We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't mind the noise....”
Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Noto
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you don't mind the noise....”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Well located, friendly staff, spacious and clean room, ample car park (a rare commodity in Sicily). All well in the room, except for the poor acoustic isolation. You will quickly learn about your neighbors ablution habits and choice of TV programs. Take your earplugs along. Breakfast was mediocre compared to what we have experienced in other Sicilian hotels, it could be greatly improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curupira_enfezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    165
    86
    30
    41
See reviews for
107
175
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights. The hotel is on outskirts of town, 7 or 8 min walk. Its modern, clean and staff are v helpful. as we had suffered mosquito bites in Taormina I asked about repellant and the receptionist got us a special lamp for our room. Breakfast has variety and swimming pool is clean and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tortoisefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

From 19 to 26 May 2012, an older couple

Unfortunately was the 4 stars hotel „Grand Hotel Sofia“ for us a nightmare who did contribute to spoil our holiday week

Every evening, large buses unloaded crowds of young people -schoolboys and schoolgirls, students(?), young people who produced over the night a very big noise, cries, smashed doors, running on the floor…A attempt to rest was only with earplugs and sleeping pills possible.

The next morning, these guys falled like locusts on the breakfast buffet and it did happen several times only through the kindness of the dear head waitress at 8 30 to 9 00 clock as we were coming in that we got as consolation stil something.

And in the afternoon to catch up and rest was not possible because of the clamour raised on the floor by the chatter of the cleaning ladies.

But we must admit that our room was big and beautiful, with a large balcony, always kept clean and that we will always have fresh linen and napkins.

The thin walls have also contributed to be bothered by the noise.

The electrical and optical equipment were pretty primitive: many confusing buttons, many with no function, lousy electric light.
In the shower cabine you had to leave the soap on the floor, a support therefor did not exist.

But we want to emphasize the friendly manner in which we were treated by the hotel staff, from reception to the maids and the waiters.

Only the commercial manager was the one who has given us to our complaint about the noise of the young people the answer that he has to fill his rooms (and how, we believe that there were several young people in the respective rooms).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freywald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Big hotel on the outskirts of Noto, but still walking distance to the historical town center. Huge rooms, with A/C, balcony and TV, quite basic but all we needed is a good sleep. Free carpark outside which suited us great. OK breakfast, fresh and something to choose from, nice juices.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

This is a spacious, modern and somewhat soulless hotel. It serves its purpose in that the rooms are clean, spacious and quite well appointed if rather devoid of character.
Breakfast was adequate, but we have seen far better in 4* hotels, and certainly had better service. Friendly and helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sporadiccommentator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noto hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#9 of 33 in Noto
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porta Reale
Hotel Porta Reale
#1 of 33 in Noto
385 reviews
5.9 mi away
Masseria degli Ulivi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Corte del Sole
7.3 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
1.3 mi away
Relais Villa Favorita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Property: Grand Hotel Sofia
Address: Via Confalonieri s/n, 96017, Noto, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Noto
#6 Family Hotel in Noto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Noto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and well designed Grand Hotel Sofia, at the entrance of Noto, is set amidst green, wonderful gardens, among the baroque symphony of Noto's world heritage town and the particular light blue sea with its golden beaches, which go far along the Oasis of Vendicari, Marina di Noto, Eloro, Marzamemi. Ortigia and the Greek theater of Siracusa are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sofia Noto, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing