We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice beach but the road to this place is killing you”

Spiaggia Calamosche
Book In Advance
More Info
US$396.21*
and up
Exclusive Naturalistic Tour of Vendicari and Visit of Noto
Ranked #5 of 58 things to do in Noto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Iasi, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very nice beach but the road to this place is killing you”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very nice beach but the road to this place is killing you...First you have to get off the pavement and go about 3 km on a dusty stone road until you reach a parking lot where you pay 3 euros per day car parking. From here go back down the same road about 400 meters, after entering the gate and from there go about 1.5 km down the dust and sand until you reach some stone steps. Down the 45 steps and finally you get to the beach. The beach is beautiful, sandy beach, clear water with fish especially among the cliffs edge. Way back then ...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gabivaduva74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    405
    177
    66
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful beach but a LONG walk, especially with young children”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After a mid-morning spent discovering Noto my family wanted to spend some time at a nearby beach. We looked up on our phone the best beach close by and Cala Mosche kept coming up. So without any real research we decided to go to the beach. We parked, got out all our gear and started walking. HOWEVER we did not realize the beach was SO far from the parking area. I have an 18 month old and a 3 year old and packing for them is generally not light. No one informed us of the trek we had to take in order to get there and by the end we were so tired that we really couldn't completely enjoy the immense beauty of the beach. If we had been properly prepared I would have packed very light and enjoyed the journey and destination more. The beach is truly the most incredible beach I have ever been too, but I would not recommend it to anyone with small children.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pretty, photogenic, possibly very busy - and tricky with toddlers”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really went to visit the nature reserve but found our way to the beach on a very hot afternoon when the lack of shade in places became a problem with two young children. You just need to know that the apparent lack of people around as you trek down there, may be misleading - as others have said, it can get very crowded. It is also very hard work with a buggy or a small child who may or may not be willing to do all the walking! [A sling or harness is much better for babies and toddlers, as we found out the hard way!] The tranquility of the Vendicari Reserve, with chances to catch sight of wildlife and wild flowers are worth the effort. Sometimes the maps and signs are very hard to interpret so you can easily end up somewhere else, however good your navigation skills usually are....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Swimming on 25th October. Incredible!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We discovered Cala Mosche (Vendicari natural reserve) after driving for 3km off road and walking for more then 1km in the zone A of the reserve. It was so quiet around! Maybe because of the season.
We thought we were the only ones there but .... surprise! There were other tourists on the small and charming beach, enjoying sea and mild sun of October.
The sea is clear and swimming was a delight.
If you want to spend a whole day, you have to be prepared with water and food.

There is a reason the place is called Cala Mosche (Flies) : walking to and from the beach there were so many flies that we couldn't even talk to much ... to avoid swallowing them :-)
In the reserve there are also other walking paths and attractions. It's worth the effort reaching the place!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MSP_V_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Untouched, natural beach”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Although the road to drive to the parking lot (located about a 2-kilometer walk from the beach) is a bit of a bumpy ride, it's worth it. The beach, and the walk to it, is completely natural and enjoyable. We found this to be a lovely place to relax at the end of a tiring day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonNJIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spiaggia Calamosche also viewed

Noto, Province of Syracuse
 
Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Spiaggia Calamosche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing