We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful relaxed homely feeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Scavuzzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Realmonte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Scavuzzo
Ranked #3 of 24 Realmonte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxed homely feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This little slice of paradise was made so much more wonderful by Francesco and Antonella, a welcoming, fun loving, relaxed couple who struck the perfect balance of support, helpfulness, graciousness and privacy.

Each night we arrived back Francesco would offer us some of his limoncello before going, to bed. Their garden, rare in accommodation around Sicily, was just wonderful with it's fruit trees, flowers, herbs and touches of whimsy.

The stunning white rock Scala dei Turchi , a short walk away was worth the visit. Agrigento is within reasonable distance, so you get to see both the rock and the ruins if you stay here.

There is a wonderful restaurant across the road from this B & B, which is at the top of the cliff and overlooks the ocean and Scala dei Turchi, where the Turkish pirates would hide. Parking was included and breakfast, so at 50 E a night you could not ask for better.

Francesco and Antonella even allowed us to do washing and use their own line, on top of their roof ( because we had so much after travelling for a few weeks).

Francesco, who speaks great English, obviously loves this work and people. He clearly gets great joy out of being with people and helping them to have the best time. He was an absolute delight and he provided a relaxing , clean and comfortable environment which had a lovely homely feeling about it, a real gift when you are away for a while. I felt sooo rested after a few days here.

It also has more history as Port Empedocle, about a ten minute drive away, was famous for both Inspector Montalbarno, an Italian crime series, written by Camilleri, who based the town on Porto Empedocle ( his home town) and a Nobel laureate, Luigi Pirandello.

If you are looking for beach, ancient ruins, famous connections, history and wonderful hosts, all for avert cheap price, do not miss this place. Ciao Francesco and Antonella and thanks again for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyAussieCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
71
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We came to see the Scala del Turchi, spent a day around the temples of Agrigento and had a nice dinner at Leon D`oro. We spent one night in the room which was clean and perfectly fitted our standards. The host - Francesco, his wife and their little daughter - were very helpful, lovely and even arranged another B&B for our next stop.

Thanks a lot guys.

We would definitely come again.

Christian & Leonie

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We could not have been happier and more at home at the B&B Scavuzzo. Ciccio & Antonella treated us like family. We stayed for 3 nights and Antonella cooked a wonderful dinner for 2 of them. My family many years ago were from Porto Empedocle and I was looking forward to making a connection to my roots. I felt so welcome, it was indeed like going home again. I received so much assistance in researching my family history and I was touched at the kindness of both. I was honored to meet them and I look forward to returning soon to see my friends and to once again reconnect with my heritage. The accommodations are wonderful and the location is great. If you are in the area, this the indeed the best place you could ever stay at.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We dropped in by chance, following a "B&B" sign on the dead end of the road. We were seeking shelter for us (2 guys) and a ton of film equipment inside our van, because the ferry to Lampedusa had been cancelled again for the night, same as for the 12 nights before. We met Francesco at his garden entrance, which was the greatest luck we had had during the last two weeks.
We decided to stay overnight in their clean and friendly B&B and subsequently were offered any help we could whish for. The next night the ferry service was resumed and Francesco spent several cold hours with us in Porto Empedocle to get us on the first boat to Lampedusa, although the ferry agency had already denied to take us due to limited space. Before midnight Francesco made it possible by clever intervention that we could board the ship with our van in the very last minute.
We wish to THANK YOU for this exceptional commitment, Francesco! You saved at least a day of shooting for us. And we want to thank to Antonella for the five star lunch she prepared for us! We had no less than five delicious home cooked appetizers, pasta and gamberetti and dessert and coffee and everything just for lunch. They had watched us repacking our gear for
two hours and decided to ask if we wanted to eat at their place. The best thing was, how Francesco and Antonella enjoyed us enjoying their food.
The price was very good value for money and Francesco refused to take any extra money for his outstanding commitment (which in contrary made us leave instead of spending a second night at his place).

We definitely recommend to anybody to spend some nights at B&B Scavuzzo.

Apart of our story I enjoyed to stay with a famliy that cared for each other, I liked the lemon tree in the garden and the scala dei turchi which we were not aware of when we dropped into the place.
there is just enough space inside the friendly room, a clean bathroom, they provide free wifi and we were allowed to park our car inside the entrance door which saved us from unloading /reloading the gear inside our truck.

Axel

Room Tip: They got two rooms, as we came during dead season I suppose we got the bigger one. It has one double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a fantastic stay in a beautiful, secluded part of Sicily. The family made us feel completely at home on warm nights under the lemon trees in the garden, after we watched the sun set over the sea from the pure white cliffs. It's a fairly secluded spot, but Francesco was really helpful in getting us back to a bus station. We were sad to leave! Grazie per tutti.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriel_amelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is the perfect B & B from which to enjoy scala dei turchi, which is among one of the best beaches in the whole of Sicilia. The Family are marvelous! They are very welcoming and the accomodation is lovely. I strongly recommend this place for a 1, 2 or 3 day stop on the adventurous trail around the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieFaraz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesco i, Proprietario at B&B Scavuzzo, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
thank you very much. we are not the best, you could find better in others b&b. we are proud to do everything we do. everyone inside our gate became a part of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The B&B is a less than 5 minute walk from the magnificent Scala dei Turchi. The owners are exceptionally kind. They invited us to join them and their friends for pizza on their terrace for supper - because "if you stay with them, you are part of the family"! When we left the next morning (after a delicious breakfast), we went to the Valley of the Temples, and were given ice cold water and juice to take with us (it was very hot!) Our room was fairly large and had everything we needed. We highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Realmonte
0.9 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel
Villa Romana Hotel
#1 of 3 in Porto Empedocle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Borgo Giallonardo
Borgo Giallonardo
#2 of 3 in Realmonte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scala dei Turchi Resort
Scala dei Turchi Resort
#1 of 3 in Realmonte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Villa del Saraceno
B&B Villa del Saraceno
#1 of 24 in Realmonte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Un Tuffo alla Scala dei turchi
0.3 mi away
B&B Mammaliturchi
B&B Mammaliturchi
#4 of 24 in Realmonte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Scavuzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Scavuzzo

Property: B&B Scavuzzo
Address: Via Contrada Scavuzzo 189 | Punta Grande, 92010 Realmonte, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Realmonte
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Realmonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer tranquility and relaxation in exquisitely decorated rooms. We are 200 meters away from the access to the beach of Scala dei Turchhi, 5 km to Porto Empedocle (Vigata) with ferry to Lampedusa and Pirandello's House, 15 km away is the famous Valle dei Templi, 25 km to Torre Salsa'a natural reserve and Eraclea Minoa's Greek ruins and the mud volcanoes of the Maccalube. A strategic point for a holiday of sun, sea and culture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B Scavuzzo Realmonte, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing