We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscany at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Badia di Campoleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Badia di Campoleone
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capolona
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tuscany at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently had a reunion with former colleagues and stayed at the Relais Badia di Campoleone. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and is like a villa in the country. There are trails around the property and it is possible to walk along the hills. The food, of course this is Italy, was excellent. Since we were a group of 40, it was great to have the hotel to ourselves.

Room Tip: Hotel is very elegant. Garden rooms - you can hear the birds singing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bug_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    40
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
103
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here in September on our honeymoon. We spent six days here and found it a to be a great location as a home base to explore the Tuscany region. It's located on the outskirts of Arezzo and soon as we turned onto the scenic tree-lined street, i knew it would live up to our expectations. With about 35 rooms, it was small enough to feel personal and still offer all the amenities such as beautiful gardens and pool area. The incredible breakfasts were superb and we enjoyed a great dinner in the dining room one night during our visit. You will definitely need a car or scooter to get around. I would recommend highly Badia di Campoleone ; it was beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a wedding here and it was simply amazing. The grounds were beautiful and so full of character and charm. Rooms were spacious and kept incredibly tidy. All the staff were incredibly welcoming. The wellness centre was a great visit too. So nice to see my friends so well looked after my everyone here and for making their day so magical. Would recommend this to anyone who wants some tuscan charm.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagles1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMCampoleone, Responsabile reception at Relais Badia di Campoleone, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Eagles1984,

On behalf of all the staff of Badia di Campoleone, we would like to thank you for your comments.
We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

It is with sadness that I have to report the significant reduction of in standards. This was a place dear to our heart, having stayed 5 times including our 4- day wedding weekend. The service has gone down dramatically with the new management and entirely new staff save for the amazing chef. They now seem to open their doors to cheap charter holiday and the quality has gone down commensurately. The rooms need renovation including the furniture around the pool which are in places a real safety hazards. Gone the luxury service. This is now a wannabe luxurious hotel but without any understanding of what it means. Gone the peace and quietness by the pool... Instead there is a cheap club med feeling with screaming unbehaved kids. And they have no clue how to treat loyal customers who spent considerable amount of money there. Heart breaking as it ruined our anniversary weekend. I guess the owner has chosen to cater for a 3 star hotel, if any...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMCampoleone, Direttore at Relais Badia di Campoleone, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Mrs Laetisz ,
we apologize for the troubles you felt . The feedback of our clients is very appreciated because it helps us to increase our standard of services and our job.
We are working very hard in order to continue to experience the wide satisfaction received this year by the couple married at Badia di Campoleone that embraced us crying and thanking us for happiness and gratitude. Furthermore the acknowledgment from the companies for the professional services received during their meetings and incentives. At last but not the least, the satisfaction of the families that were able to relax themselves from their frenetic life even if they travel with their children.
We thank you very much for your suggestion, we will take care about it in order to increase our results

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I spent a period of convalescence in this place after a minor operation; I needed peace and cleanliness. The setting is very beautiful and peaceful, with a superb park. The restaurant is excellent, even if sometimes a little slow. The personnel are very polite and friendly. The best place I could choose.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaPArezzo_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and very much enjoyed it. The hotel is located on an amazing wooded property which seems isolated but is only about 10 minute drive from the city of Arezzo (where there is plenty to see and do). The rooms are large, well appointed and seem recently renovated. Big bathroom full amenities. Very quiet. Great pool, gardens and tennis court.

Overall very comfortable rooms and well deserving of a 4 or possibly even 5 star rating.

Very good breakfast, very friendly staff. We also had dinner at the restaurant, which was very good. It is leaning towards fine dining and more expensive than some of the good restaurants in Arezzo. We enjoyed it and would recommend eating here if staying more than one night. Good service, friendly restaurant staff.

Drawbacks: we arrived a day after a big storm that knocked out the hotel's network (telecom, Internet and elevator). So after a long drive, I found myself carrying luggage up 3 floors. No assistance offered. I would have expected more. After 3 nights, system still down. No assistance offered at check out time. That's poor. I realise the storm is not the hotel's fault but greater effort to reduce the inconvenience would have been appreciated. Most likely this will not be a problem for anyone reading this.

Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were there for two nights, really beautiful grounds and building, huge well appointed room, and good sized bathroom with good toiletries even though some thorough cleaning is in order, a bit dusty and cobwebs all around the room aren't the nicest of sight!

Wifi worked only outside the room, a bit frustrating!

The place is run like a three star though, restaurant not to par for quality and clientele, kids roaming wildly at dinner really spoiled the evening, food nothing more than edible. Breakfast ok.

All in all a good address but far from Arezzo, you have about a fifteen minutes drive to get there from the center, through warehouses and manufacturing facilities, not the best of Tuscan panorama.

Once you get at the foot of the hill though (the villa is on top of a small hill which you cannot guess looking at the website) and start driving up the path sided by beautiful trees it turns into a magic sight!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilviaBadia, Responsabile reception at Relais Badia di Campoleone, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Guests's suggestions are really important for us and all our improvement's efforts are oriented to guests' satisfacion.
I'm really sorry for the wifi problem..... Our villa has wifi in all the rooms and maybe there was a temporarily signal's absence. You could have called the reception desk in order to have the problem fixed.
We hope you would come and visit us again and I'm at your complete disposal to create for you the most suitable offer.
Warmest regards,

Silvia Pescatori
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capolona
5.4 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
#9 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.9 mi away
Graziella Patio Hotel
Graziella Patio Hotel
#14 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Villa Cilnia
Villa Cilnia
#16 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.0 mi away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Badia di Campoleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Badia di Campoleone

Property: Relais Badia di Campoleone
Address: Castelluccio 38, 52010 Capolona, Arezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo > Capolona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capolona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Badia di Campoleone 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel-Relais Badia di Campoleone is a luxury hotel near Arezzo, providing charming accommodation in historic rooms. Centuries of experience handed down by the Marquises della Stufa and the Albergotti and Persichetti families is recorded in the frescoes in the halls and the imposing apses of the internal church, architectural features of the ancient Benedictine abbey from the year 1000 AD. The sixteenth-century villa that rises above the stables now houses an exquisite hotel near Arezzo with 34 rooms of various categories. The nineteenth-century mill building also contains 4 captivating rooms. The scents of thyme and lavender of the Tuscan countryside, the chorus of morning birdsong and the lively hum of the evening cicadas stimulate and restore physical and mental well being. The colors of nature penetrate into each room, while peace and serenity set the right tone for a holiday in this period residence in the heart of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Relais Badia Di Campoleone Hotel Arezzo
Badia Di Campoleone Hotel Capolona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing