We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Acireale
Certificate of Excellence
Dingli, Malta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Even though we only spend 2 days at this hotel it was a great experience. Rooms aren't huge but they are comfortable and clean with Sky TV. The views from the room's balcony, the restaurant and the bar's terrace are great. The breakfast is very good with good fresh Italian products and nice coffee. The garden and pool outside the hotel are very well kept, while the staff were really helpful and surprisingly enough had very good command of English. Even though Acireale isn't the most beautiful city in Sicily it is close to Taormina and Catania. Would go again any time :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbug78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    165
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
67
184
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Muy, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived late in the evening without a booking. We had been searching for a nice hotel for an hour or so and finally found Santa Caterina. We got the last room at a good rate so we were happy. The room was so lovely, nice decor, clean and very comfortable with double doors out onto the gardens with table and chairs. The reception area is like a big lounge with sofa's, coffee tables and big screen tv, it felt so relaxing and welcoming. The restaurant was full to bursting with people still trying to get tables late at night, what a fantastic ambiance, it really was buzzing. We were very hungry and afraid we wouldn't get a table but the restaurant manager sat us in the lounge with a glass of wine and nibbles until a table became available. We were called within half an hour and had the most fabulous meal in a buzzing, well organised, mod, fashionable establishment. Italy is famous for its food but this place really gave us our best eating experience of our holiday. Thank you to all the team for the exceptional service and very warm welcome, we will be back! The towels at this hotel are to die for, gorgeous!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We only had 2 days here. We wish we could have stayed longer. It was very relaxing. Great breakfasts with lots of choices. We walked down to the Mediterrean sea...downhill and winding. We found a place to carefully swim. No beaches, just black lava rock. Slightly dangerous getting in and out. We enjoyed the hotel pool later...only wish the water was a bit warmer. Sitting out by the pool was very nice. Would stay there again if we ever go back to that area. The one thing we thought was ridiculous was they only had 1 chair on the balcony...whats with that?

Room Tip: We were on second floor with balcony. It was quiet. The middle area had the bigger rooms. Make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curious2Whitefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in July. Acireale is a charming town, a hidden gem with all the Rococo grandeur of better known places like Noto, but without all the tourists.
We stayed in a standard room, which was perfectly comfortable and surprisingly spacious. The grounds are fairly compact but the pool area is lovely with a choice of sun or shade. Staff spoke good English and helped us to book a day trip to nearby Etna. The hotel was great value compared to prices in nearby Taormina.
Lunches are only served at weekends, and are well worth having.
The restaurant attached to the hotel is superb and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Lots of locals come to eat here. Veggies are well catered for, and there's some great local wine on the menu.
It's about a 10 min walk into the centre of Acireale up a gentle slope, but there is one small steep road you'll have to navigate. The approach road to the hotel is also a bit steep. Fine for most, but important to know about if you have limited mobility.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Good location, nice rooms but which can do with redecorating. Room was ok, additional single bed stole space. Comfortable bed. Sea view, from balcony....desk staff helpful and friendly. Excellent cleanliness. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely stay in Santa Caterina Hotel where we spent over 2 weeks during our trip to Sicilia and, I must say, this is a place where it actually feels like home. It is especially important when you are travelling with kids. We occupied 2 sea-view neighboring rooms to accommodate our 2 kids and us. The rooms were very well furbished and clean with comfortable beds and amazingly quiet at night.

Our kids were happy about the food. Make sure to reserve a table for the night – the restaurant is on high demand – excellent local cuisine, very reasonable prices and attentive service. Overall, the staff of the hotel deserves the best praise – they all were professional and did their best in making our stay perfect. Our special thanks to Daniela who helped us really a lot with travel-around arrangements.

All in all, the hotel left most positive impressions, perfect value for money, friendly and welcoming, making feel special and inviting to come back. This was by far not our last visit to Sicily and this hotel is definitely our pick for our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Екатерина С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
836 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,420 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a solid, shapeless block of cement, with a view on... a motorway, small and unattractive rooms and unfriendly service. The quality of the breakfast was pitiful. And on top of that, price is sort of a rip off. I would never go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acireale
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo Maugeri
Grande Albergo Maugeri
#2 of 8 in Acireale
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Catania Acireale
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
#1 of 1 in Santa Tecla
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Art Hotel Capomulini
Art Hotel Capomulini
#6 of 8 in Acireale
145 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
#1 of 11 in Aci Castello
1,044 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Orizzonte - Acireale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: Via Santa Caterina 42/b, 95024, Acireale, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Acireale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Acireale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Acireale
Hotel Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina Hotel Acireale, Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing