We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heading back ...... x” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Grotta

La Grotta
Ranked #14 of 211 Restaurants in Acireale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heading back ...... x”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Casa all a Scala 2 years ago , and still dream about the wonderful spaghetti and superb seafood . The staff were friendly enough , but we wanted to eat what we wanted .... not go and pick a fish . Sitting outside on a warm night sipping Rose' and eating fresh seafood is my sort of heaven .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mouse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    122
    46
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pasta & Basta!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place was recommended by our hotel as a favourite! It was a hot June night and the Terra's looked great when we arrived. We were one of the first guest and before we could sit, the waiter almost ordered us to follow him inside to " pick the fish". Inside, you indeed see sweating chefs and a few fish( I guess we were on a unsuccessfully catch day). Since there was not much choice, I ordered one pasta( all spaghetti) and one house specialty( seafood boiled and then served in a lemon sauce). The house specialty was not very successful and the shrimps wee not cooled back which means they became a bit chewy. This was also the same for the calamari. The sauce I found a bit too acidic, but this might be a matter of taste. The spaghetti surprisingly was excellent! Large portion and in a great sauce.. The mains were grilled sea bass and although it had a nice charcoal grill taste, it was unfortunately grilled to death and almost no juices left.. Either we were unlucky or this place is slightly overrated for killing perfect ingredients which most European chefs would cry for.. If I were you, I would stick here to the great seafood spaghetti and order a nice bottle of white and enjoy the view!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BAY-GASTRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small..but excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

During my trips in Sicily, i've got familiarized with the sicilian cousine. Tried a lot of places...from Trappani, Palermo to Catania...but this small place, called La Grotta is one in a life time. I was complettely surprized by the location..only 12 tables inside. The people here r happy to meet u...they really are. U r entering the restaurant true the kitchen..just in time to see the fresh seafood and fish, waiting to be chosen... the insalata de mare is great... i also tasted the pasta con ciccada....wow.. The fish in the grill was perfect done. Not to forget the excellent Sicilian white dry wine....
It's a little bit expensive, but every cent u spend here is worthy! By sure..i will be back..

Helpful?
2 Thank BConstanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room is special and beautiful, and the fish is very good. But the food is quite simple and expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfBrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sicilian Hospitality and delicious food combined!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our hotel recommended to us this little place and I don;t think we would have found it if we were not sent to it.

And we cannot thank them enough for their recommendation.

Simple place with welcoming people and great great great Sicilian/Italian Food.

When they say Fresh fish and sea food, the really mean it.

We had 3 meals at this place so I think we must of tried everything. Fish, shrimps, squid, appetizers, pasta with sea food.

Prices are excellent and service is even better

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grotta also viewed

Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 
Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 
Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 

Been to La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing