We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a 'gem' of a location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Albergo Maugeri
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Acireale
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a 'gem' of a location”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We hired a car and stayed in Sicily for a week. We wanted a fairly central location in the East so we can day trip eastern locations fairly easily. Our preference was 4-5 star hotel with good TripAdvisor ratings, breakfast included and a fair price. This hotel seemed to fit the bill, so we booked it.

I must admit that I was a little sceptical about the location, but any concerns were blown away with our first walk in this lovely town. Acireale is a fanatastic location. There is a lovely town square absolutely buzzing with (pleasant) nightlife in the evening, a beautiful cathedral and some lovely restaurants and ice cream parlours, all well within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel itself was perfect. It's located 5 minutes walk from the centre of Acireale. The reception was welcoming and informative, the breakfasts were excellent with a huge variety, the service was very worthy of 5 stars, and the rooms were very clean and perfect for our stay. Some reviewers mentioned dated rooms. Our room was up to date with a good sized modern bathroom, albeit without a bath.

I would strongly recommend Flora Cafe which is a first class restaurant in the town centre. The owner is a truly wonderful man who made us feel at home and bought out so many lovely Sicilian dishes for us to try. He was sincere, not after a quick buck and devoted to making sure his guests got a taste of Sicily.

Another memorable experience was the local bus. We caught this one evening to go to a local coastal fishing village. I couldn't believe how close the driver was to other cars, houses, shops, pedestrians and walls!!! Driving at roller coaster speeds, he navigated his way around Acireale, Riposto, Pozzillo and other villages as though he were driving a mini rather then a 40 seater! An elderely man, he charmed the ladies at each stop with a knowing smile and a quick chat. A memorable evening for us!

Other delights were a Cassata in Noto, chocolate in Modica, Cannolis in Acireale, Etna Gelato in Taormina and a Granita absolutely anywhere! All of which remind of sunny days and lovely walks.

I wouldn't hesitate in choosing this location or this hotel if I'm lucky enough to return to Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SavLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    172
    72
    13
    6
See reviews for
108
195
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This hotel is located central and in a quite area. Rooms are spacious, very clean and including Air-condition. Staff is VERY helpful. They have some indoor parking spaces available as well. Breakfast was good although not typical Italian. Free WIFI service available.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have stayed with my family (2 adults + 2 children) for 4 days in July, and thier level of service is outstanding. City maps and restaurant recommendations, free internet, excellent waiter and reception attention to any request, and an early breakfast on the day we left. The room was also very spacious, modern and clean. Undoubtely the best cost-benefit we ever had in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goiaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Targu Secuiesc, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed in Grande Albergo Maugeri for 5 nights,and I can say that everything was according to the four star rating.Starting with the location,(central)continuing with the rooms, that were spacious and clean.Cleaning was also provided every day .The staff was friendly and professional.Breakfast is a small buffet,but satisfactory. I would greatly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annamari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Everything was as it should be. Nice, spacious, clean and warm room. Helpful staff. Central location next to small park. Good breakfast (not typical Italian with only cappuccino and croissant). The hotel has parking facilities in a garage. We enjoyed staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I really enjoyed staying in Maugeri Hotel with my family. The hotel personnel was high-class and really helpful in providing us with relevant information regarding where things are (ex.: bank machines) and what is going on in Acireale (things to do). Our room was quiet and clean and we had a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was really good.

Room Tip: We had the only room at the last floor of the hotel = cool because we had access from our room to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilze
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Maugeri is a comfortable hotel in the heart of Acireale. We stayed her for 2 nights to explore the Etna and surroundings.
The staff is very friendly and attentive.
The room is quiet and comfortable.
Dinner can be a funny experience as groups of travellers enjoy their dinner here as well.
Arriving by car can be time consuming in view of traffic; parking in the vicinity is almost impossible. However, Maugeri offers parking facilities in a garage and ...... free of charge!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street side because of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acireale
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Catania Acireale
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#4 of 8 in Acireale
391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
#1 of 1 in Santa Tecla
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Art Hotel Capomulini
Art Hotel Capomulini
#7 of 8 in Acireale
140 reviews
7.1 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Maugeri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Maugeri

Property: Grande Albergo Maugeri
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 27, 95024, Acireale, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Acireale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Acireale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Maugeri 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Albergo Maugeri is a four star hotel in Acireale's historic centre, a 5-minute walk from Acireale Cathedral, shops, bars and restaurants. Its 59 spacious rooms have bath or shower and include free internet wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, safe, hairdryer, minibar and an LCD TV. The hotel has a free parking on site provided upon availability. Car, bike, and motorcycle rental are also available. The hotel is 1.8 miles from the sea, 12 miles from the centre of Catania and a 30 minute drive from Catania Airport. It is perfectly placed for visiting the most important tourist resorts on Sicily's East Coast: Taormina (30 min), Etna (35 min), Syracuse (1 hr), Noto (1 hr 15 mins. In the restaurant, opened for lunch and dinner, our chef's menu is inspired by traditional Sicilian and Italian cuisine and the sommelier can recommend fine wines produced from the main grapes of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo Maugeri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Maugeri Acireale, Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing