We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful, delightful, luxurious and beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castel Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castel Monastero
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful, delightful, luxurious and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I really think I cannot do this review justice in relating just how wonderful I felt Castel Monastero was. The grounds and the buildings are magnificent, the service top notch, the food delicious and the amenities (spa, accommodations, etc) superb. But mostly what struck me was how delightfully peaceful the place was. We arrived after a busy week in Venice and Florence, rushing around to see the notable and impressive sights, but not particularly relaxed or well rested. Within just a few minutes of arriving at the property, we felt an unmistakable calm take over. It helps that it was a brilliantly sunny day in April and the natural setting was enchanting. But there's an incredible sense of zen about this place that's hard to describe. While located pretty much smack in the center of Tuscany, it's set apart from any of the towns and there's a delightful quiet that is underscored by the sounds of the chirping birds and the gentle footsteps along the gravel paths. We had a lovely lunch al fresco and felt ensconced in a sense of refinement and delicacy. We were so taken with the place that we spent far more time relaxing here than expected and limited the towns we visited in exchange for the privilege. As we were traveling with our young adult kids, we had a terrific 2 bedroom suite that was perfectly appointed and afforded comfort and privacy. The grounds were another pleasure to discover and I took great enjoyment in the fully bloomed lilacs on the paths. Finally, I must add that the service was outstanding, from the welcome staff to the management to every waiter and server we encountered. I honestly don't think I can come up with one negative about this place - except perhaps there could have been a little more light in the bedroom. Apart from that, Castel Monastero was sheer perfection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleWing59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear LittleWin,
it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. Thank you for your suggestion regarding more light in the bedroom, I have already given notice to our maintenance manager to increase the light. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, in the meantime we send a warm regards with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    90
    48
    15
    5
See reviews for
74
279
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

On our second visit to Tuscany and to Castel Monastero. Can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the entire staff is here. The rooms are top notch, and the breakfasts are fantastic. A great location in the Tuscan countryside from which to launch wine touring in Chianti, Monatalcino or Montepulciano. We will continue to return to this charming spot. They really make you feel like family here.

Room Tip: The "Blue" building is right on the central courtyard with beautiful views of the countrys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Genob,
it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests, always make them happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. The fact that you felt like you are at home is for us a source of pride. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, we send a warm greeting with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have visited this amazing hotel just a week ago. The location of the hotel is just amazing. You can reach all the famous cities in half an hour by car. The hotel is giving you a feeling of as if you are in a movie...The employees are very well trained, professional and very friendly. They are ready to do everything you need just to make you happy and comfortable. The second chef of the restaurant Stelios gave us a cooking course of 3 hours. I can say that Gordon Ramsey is very lucky to have such a professional. The GM of the hotel is the best GM ever. I never met a GM so much interested with guests personally. We enjoyed every minute of our stay in Castel Monastero.
If anyone can find anything to complain about this hotel or employees, he should check himself if he is completely perfect.
I think it is absolutely the best service and quality ever!
A&A
lots of love from Israel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KashaniFromIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear KashaniFromIsrael,
read a review like yours, it means that we have worked well and we have reached the highest levels of hospitality. All of us are committed 24 hours a day to make the stay of our guests at Castel Monastero, as comfortable as possible and see the smile on your face. Thanks again for the wonderful words used. We hope you become one of our regular guests. Waiting to see you again with us, we send the warmest greetings, with a bear hug.
Very truly yours

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

In my personal opinion I don't think this Monastero should be named in one go with some other excellent (real) Leading Hotels of the World. It is simply not at the same level as many other LHW I've visited. I give it a 2/5 rating because it pretends to be a LHW. Otherwise I would have given it a 3/5 rating. Especially for the 5***** price you're paying.... Sorry.

The place is not maximized to its full potential and I had these constant questions during my stay. To name a few;

Pre-dinner drinks; served in the courtyard on one of the most uninviting LHW terraces I've ever seen. Menu is a photocopied, smudged piece of paper. Messy seating. Where is the decoration? No live music. Come on. You can do better !

Pool management; broken chairs and not clean. No decent pool bar nor poolside service. Do invest in some pool chair mattresses. Pool closes too early.

Restaurant; The Gordon Ramsey Restaurant is not bad but please, we are in Italy...…I prefer to eat some good Italian food. I definitely did not like these LED lights. The Cellar Restaurant had lots of atmosphere. The menu was a bit too rustic to my liking, but that’s a personal preference. The breakfast was OK (thank you Francesca for you constant smiles) and served on the same courtyard terrace as where the GR dinner is being served. Messy seating, uncomfortable, smudged chairs again. Sorry.

Room: Our room was OK, but the air-conditioning is not really strong.

Taxi: When you want to take a taxi from the hotel it will cost you 60,- Euros one way as they have to be called in from Siena. Every single time. So to visit an other restaurant (and I don't drive when having a glass of wine) it will cost you EURO 120,-. The people at the reception will not inform you of this fact when booking a taxi. Surprise!

I'm really sorry; but worst of all was the attitude of the people at the reception; this place was not really easy to find (conflicting addresses & a messed up GPS). The lady at the reception had however the nerves to insinuate that I was probably too stupid to find it. Really? What a joke and a shocking display of total non-professionalism.

That said; all the other (local?) people whom I encountered during my stay tried their best and were very friendly. Thank you.

This place has lots of potential but it's not at a LHW level.

After 3 days we decided to cut our stay short and moved to one of the best Four Seasons Hotels we’ve ever stayed at; The Four Seasons in Florence. From rain & frustration to utter sunshine & delight.

Room Tip: Don't get one of these rooms in the attic; very dark, no view what so ever and you'll bump y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qilin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear nix999,

firstly I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for your invaluable feedback regarding your recent stay at Castel Monastero. The feedbacks we receive are very important to us and help us ensure that we continuously deliver the excellent standards which we are renowned for.
We sincerely apologise, on this occasion the hotel did not meet your expectations and that it not live up to the usual excellent standards we consistently strive to provide.

Please rest assured that I have personally investigated the matter and proper action has been taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further recurrence.

I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting our property in the future, giving us the opportunity to recover and show you, that we are indeed an hotel with a high standard of service.
Please, kindly contact me directly and I will be pleased to ensure that you will have the service you expect from our hotel.

Very truly yours,

Enzo


Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
278 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a stunning property at Monastero d'Ombrone and bears all the hallmarks of the Leading Hotels of the World group.

The complex is actually very large and some of the blocks are quite a long walk from the main "square" so if mobility is an issue you need to discuss this with the hotel in advance.

There are large meeting rooms and two restaurants in the main block. The spa complex (which is magnificent) is some walk from the main hotel blocks and the paths were quite slippery.

I stayed in Room 1 in the "Giallo" block - an enormous room for one person with a very large bathroom and sitting room. This was a junior suite and it would be extremely hard to fault othet than perhaps a little more lighting would be nice. The room is on the ground floor of a remote block which was a few minutes walk from reception. There is an external pathway adjacent to the room so it was necessary to keep the curtains closed to avoid anybody looking in.

This is clearly a property of the highest standard and for that reason i was a little disappointed with the Tuscan restaurant. Whilst accepting the principles the cooking was not so good and probably too rustic at this level of establishment. The meal served to our small group did not do the kitchen justice. Breakfast, however, was a much better affair with a splendid choice.

For couple wanting a relaxing and romantic stay this could be the place.

Room Tip: There are many different blocks of rooms some of which are some way from the main "hotel comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Mfranks91,

we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants. Be sure, that we will do better and better, in our tuscany restaurant, Cantina.

While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and invaluable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Warm regards,

Enzo

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is very beautiful, has a wonderful garden and a beautiful spa too. The service is very good, the staff is very polite and corteus. The room is excellent, big and beautifully decorated. The bathroom is very nice too. Excellent breakfast. A wonderful option in the region!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Thelma ,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Warm regards

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent 3 nights there, while touring Tuscany, in a (I think) junior suite - room B21, on the second floor (accessible only by stairs) of the Blue building.

Service: Excellent. Everyone was very helpful, polite and efficient. 5 star service.

Value: I think that we got a good deal, as, due to Leaders Club membership, we paid for a deluxe (lowest possible category) room, and were double upgraded to a junior suite. We paid €390 per night, including breakfast and internet. One might argue that the property is in the middle of nowhere, and thus it might seem overpriced, however, I would counter-argue that the location is part of the magic, and the cost to renovate a medieval monastery to a 5-star luxury hotel is worth the price.

Sleep quality: Issue with pillows. They were too soft, and there was no choice of having harder ones. 4/5

Cleanliness: Spotless room, very well kept common areas. 5/5

Location: If you want to be close to all the wonderful locations of Tuscany, like Sienna, Montepulciano, Pienza, etc., this is a great location to be based in. Every day we took a day trip to a nearby small town, and it was not more than an hour drive. Perfect. 5/5

Rooms: Our room was really, nice, with 3 separate areas: small living room, with kitchenette, bathroom, with bathtub / shower combo, and bedroom. The entrance to the room was built for very short people, and I had to be careful not to bang my head. But that was not really an issue. The room was well appointed, with a great choice of free movie channels (Sky Movies) on the two large tvs (it can get boring late at night in the middle of nowhere...). Plush bath towels and bathrobes, great decor. 5/5

Spa: there is a really nice one, and a sort of outdoorish gym, which is quite basic, but I did not visit the spa. Very expensive though, I saw the prices on their price list...

Breakfast: Basic "spread" buffet, with bread, cheeses, fruits, cereals, cold cuts, sausages, scrambled eggs, etc., and additional choice of eggs, pancakes, etc. 4/5.

ISSUE: For 2 days, their wifi system was down, which meant I had to use my phone to get my e-mails, which meant roaming charges, which meant unhappy. I would take 1/2 a star away just for this.

Overall, an excellent stay. 4,5/5, which I round up to 5/5, because it is simply so nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear AlbertR ,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Warm regards,

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
10.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
23.3 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
21.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
22.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Monastero

Property: Castel Monastero
Address: Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castel Monastero 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While painters are born, travellers are made and no land has aroused the curiosity, the enthusiasm and the culture of entire generations more than Tuscany. Certainly, not all of them have had the luck to begin their journey in the enchantment of Castel Monastero. In fact a few kilometres from our village, along roads of pure delight, can be found masterpieces of art and of the highest culinary tradition.Every day, a discovery. Every day a different itinerary passing through unspoiled scenery. Every day, on your return, a massage and a candle-lit dinner. And together, over a romantic meal for two or with your friends, you will recall the frescoes of Piero della Francesca and the perfect walls of Monteriggioni, the Renaissance utopia of Pienza and the gastronomic glory of Castellina in Chianti. And again, to surprise you, there’ll be a sunset over Pitigliano and a stroll around the Etruscan necropolises of Sovana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castel Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Monastero Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castel Monastero Italy/Province Of Siena, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing