We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "ok" start for a Tour de Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Acireale
Kilchberg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An "ok" start for a Tour de Sicily”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Overall an average four star hotel in Italy. Not too comfortable, etc, but clean and very nice and helpful personel. Often used by large groups and therefore not very individual.
A good starting point to go up on Mount Etna.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans_Hub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    70
    83
    18
    10
See reviews for
41
53
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

we were there with a tour of 47 people, unfortunately there were other tours as well,
dinner was served in two big rooms, no menue for information, no extra for vegetarians,
one night we had a buffet dinner which ended for me after the starter - the buffet was
nearly empty and they began to clean it of...
The rooms were nice, the view to Mt Aetna, which threw up lava during our stay as well,
but don´t expect too much from this (**** ?) Hotel, some times no hot water, only one
coffee dispenser for 200 people (so long queues in the morning)...
definitely my last stay there

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wooloomoolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Acireale hotels

Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights there as part of our tour. Lying on the slopes of Mt. Tauro, we had some great views of the coast and Mt. Etna. Mt. Etna was still smoking from an earlier eruption. The rooms were large and clean. The meals were very good. From this hotel, we ventured to Taormina (beautiful), Noto (UNESCO) and Siracusa.

Room Tip: The Hotel is close to the highways and centrally located. Rooms on the east side face the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crunch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been in this hotel as a single tourist and got a room on the ground floor. The room has 14" TV with only Italian channels and the furniture was quite simple. There was no hot water in the bathroom and the problem was fixed after an hour or so. The breakfast of this hotel is more than enough to start a day of excursions. The hotel is not in a walking distance from food/shopping centers, but is quite close to a supermarket if one has a rented car. The noise isolation of room is medium, but not a real problem. All in all the hotel is a good compromise between price and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 32" TV and English speaking channels and a balcony. Try to avoid rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amos_bnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Despite its nice garden and pool, there is nothing you can do in the area, and services are extremely poor. We had the worst welcome ever from a female "receptionist", who was not able to speak English, but even in Italian was not willing at all to give us any bit of information/help. We did not get any "ciao" at least!!!
Having booked a triple room, we got a quadruple, with no balcony, but a small window, facing the small street (no open view) on a side of the hotel. They did not want to change it, even if the hotel was (not surpringsly) pretty empty. Old furniture, dirty sink. There is no bathrobe or slippers, as advertised by the hotel. Warm water did not function at the sink. But they provide tooth brushes and razor kits!
Breakfast is very poor. I even saw a waiter putting back a croissant which was not eaten by a guest. Often run out of glasses and spoons. Waiters were cleaning the floor while we were eating!
There is absolutely nothing to do in the area. You either rent a car from the airport (I recommend Alfa Service, which seemed one of the cheapest companies) and escape, or stay at the pool (no animation, no music, no bar) and pay them the requested 20/25€ (drinks not included) for a poor dinner style "menu of the day", whereas you can buy a good Italian pizza for 5€ from a pizzeria situated some 1-2 km away (take right on the street as you go out from the lobby, ask the receptionist - if you are lucky to find Francesco, and not the short-haired female - to open the gate).
No information on paper about facilities, services, region, excursions, etc. (as any 4 stars hotel usually provides) is available, neither in the lobby, nor in the room.
This is definitely not a 4 stars hotel and I would not recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladyro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We found this hotel by accident, the one we were heading for from our satnav was closed. Set back from the road in large garden with big swimming pool the hotel looked fine. We didn't use the pool as too cold, not sure that it was even open. The welcome was good and the hotel was busy so we stayed in the family room for 1 night. It was more of a business/conference than holiday hotel. The room was very large and clean but old ad old fashioned, though there was sky tv for no extra cost. The bathroom was tired and not spotless but not dirty either is that makes sense.Though they did provide disposable tooth brush and razor!
Dinner was interesting because they had a large group in and so we were sat in a room next to main dining room, just 4 diners, where service was slow and have to say that the head waiter was very helpful the other waiters looked miserable.
The starters were ok but sadly couldn't eat my main course which were swordfish cakes because they were over salted. Wine was very passable and expresso good.

We slept quite well and our bedroom opened out to a shared balcony with amazing views of Etna erupting and clear scene of the lave pouring down the snow covered slopes.

Breakfast in honesty was boring, orange juice tasteless,stewed coffee, continental choice but not particularly good quality.
This really is a business hotel, or a good basic base from which to travel to sightsee.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houilles, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Huge hotel, far from the center of the city (Acireale), you must have a car.
It stands above the national road, in front of the sea (SS114) but you don't hear the noise of the traffic.
There's a nice pool (opening between 9 am - 18pm and closed during the lunch), the place is really nice with a beautiful garden.
The room is ok, not extraordinary. You sleep well and you have space to put your clothes and stuff away.
The restaurant is expensive if you didn't take the half-board (25-40 euros/person) and the meals are not so fantastic, but still good.
There are a lot of groups (in the period we were there). They're leaving the hotel early in the morning (some noise in the corridor...) and turning back for dinner.
People are correct and professionnal.
It lacks a nice and warming spirit. Maybe it's more aimed towards groups than individuals.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaecharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acireale
2.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#3 of 7 in Acireale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grande Albergo Maugeri
Grande Albergo Maugeri
#2 of 7 in Acireale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Catania Acireale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Art Hotel Capomulini
Art Hotel Capomulini
#7 of 7 in Acireale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
76.1 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
#1 of 1 in Santa Tecla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale

Property: Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale
Address: Viale Cristoforo Colombo n. 2, 95024, Acireale, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Acireale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Acireale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing