We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality of a legend in a clean, well-kept and peaceful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Scala dei Turchi
Ranked #10 of 27 Realmonte B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I am a frequent traveler. But never have I experienced a hospitality so genuine and so heartfelt.

At first, after touring the touristy and upbeat Taormina, I arrived in Realmonte with a bit of a shock and disappointment because it looks so commonplace a town in every sense of the word--the initial reaction prompting me to tell the hostess I would only stay two instead of three nights.

Arriving in the panic of "What am I doing here in this town?!", I kept firing strings of endless practical questions from where to board the bus to the Valleys of Temples and where the Scala dei Turchi is and if I could cook, so on and so forth, Angela who doesn't speak English--but who made you feel she will help solve any of your problems as best as she can--and her son and daughter who speak English REMARKABLY managed to calm me down.

She then invited me for dinner with her family at her place--most likely because she must have felt that I felt quite discomforted. At dinner, Angela and her teenage children made me feel so much at home. I can't explain the genuineness of their hospitality in words.

Before dinner, her son even drove me and showed me where the Scale dei Turchi was--which to be honest is quite far if you don't have a car: around 30-40 min walk I think. But the distance didn't overcome my curiosity of this magnificent natural structure. I went there on foot and was so amazed by the Scale dei Turchi I stayed sunbathed for 6-6 hours. One of my most wonderful experiences! Don't be fool to think Scale dei Turchi doesn't have a sandy beach. It does but you have to walk far enough to the other side from the side you enter the structure--but it is not an easy walk if you are not in good shape. I was the one of the four people out of a few dozens who "crossed" to the other side and explored the sandy beach.

Mentioned to Angela on checking in I wanted to cook, she put me up in this room on the top floor which is different from the other rooms which are much fancier in furnishing and decoration. The room I had gives a feeling of an unpretentious apartment of a simple person. It gives a panoramic view of the whole of this little town (see picture attached). I had a great great time buying fresh catches at the town's market square just three-to-five minute walk from the BB. Afterwards, if you want an ice-cream and a free wi-fi unlimited session, you can go to a cafe a few doors away. Again, it is a really local unpretentious cafe, but the guy who runs it is very very friendly. Realmonte is a small local town which surprises you and make you so happy to the core. That is what I experienced.

On my last day, on the way back to the bus stop, with their genuine hospitality of both Angela and the town's people, I saw Realmonte in a different way. I appreciate its scruffy looks, its truly local flavour, the unpretentious and non-touristy life is breathing. For four days and three nights, Realmonte has changed my breathing pace. I became a happier man. Thanks to Angela and her family.

Room Tip: If you want to cook, ask for the less lavish room on the top floor. But if you prefer a proper hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrusselsWaffle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights during our visit to nearby Agrigento.  We felt warmly welcomed by the innkeeper, Angela.  She took excellent care of us; we felt as though we were staying at a friend's house.  We found the room to be clean, simple, and comfortable with a lovely balcony overlooking the narrow streets of this vibrant, yet quiet town.  On our first night, we wanted to avoid more driving so Angela recommended a pizzeria on the nearby piazza and we loved it.  Though we met few people in town who spoke English, we were treated with warmth and hospitality everywhere we went.  To summarize: a clean, simple, and comfortable room of good value; a lovely and non-touristy town; and warm, friendly, and outgoing townspeople.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tandb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

We stayed at the Scala dei Turchi last Christmas and had a great time. Simone and Angela are really great people who run the B&B. Simone's English is very good and helped with directions and advice. He's also an excellent guitar player. The room was spacious, clean, and well-maintained. The bed was comfortable, there was cable tv, and a very nice tiled bathroom. There was a heater/ac unit in the room that was newer and worked well. The room had a balcony that looked over the narrow streets of the quiet town too. A good light breakfast is served with coffee, juice, and pastries. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank adiantum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Guido L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luigi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank virg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Biagio Vincenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Realmonte hotels
1.8 mi away
Borgo Giallonardo
Borgo Giallonardo
#2 of 3 in Realmonte
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scala dei Turchi Resort
Scala dei Turchi Resort
#1 of 3 in Realmonte
297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Un Tuffo alla Scala dei turchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Figli dei Fiori
B&B Figli dei Fiori
#12 of 27 in Realmonte
36 reviews
0 mi away
B&B Marnabianca
B&B Marnabianca
#19 of 27 in Realmonte
43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home Scala dei Turchi B&B
Home Scala dei Turchi B&B
#7 of 27 in Realmonte
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Scala dei Turchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Scala dei Turchi

Address: Via Grande 171, 92010, Realmonte, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Realmonte
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Realmonte
Price Range: £42 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast is found in the historical center of Realmonte. Realmonte is a small and calm country on the sea in province in Agrigento with around 5000 inhabitants. It is found to 15 Kms from Agrigento and from the Valley of the Temples that they are attainable easily is in car (15 minutes) or in bus (20 minutes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Scala dei Turchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Scala Dei Turchi Realmonte, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing