We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Figli dei Fiori(Realmonte)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
B&B Scavuzzo(Realmonte)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
B&B La Scala(Realmonte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baia dei turchi(Realmonte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquadimare(Realmonte)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
96
31
2
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
31
2
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsbeautiful hotelthe location is perfectrooms are largesicilian countrysidecommon areasexcellent foodwonderful placehigh ceilingslocal areathe hotel managerfarmluxurypropertysettingamenitiesvalley
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Upon arrival we were placed in room which was excessively warm. To make matters worse, this room’s air conditioning was not even working and when we addressed this with the hotel and they went to the room and confirmed this. However, we were told that nothing further could be done and the only suggestion was to leave the window open and one of the doors to the hallway open. On Masseria Agnello’s website the rooms are described as “comfortable apartments furnished with care and taste that harmonize well with the rest of the structure” and “offers the guest the pleasure of memory and the most modern comforts.” The room was NEITHER comfortable nor having modern comforts The next morning we addressed this matter with the hotel and they advised us that they had not been able to contact an AC vendor to come and service and fix the air conditioning and the likelihood of having the issue addressed was extremely poor so we had no choice but to make new travel arrangements (at additional cost to us) and would be departing early. We specifically discussed this with you in advance that morning and you understood and agreed that in view of the hotel there would be no issue with our early departure.

Also we wanted to spend the day relaxing by the pool and enjoying the property. What we found was appalling, the property was overrun with non-guests and the pool area being used as a gathering place by non-guests including eating and the pool’s chairs and towels all being used. As we learned, this was a holiday party being hosted by Masseria Agnello’s owner for his friends and relatives allowing them to use all of the property’s facilities and amenities at the expense of the hotel’s guests. More egregiously, because of the crowding, noise and disruption we could not enjoy a pleasant dinner in the dining room. Again, the hotel website promised “the best services to make guests' stay comfortable and relaxing” including the restaurant, pool and private parking. That day was NEITHER comfortable nor relaxing and the noise outside our room went on beyond midnight. We deeply resented that arrogance of the owner to use the property for his own purposes and treating the guests as second-class citizens. We were the guests of the hotel and were entitled to the full use and enjoyment of the property and most definitely should not have been deprived the use of the property because of the owner’s private party. In fact, we were not even advised by anyone to expect any disruption so this was both a shocking and very unpleasant surprise to us. This was most unacceptable and indicates an arrogant attitude by the owner that is disrespectful to the guests and reflects negatively upon the reputation of Masseria Agnello.

Upon checking out we were told by the hotel that we were subject to an early departure penalty but that Masseria Agnello would waive the penalty. The terms and conditions and confirmation does not mention any early departure penalty. In fact, there is no mention of any penalty will be applied for changes or early departures, only for cancellations prior to check-in date.

We did not cancel the booking and we arrived and checked in as per our reservation. Further, even if you did have an early departure policy (which we dispute) the reason for our departure was strictly due to Masseria Agnello’s failure to provide what we were paying for and was solely due to the fault of Masseria Agnello and for not delivering the proper accommodations.

Again, according to their website, we were to have “the best services to make guests' stay comfortable and relaxing” and we did not for the reasons stated above.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jg3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

the location is perfect to explore the south east of sicily ( valley of temples a.e. ).
The masseria has a very beautiful big garden with old olive trees and nice flowers.
The crew is very helpful and friendly. i also recommend to eat in the small restaurant of the hotel. Reservation is necessary as it is small. Food is extremly good . our room was the suite and it was very large and nice equipped.

Room Tip: the suite is perfect for couples or families, a lot of space, beautiful garden, fantastic crew
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erwinmhaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

It's always a shame to me when a BEAUTIFUL property and a peaceful environment just isn't matched by service! As an expert on customer experience, I like to say that it is when an organization goes beyond the customers' EXPECTATIONS, they can create a great EXPERIENCE. Unfortunately, Masseria Agnello doesn't quite get it.

On the positive side, the location (although difficult to find with your GPS!) and the setting is awe-inspiring. Set in the hills outside of Agrigento, it has a great view of the ocean about 15km away and is accessible to so many sites and towns (Including Agrigento, The Valley of the Temples, a must-visit beach--Lido Scala Dei Torch--with it's chalk cliffs and azure waters). The rooms are large and very quaint in this old complex owned originally by the Agnello family. The food was also excellent for the two meals and the two breakfasts we enjoyed there.

Regarding service, here are my suggestions for Masseria Agnello staff (and it will give you an idea of what I meant about ignoring the 'experience')...
1) There are only 10 rooms! When a guest arrives (and has NO clue where they are to enter and register), try to have someone outside the greet them and walk them through the check in process
2) Have somebody get their bags instead of asking them to get their own and bring them to the lobby ("...and somebody will get them to your room" even when there were already 5-7 other bags of other guests already sitting in the lobby). Someone should also escort the guests to their room to explain amenities etc.
3) Stand and introduce yourself when guests arrive. We were there 3 days and we still do not know the names of ANY of the staff except Andrea who does a good job in the restaurant
4) Make sure your kitchen staff aren't laughing, yelling and taunting each other in the kitchen as they are stacking dishes and cleaning up at 11:45 at night. We were kept awake on night one because our room was adjacent to the kitchen
5) When you are planning a dinner for 53 people who are not guests at the hotel, don't make the guests feel like 2nd class citizens. On night two, we sat for dinner and were told, "Please order quickly because the kitchen is overwhelmed with the banquet for a special occasion" . So, we thought we were looking at the potential of fast food for dinner (not the food but the actual serving time!) and instead, we waited for about 75 minutes to be served. Now, while on vacation, I am in no hurry but the staff was running around serving their visiting dinner guests (including overflow tables in the dining room which were served while were waiting for our dinners). All of the overnight guests commented on how "frantic" the staff seemed trying to do everything at once. M.A.'s prices for dinner are not inexpensive. The food was well worth it but again, a certain experience is expected. (Let me add here that the chef and Andrea were very accommodating to my wife's special dietary needs). Just tell your overnight guests in advance so we could choose to go to an outside restaurant or not.
5) Put a large bowl of fruit and maybe some lemon/cucumber water out in the common area for guests to help themselves during the day. Very little cost but makes people feel at home
6) Don't make the guests walk from the pool up to the front dest to ask if they can order a drink at the pool. (You can by the way but only if you ask!) ALSO, the pool shown in the picture is NOT the pool they have now. That one is out of service BUT the new pool is much nicer!

Sorry if I sound so negative but I would really hope this property survives. If you charge the type of rates they do, then they have to over-deliver!

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank jt15146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

The location is stunning and extremely convenient as a jump-off point for major sites including Agrigento and the valley of temples. The setting is in classic Sicilian countryside amongst vineyards and olive groves with a view down the valley to the sea. Staff were friendly and informal and the rooms varied as you would expect from converted farm buildings, ours quirky and well prepared and decorated with local art. Food was largely good Sicilian fare, so all in all a great couple of days, just wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Speak to them well beforehand and ask their advice.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank U1569VXjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

If you want to stay a bit outside Agrigento or on your way next morning to the west this is an excellent refurbished countryhouse; 2 lawyers from Agrigent invested nicely their equity and subsidies from Brussels, the result is well invested! You can relax a bit at pool (even in early Nov "warm" enough) area or make trips from here to Agrigent or the west

Room Tip: We had a small suite for affordable money
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews