We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for the facilities offered”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Borgo Giallonardo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borgo Giallonardo
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Realmonte
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the facilities offered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were told the apartments for reserved for week-long bookings, so we reserved two rooms. On arrival, the apartments seemed to be all vacant apart from one, but we were still given two basic rooms at the side of the property. Unlike the apartments, no terrace or chairs outside. No single bed options so our teens had to share a bed.
We arrived early and tried to call them to advise them of our arrival time but no answer on either telephone number given, so we had to wait for someone to arrive to open the entrance gates.

The air-con did not work and it was a shame there was no swimming pool or ice/drinks available.

The breakfast provided was a small plastic-wrapped croissant and a coffee machine with capsules-no milk.

The rooms were very clean though and the two staff members we met were very friendly and helpful with recommendations.

In my view, best suited to couples looking for basic self-catering apartments but not enough facilities for us at a high price of £120 a night for each double room.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8AEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent value. Being North American there are a few things we had to learn like not turning the switch off for the hot water tank. Arrive before dark because the signs are small and the road is narrow. The rooms have high ceilings and are spacious. We found them very quiet and comfortable. Location great to see the Turkish steps spectacular! The marina is another beach just sand and there are umbrellas. Both approximately 10 min by car. Must have a car to get to Borgo. Liola restaurant is close by food is okay but great owners. The Temples are in Agrigento which is only a 20 min drive.

Room Tip: They have self contained units with kitchens ect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notaholidayToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my GF. The place is in a very quite hill c15-20km from Agrigento. The location is beautiful, green everywhere the beach is only 5mins away. The B&B complex is very nice. Room was clean and comfortable. However there were a few things that could have been betters:
1) B&B rooms have not the sea view, nor seats outside, which is a big downside given that choosing one place remote like this, it is also to seat outside and relax.
2) Hot water was running out after the 1st shower. Unacceptable in 2013 at this price range
3) at night lights are off, peach black, need a torch to go through to reach the room. Fine! If only customers were warned that they need one!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank poderosauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I can`t find words good enough to describe this residence. We stayed there only 1 night, arrived very late. In the darkness surrounding area felt a bit abandoned, but when we finally found Borgo Giallonardo, it was like oasis of light in darkness. Maria welcomed us and was very, very hospitable. Afterwards we stayed alone in this beautiful house. In the morning when we opened shutters, we were very excited of what we saw. Stunning view, absolute quiet and sunny day. What more could we expect.. Paradise.
We had apartment named Frutto and it had everything we needed, even heating. One small thing we didn`t like - the apartment was too fragrant. I don`t know wether it was strong air freshener or fabric softener, but as we undrestood from our trip around Sicily, sicilians love perfume.
Anyway - if you want to feel real Sicily, quiet and unspoiled nature, this is the place!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ieva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Realmonte
3.8 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel
Villa Romana Hotel
#1 of 3 in Porto Empedocle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
7.0 mi away
Blu Hotel Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos
#6 of 25 in Agrigento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
7.3 mi away
Relais Briuccia
Relais Briuccia
#1 of 1 in Montallegro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
16.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Giallonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Giallonardo

Property: Borgo Giallonardo
Address: C/da Giallonardo, Realmonte, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Realmonte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Realmonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Giallonardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Giallonardo Realmonte, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing