We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dingy rooms in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citta del Mare Hotel Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Terrasini
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“dingy rooms in a great location”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel could be great but.... its not! Located right on the coast with spectacular views and access to the sea it really disappoints. If you are looking for a nice place to stay go elsewhere - if on the other hand you are a teenager and prepared to slum it for a while I am sure it is a great place to hang out. The rooms are poorly finished; there is huge distances between various parts of the hotel; the corridors are dingy; the food at breakfast is dismal; and the pools are filthy. There is a great slide into the sea - but its hardly worth having to stay here when there is so much beauty and value elsewhere in Sicily.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonparis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    344
    297
    179
    191
See reviews for
565
260
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was pretty cool. I didn't realize it was here on the island, but I had seen it in magazines and online before. It was awesome to slide into the ocean from the top pool.
The rooms are small and plain, but it was ok, because we didn't spend much time in them. There are three pools total (including the ones that lead to the ocean).
The food was ok, typical Sicilian style buffet, a pizzeria, and a seafood place.

Room Tip: You're not staying at this place because the rooms are great. You're going to be outside for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerezFamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a night at this hotel solely for the water slides. They were....okay. A bit tame, and the slide into the sea was shut. Apart from that...just okay. The Olympic size pool was good, clean, and enough deck chairs around the pool for the scant few guests that were there.


They are the only positive things I have to say about this hotel. The reception staff were rude, and took 20 minutes to check us into the hotel (as they kept stopping to serve other people, and in one case, just wandering off). The room was clean, but dated- a reoccurring theme in the peach heavy interior of the hotel. The air con emitted only noise, leaving us both exhausted after a restless sleep in a stuffy room.

At dinner time, as the hotel was in the middle of nowhere we tried to eat in the on site restaurant. We were told no. We then had to go back to reception, and spend a other 20 minutes negotiating how we could spend money in the hotel. 40 euros lighter, we headed down to the fluorescent lit, windowless dining hall, or feeding pit as we affectionately called it. Offering an all you can eat buffet of greasy, dry (I didn't think food could be both- but they managed it!!) and tasteless fodder we unhappily filled up on bread rolls. Breakfast, was no better. Even the coffee (from a machine) was intolerable. And I've drank coffee from a Little Chef. Trust me, it was disgusting.


The senseless rules did not stop at the restaurant. If you find yourself without cash, you can only buy a hotel card to preload cash on from the snail like reception. This isn't Disneyland. Wifi is only free in the reception, and costs 2 euro to receive in your rooms. Get a grip people.

Finally, as we breathed a sign of relief as we packed to check out, we were rushed by the maid service three times, even though we checked out an hour early.

Overall, this hotel is marred by its unhelpful staff, ridiculous rules, and complete lack of customer service. The food is inedible, and I would never, ever recommend that anyone visits this place ever.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
30 Thank bexy_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Terrasini hotels

Valasske Mezirici, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We come here to celebrate new year. It was one of the most dissapointing trip I have ever made.
Lets start with good things:
+ in a season it could be very good for a family holidays with kids
+ add one point if you are italian or russian so you can at least ask for something
+ car rental inside hotel
And now lets move to bad stuff:
- looks like no one is speaking english , not even in reception!!!
- you CANT pay by credit card inside the complex, you need cash and closest bancomat is 8 km away
- there were no taxi or shuttle conection to the closest town
- bus goes 2 times a day ( 6:30 in the morning and 15:00 afternoon )
- you are totaly cut off if you dont have cash you are f**ed
- rooms are poorly equipped , with small TV with only italian programs (one russian)
- public toilets ( in hall , near restourant ) doesnt have working lock so it happens twice that someone open when I take a poo !!!!
- water in shower taste like sea water ,and towels smells like a vinegar (not kidding)
- breakfast were ok but poor and dinners were poor 5 kinds of makaroni every day
- there wasnt chance do have some coke or anything else than water and vine to a dinner
- wifi connection doesnt work in rooms
- wifi in reception were soooo slow we try to download movie for a evening and it was like ( 30KB / Second ) almost like stone age and there was only like 5 people in the hall, I cant imagine how it looks like in a season

Sooo I understand there was NO TOURIST SEASON! But with this behavior and conditions I will never come back .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank stanislavholis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Need a break in your life. relax your minds, Nice resort, 4 pools,good buffet dinner ..what else..
the reception staff are very polite and all speak english. Wifi in the lobby, The rooms are all facing the view... AMAZING....!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: nothing to complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for one night before getting a morning flight. The location and views are fantastic especially sunset from most of the terraces. We had a wonderful big terrace looking out over the sea to the west. I don't think the hotel was full and wondered if it would have felt crowded had it been full as although there are 2 pools and access to the sea it didn't seem like enough for the number of rooms.
Also comments on the length of time it can take to check in are not exaggerated, it took us nearly an hour to check in and there were only a few people in the queue in front of us. Service is slow and they take details from everyone's passports not just the lead guest so you all need to queue at check in. Breakfast was adequate but not brilliant, in fact we were quite disappointed. We didn't try the evening buffet so can't comment but if it was anything like the breakfast it won't have been good.
We were also very disappointed to find that the water slides into the sea were closed on Mondays, that had been the main reason for choosing this hotel and we were only there for one night so missed out.
All in all we would suggest that this hotel would be fun for a couple of nights (but not Monday) but you do need a car unless you want to be trapped at the hotel or reliant on taxis as it is very isolated and about 15 mins drive from the nearest small town.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north are probably quieter away from the main pool, these are also nearest to the cliff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Me and other two friends of mine spent 3 days in this village and despite the nice presentation online, this village has many more downsides than upsides. First of all the reception is kind of an hell on earth: they were fully booked during our staying , which means 2000 guests (yes two thousands) and they had 2 receptionists at the hall desk (yes Two). So after our arrival we spent more than one hour waiting to check in, standing there like we were invisibile, and of course we booked everything online so it was just a matter of giving us the key of the room, a 30 seconds thing. Then our room had a very Big terrace with a very nice view, but then inside it was super old furnished with lot of problems. No wi-fi, no sockets near the bed, super thin walls (we could actually hear someone snoring in the next room). The bathroom was a joke, shower was broken causing costant flooding of the floor and the loo was clogged. Note: if you want a second pillow for any reason, just forget it, they dont have spare ones.
Breakfast was simply apocalyptic. 2000 people stuffed in a massive room with 3 small buffet tables: on the tables some cheese, some ham and some yogurt. Then, spreaded around the room, there were 3 coffee machines and 3 machines for Orange juce (worst OJ ever). Again, with 2000 guests, i will let you guess the queues and the chaos. But the cherry on the cake were the brioches:  bread with some sugar on top, no joke. They have 2 big pools in the village but it was so busy we never managed to find a chair to sit down over three days. Then they have 3 smaller pools with whirlpool and again we never managed to enjoy one of them, also because they get switched off very soon in the evening. I could keep on going for long but i think i said enough already to get you an idea of the place. I just want to finish by saying not to have dinner or lunch at the restaurant inside the village. They have very slow and disorganized personnell and the waiting will just drive  you crazy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Galloware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrasini
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Perla del Golfo
4.4 mi away
Florio Park Hotel
Florio Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Terrasini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
4.8 mi away
Magaggiari Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Residence Villaggio Petruso - Balestrate
5.1 mi away
Marina Holiday Resort & Spa
85.7 mi away
Serenusa Village
Serenusa Village
#1 of 5 in Licata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citta del Mare Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citta del Mare Hotel Village

Property: Citta del Mare Hotel Village
Address: Strada Statale 113 Km 301.100, 90049 Terrasini, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Terrasini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Terrasini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citta del Mare Hotel Village 3*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its beautiful wide and green surroundings make Città del Mare the ideal place for a truly relaxing holiday but also provides fun for all the family thanks to its enthusiastic and energetic Animation equipe. It offers various accommodation opportunities in formula Hotel and Resort. It is also situated in a strategic point on western Sicily, close to the highway, allowing quick and functional connections with the territory (the natural and artistic beauty of the provinces of Palermo and Trapani ) as well as to its ports and airports with national and international connections. It features exclusive amenities: five pools , the most spectacular toboggan of Sicily with access to the sea, beach facilities nearby (with shuttle service), four restaurants, six bars, nightclub, spa, retail space, conference center with meeting rooms and amphitheater for concerts and shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Citta del Mare Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citta Del Mare Hotel Village Sicily/Terrasini, Italy
Citta Del Mare Terrasini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing