest .
We highly recommend it

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fuchsy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great antipasti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Great little place. We had the best antipasti platter here. We got the fresh fish from the river right outside the restaurant, it was a little dry for me.
A sweet couple runs the place and is very nice, speak English too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank riya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine Seaside Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We enjoyed a lovely lunch at Trattoria La Battigia. The front greenhouse-like room facing the water was quite warm so we ate in the back room which was fine. Tableside service was excellent and other local diners there were so friendly. In fact, while waiting for our pasta we must have looked really hungry so those at the table next us instructed their waiter who was tossing seafood pasta tableside to give us a portion. Funny! We offered them wine and from then on it was like we were family. The black ink pasta which we tasted all over Venice and in Sicily was tops here. My pasta con vongole was outstanding and the seafoord antipasti was both beautiful and tasty. This restaurant is a bit off the beaten track but well work the visit thanks to our GPS!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gtmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“delicious fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Ideal place in Acireale to taste fresh fish. We made a reservation through our host in Palazzo Giovanni, who recommended this place greatly. Every dish we tasted was fresh and delicious, the service is very good.The prices are average, cause for both of us with two antipasta, grilled fish to share and water + a bottle of 375 ml of wine we payed 70 euro.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“delicious polpo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

lovely food helpful people. Delicious octopus salad. Generous portions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pondcreeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria La Battigia also viewed

Capo Mulini, Acireale
Capo Mulini, Acireale
 
Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing