We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Acireale
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed here with my wife for a week. We found the room adequate, the bathroom was a little weird as it was adapted for a disabled person. The staff were helpful and accommodating, however they didn't all speak good English so it could be difficult at times to communicate effectually. Even the ones who did not speak English did endeavour to try and help us.

The hotel itself had a stylish bar lounge area with a nice view of the sea. Negative points were the proximity of the road and rail lines. At night I could not hear any road noise through the windows (the room is air conditioned). The railway rans close to the pool however there didn't appear to be many trains so we did not find it troublesome.

The pool was a nice cool place to escape the sunshine, however as other reviewers pointed out on some days there were not enough sun loungers for all the residents. There were also quite a few ant colonies so laying on the grass might not be an excellent idea.

The town of Acireale is not very touristy, there are several restaurants, coffee shop and many boutique shops. Acireale is well placed to make excursions, laying in between Catania and Taormina, also a short drive from the Etna National Park. We took one of the excursions in a 4x4 to mount Etna national park. For 50 Euro each plus shoe hire we had a guided tour up to the park a view inside a cave formed after a lava flow, a walk around an old crater at 2000m and a snack. It was a thought good value however we did not get to see the active area.

The hotel restaurant is very nice, breakfast was excellent with a wide range of food on offer. As you would expect in Italy the coffee was excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant serval times, the Pizzas were very good as was the Sicilian antipasti. The portions sizes were generous. The restaurant did get busy so on weekends it's advisable to book if you want a decent table. The lounge bar was virtually always unstaffed meaning we had to ask at reception to order a drink, there was also no drink menu and some of the staff found it difficult to mix up a decent Gin and Tonic. The measures were indeed generous, drinks were expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    161
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
64
181
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is average, not a 4 star hotel, more like 3 star. The reception staff were helpful and friendly, however not all staff had a great understanding of the English language, making it difficult to get help at times.
The rooms were nice and kept clean, however the beds were uncomfortable and hard. A nearby dog barked constantly during the night, so trying to get any sleep is nearly impossible. The room had a good sized balcony and a view of the sea, however, watch out for the ants!
The restaurant is large and we had two evening meals there. It was good food but the menu was limited. Good if you like pizzas!
The pool area was nice and an adequate size, but there were not enough sun loungers for every guest, so if they were fully booked then some guests would be disappointed. The train line runs behind the pool area, so was noisy at times.
The hotel is not in a great location - at the bottom of a hill and next to a busy main road. The town itself is not tourist friendly and has nothing to offer apart from churches and coffee shops. There's 1 restaurant in the town, but I wouldn't bother visiting it as the food is awful!
You definitely need to hire a car if you want to get around the island, so this hotel and location is not ideal for a 2 week break.
Overall I had a good holiday in Sicily, but I would not revisit the hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acireale, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times. We had a family of 4 and were always put into the suite which had a single bed as well as a double bed. They provided a baby cot for our youngest, so it was ample space for all of us. The staff are friendly. The only thing I did not like about this room was that there was no proper shower. You had to sit or stand in the large tub and use the shower head to shower yourself by hand. Not the most convenient and I hope they will enclose it and add a proper shower head attachment so you can take a proper shower OR bath. The restaurant at the Hotel is our favorite, always delicious. Try the eggplant ravioli with pistachio cream sauce. Breakfast is ice. Fresh croissants, yogurt, eggs for soft or harbor king, cheese, meats, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, cappuccino. Very typical Italian breakfast, but fresh and yummy and well presented. And you can't beat the view! Breathtaking. The Hotel also has a very nice pool. Not huge, but enough to cool off in. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: We only have ever stayed in one room. It is a suite and the only one they have, I believe. It has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby6423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

After several business trips i decided to take a short vacation in Acireale....completely surprised...found a small hotell,with friedly people..The rooms r a little bit small for my taste but clean and cousy. They have a good restaurant where u can get a tipical sicylian dish...the breacfast is a little bit poor.. but u can survive..From the hotel u can book several trips arround...but take care. Smths u can be triked...in a Land Rover.. 8 people....like potato bags....if u enjoy it...u cann have it. I personally quit it in the morning when i sow it..even the company offered me the half price just to get in the car....no way.....at least for me....
Any way...the hotel is excellent,so.....do not avoid it....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The location was an excellent choice to see the carnival.The breakfast was good and healthy.The room was clean,quite, verandah to go out in it and have an excellent view. Good parking for the car.The al a carte menu was excellent.The bed was also very good for a good sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Julians Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Following a friends recommendation, I reserved a room for my wife and I while an other two friends of ours reserved an other room. We found the hotel to be very clean, breakfast was great. Ended up having dinner at the hotel's restaurant which cooks great Pizza, pasta and meat, not to mention the salads.
Powerful shower. Had to switch off the heating at night and open the terrace door at times to cool the room. Other than that..... I have noting to add to this review.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingli, Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Even though we only spend 2 days at this hotel it was a great experience. Rooms aren't huge but they are comfortable and clean with Sky TV. The views from the room's balcony, the restaurant and the bar's terrace are great. The breakfast is very good with good fresh Italian products and nice coffee. The garden and pool outside the hotel are very well kept, while the staff were really helpful and surprisingly enough had very good command of English. Even though Acireale isn't the most beautiful city in Sicily it is close to Taormina and Catania. Would go again any time :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbug78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acireale
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Catania Acireale
0.7 mi away
Grande Albergo Maugeri
Grande Albergo Maugeri
#2 of 7 in Acireale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
#1 of 1 in Santa Tecla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Art Hotel Capomulini
Art Hotel Capomulini
#7 of 7 in Acireale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: Via Santa Caterina 42/b, 95024, Acireale, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Acireale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Acireale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Acireale
Hotel Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina Hotel Acireale, Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing