We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for southeast Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Masseria degli Ulivi
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Noto
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for southeast Sicily”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have been staying in Masseria degli Ullivi for 8 nights and liked it very much. The hotel is stylish and service is good and personal. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Every night we enjoyed dinner in the popular restaurant of the hotel with delicious pastas, fish- and meat dishes. We very much liked the atmosphere and the amiable service of il maestro Franco and both Vincenzo's. The surroundings of the hotel are amazing - beautiful nature with olive-, orange- and lemon groves nearby. The baroque town of Noto is 9 km from the hotel. Syracusa is a 30-minute drive and it will take less than an hour to Ragusa (via the beautiful but lesser-known town of Palazzolo Acreide). And we loved the climb down to the Cava Grande del Cassibile where we took a swim in its very clean and cool water!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junio1, Proprietario at Masseria degli Ulivi, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you so much Mrs Oswald,
really thank you!!!
We hope you'll be able to stay with us once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    139
    27
    4
    7
See reviews for
103
195
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked the Masseria because of its facilities advertised on its website and on booking.com, namely a swimming pool and tennis court. When we arrived we noticed that the swimming pool was empty and the tennis court unfinished (asphalt not proper flooring, no net, lines, fencing etc..). Had I known this, I would not have booked because being quite a drive out of Noto with young children, you need some facilities to keep everyone entertained.

I expressed my dissatisfaction, the receptionist said 'I don't know what to do its only my 2nd day of work'. So I asked for the manager, I was told they would be back later in the day and they would come and speak to me. No one came to speak to me.

I also booked a quadruple room (and two other rooms for other family members), which booking.com showed to be a split level room with enough space for my children, husband and I (screenshot will be uploaded) but I was given a double room with 2 extra beds squeezed in (with no TV). Thankfully they moved us into the appropriate room.

On the second day the receptionist came to speak to me - naturally I thought she was going to apologise for the inconvenience they caused by not delivering what they advertised but what wanted was for us to move into a smaller room again because they have a larger family coming who are 'paying more money'. What a cheek!

I asked why the manager didn't bother to speak to me and the receptionist told me that although the manager saw me walking in on the afternoon of the first day, they didn't approach me because 'we don't bother guests'. Interesting reasoning. But never did the manager speak to me or did we get an apology.

The approach to the masseria is very pretty and the grounds are nice. Rooms are basic (very basic, my hair dryer was broken (split in half!); dinner was good but breakfast was mediocre. There was also a smell of burning refuse throughout our stay, we could see smoke coming out of a mount near the supposed tennis court.

I know this masseria is in the habit of giving very rude and defensive answers to complaints on Tripadvisor so I shall be uploading photos of the booking.com screenshot showing the quad room to be on 2 floors; the empty pool and tennis court.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junio1, Proprietario at Masseria degli Ulivi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Good morning from Masseria degli Ulivi,


I'm wondering how many bad reviews about Masseria the lady from Malta is still going to write?!
The review above, dated April 25th is more or less a copy of the former one dated April 21st...!!
At this point is clear the lady purpose not only to write about her experience in Masseria, but damage Masseria degli Ulivi reputation.

I'm not going to say anything more this time, because I already answered to the former review.
But really this is absurd and ridiculous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked three rooms for the week before Easter and consisted of a large family with kids. We chose Masseria due to the location and amenities it offered which would be ideal for the children. Booking was made online and there were no warnings of facilities unavailable. However, upon arrival, as we walked to our rooms we could see that the pool was empty and being painted and the tennis court had not even finished being constructed! Both amenities boasted on their site and heavily promoted. We had a choice of several places to book with but chose this in particular because the kids were very keen to keep up their tennis and enjoy a swim. Now both services were unavailable we were forced to spend all our time off the grounds finding other sources of entertainment.

We had booked a double room, a single room and a quad room (the latter which would accommodate two adults and two children). The quad room was very small and consisted of one double bed and two singles on either side of it making it very difficult to even move around let alone store all the luggage. There wasn't even a TV (which was listed on the website). The room itself was not the same as shown on their website when booking (which showed an upper floor with accommodation for the children). When we pointed this out, they did not acknowledge their mistake but agreed to put us in the larger correct room which was indeed booked and paid for.

When confronted about the lack of facilities, the woman at the desk did not even apologize and instead said that her manager was the one to speak to but that she was not present. We asked her to inform us when she arrived and that we would be expecting her whenever she was available and on property. The days went by and we still did not hear from this manager. Instead, a day before we were due to leave the same receptionist approached us and had the audacity to inform us that they needed us to vacate the room and go into a smaller room because a bigger family was due to arrive!! We were shocked that they would even consider asking this, especially when their manager did not even have the decency to address our previous issue whilst we waited. When we brought this up, the woman said that the manager had in fact arrived but as she had seen us entering our rooms at the time, she did not want to disturb us!!! Upon check out we had to laugh we when saw them bringing out the table tennis table for the first time!

Needless to say, no discount was offered to us or any form of sincere apology for the inconveniences caused.

As for the restaurant, the food was rather overpriced and ordinary however the waiter who was also the bar tender and grounds keeper was very pleasant and approachable. Service was slow at times as he had to run from the restaurant to the bar to serve both but he was apologetic. The breakfast was identical each morning and was very basic.

This whole ordeal is a great shame because we had heard positive things about this place in the past but it has clearly slipped and their customer care is sorely lacking. Thankfully we had our cars and spent our time visiting the surrounding towns where we found plenty of great restaurants and other potential accommodation for future stays.

Room Tip: Make sure to question the rooms you are getting to ensure they are in fact what was advertized onlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poptalovit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Was due to stay here during honeymoon. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances had to cancel. Tried to cancel before window of having to pay 50% cost of stay, but was unable to get through on phone. When we eventually did, was shouted at over the phone before being hung up on, twice. Horrified, emailed cancellation. Outside of deadline, having had terrible service, made to pay 50%. Although I have understood this, when trying to make understood the terrible customer service, was once again treated appallingly and accused of having poorly functioning phones (although these had worked all day on other calls). Genuinely horrified at the way we have been treated by apparently the best hotel in Noto.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Missheatherbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junio1, Proprietario at Masseria degli Ulivi, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good evening from Masseria degli Ulivi,

first of all, how could someone write a review about a place that he never saw, and where he has never been??!

Anyway, the essential matter is that when someone make a reservation by a booking system, accept all the conditions reported in it. Moreover when someone wants to cancel his reservation by a booking system doesn't call the hotel in order to do that, but still by booking system cancel his reservation.

Sometimes the costumer by mail requires us to cancel his reservation and when he does it on time we kindly cancel the reservation in his behalf to help him. But as everyone can read below we couldn't even do that!

The review author was supposed to arrive to Masseria on April 23rd.
Just below we report the date and time when we received his mail in order to cancel his reservation:
"Da: "Ben ..............."
A: "info" info@masseriadegliulivi.com
Cc:
Data: Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:44:44 +0100
Oggetto: Re: Prenotazione: 34DAD94-1712022014"

Hereunder we report the reservation cancellation policy:
"It is possible to cancel the booking without a penalty within the hours 13:00 18/04/2014 (5 days before check-in). In the case of cancellation outside the limit indicated: Penalty of 50% on total amount."

So, as everyone can see, we received the mail of cancellation definitely after the deadline reported in the cancellation policy.

About the phone call we really don't know what exactly happened. We asked the receptionists and noone of them received calls for cancellations.

We feel humiliated by customer words, and we think at the same time that rules are made to be respected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights while we explored Syracusa and the south eastern part of Sicily. Lovely place - friendly staff and excellent food and wine at reasonable prices. Lovely pool and beautiful surroundings. Rooms were a fair size and well spaced out around the site. Would stay there again, either as a base for sight-seeing, or for a more chilled-out break.

Room Tip: Our room faced the inner courtyard and pool, and was a bit dark. Some of the others may have been li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel grounds are wonderful and it's a joy to simply spend time either among the trees, by the pool or in the delightful courtyard sipping great coffee or wine. The rooms were very comfortable - spacious, well furnished, clean, with a decently sized bathroom - and a nice table with chairs immediately outside the room. It's a fair distance from Noto - 10 kms of winding country road - but worth it as the grounds are so gorgeous (don't attempt going without a car though). Breakfast was very good, though always the same (savoury options: plain salami, cooked ham, sliced cheese, ricotta, boiled eggs plus extremely yummy olive and sundried tomato pastes). Lunch and/or dinner can be had in the hotel restaurant - the quality of the food and wine were very good - even my Italian partner agreed :-)

The hotel prices (rooms as well as food and drinks) are also very reasonable, although they may be higher during peak season - we were there in late Sept/early Oct. Anyway, I would recommend this hotel to anyone; we had our two young kids with us and our oldest son (aged 3) loved the pool and the big lawns. The clientele was mixed; several young families, but the majority mature adults.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC-and-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was the second visit. For some reason I overlooked writing a review for the first one, but the fact that I was back there for 5 nights about a year after the first visit must tell you something about the place! It is a delightful rural backwater, set among olive, walnut and other trees. The pool is excellent and the grounds are immaculate. The rooms are reasonably well-furnished but could be improved by the provision of armchairs to sit in - you have the option of upright chairs or lying on the bed.

If I have one real complaint, it is that the wifi is available only in the main building (reception and bar) and the courtyard immediately outside. It would make a HUGE difference to have wifi available in the rooms!

There, now I have had my little moan, let's see about the strong points. Ambience - great! Grounds and pool - immaculate. The people (housekeeping, restaurant, reception, etc) - unfailingly charming. The restaurant- excellent food and service. Peacefulness is in abumdance.

All in all, this is a little gem of a place to stay - hence I went back for a second dose.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croquetmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noto
11.3 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
8.6 mi away
Hotel La Corte del Sole
6.8 mi away
Relais Villa Favorita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Porta Reale
Hotel Porta Reale
#1 of 33 in Noto
386 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tenuta Olive Alive
Tenuta Olive Alive
#6 of 33 in Noto
80 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria degli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria degli Ulivi

Property: Masseria degli Ulivi
Address: Contrada Porcari s.n.c. (Villa Vela), 96017, Noto, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Noto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Noto
#8 Family Hotel in Noto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria degli Ulivi 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masseria degli Ulivi is nestled in the Iblea countryside where olive trees, carob trees and Mediterranean scents abound. The Masseria is part of the old farm holding, full of character and atmosphere: The Reception area - Restaurant - Bar - Sitting area with reading and conversation rooms. Wherever you turn you will find quiet corners and delightful sights like the small rock and herb garden or the courtyard with table service amongst the jasmine and climbing roses. The rooms are positioned individually on the land, guaranteeing peace and privacy and together with the main building of the Masseria, evoke in the visitor the sensation of being in a small rural village. Most rooms are double and can be Standard or Superior according to size, comfort and outside space for private use. There are also triple and family rooms on two floors. In our comfortable candlelit dining-room, under a traditional roof made of plaster and cane, our guests can enjoy a discreet and friendly service, always attentive to individual requirements and special requests. In summer you can have breakfast outside on the terrace surrounded by the scents and colours of the countryside and in the evening you can dine in the cool of the olive trees immersed in the profound peace of the Iblea nights. Guests can relax and enjoy the large swimming pool and sports area surrounded by olive and carob trees with a sundeck and sun beds as well as a sports area with a tennis court and boules alley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Masseria degli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Degli Ulivi Noto, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing