We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toscane at its best”
Review of Castel Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castel Monastero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is comfortably situated 1 hour from Florence and 30 minutes from Sienna. It is really a small castle, all rooms are different and you can even rent a house with 3 rooms on the premises. Service is 100 % and the staff is very friendly. Everything is
possible. Food in the restaurant is excellent. This is the first time we have
stayed there but booked for another week in July.
Greetings from Henk, Ria and Danny van Esch

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Henk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Henk V,
it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, in the meantime we send a warm regards with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Castel Monastero is my new favorite place on earth! I stayed 5 nights and I can say that this is the BEST HOTEL I EVER STAYED IN MY LIFE!!

I would like to thank each of the staff for offering the best days of my trip:

Enzo: Thanks for everything! You were the first person we meet on the hotel and I can say that you run this hotel with excellence! It's everything so perfect and you made us fell like home.

Andrea: Thanks for all meals! We had the best food in Tuscany ever! Although I would like to try the hamburger (just kidding).

Marco: Anche tu Marco! Thanks for offering the best wines and for the awesome service.

Francesca! Thanks for receiving us for breakfast with a big smile. (by the way, the breakfast at Castel Monastero is a full other review). It's awesome.

Thanks, Thanks, Thanks, I will never forget the days we spent with you guys!

Best!

Ricardo and Angelica

Room Tip: Any room you pick will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Figueric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Figueric,
read a review like yours, it means that we have worked well and we have reached the highest levels of hospitality. All of us are committed 24 hours a day to make the stay of our guests at Castel Monastero, as comfortable as possible and see the smile on your face. Thanks again for the wonderful words used. We hope you become one of our regular guests. Waiting to see you again with us, we send the warmest greetings, with a bear hug.
Very truly yours

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

It's one of the most beautiful properties, middle of the vignards,the view is breathtaking and the service was impeccable!
The staff really made sure that we had a wonderful time!
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neema M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Neema M,
it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, in the meantime we send a warm regards with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I really think I cannot do this review justice in relating just how wonderful I felt Castel Monastero was. The grounds and the buildings are magnificent, the service top notch, the food delicious and the amenities (spa, accommodations, etc) superb. But mostly what struck me was how delightfully peaceful the place was. We arrived after a busy week in Venice and Florence, rushing around to see the notable and impressive sights, but not particularly relaxed or well rested. Within just a few minutes of arriving at the property, we felt an unmistakable calm take over. It helps that it was a brilliantly sunny day in April and the natural setting was enchanting. But there's an incredible sense of zen about this place that's hard to describe. While located pretty much smack in the center of Tuscany, it's set apart from any of the towns and there's a delightful quiet that is underscored by the sounds of the chirping birds and the gentle footsteps along the gravel paths. We had a lovely lunch al fresco and felt ensconced in a sense of refinement and delicacy. We were so taken with the place that we spent far more time relaxing here than expected and limited the towns we visited in exchange for the privilege. As we were traveling with our young adult kids, we had a terrific 2 bedroom suite that was perfectly appointed and afforded comfort and privacy. The grounds were another pleasure to discover and I took great enjoyment in the fully bloomed lilacs on the paths. Finally, I must add that the service was outstanding, from the welcome staff to the management to every waiter and server we encountered. I honestly don't think I can come up with one negative about this place - except perhaps there could have been a little more light in the bedroom. Apart from that, Castel Monastero was sheer perfection.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleWing59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear LittleWin,
it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. Thank you for your suggestion regarding more light in the bedroom, I have already given notice to our maintenance manager to increase the light. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, in the meantime we send a warm regards with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

On our second visit to Tuscany and to Castel Monastero. Can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the entire staff is here. The rooms are top notch, and the breakfasts are fantastic. A great location in the Tuscan countryside from which to launch wine touring in Chianti, Monatalcino or Montepulciano. We will continue to return to this charming spot. They really make you feel like family here.

Room Tip: The "Blue" building is right on the central courtyard with beautiful views of the countrys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Genob,
it is a pleasure to read your comment about Castel Monastero. We are all constantly strive to make the holiday of our guests, always make them happy and comfortable. So we did also with you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and our team. The fact that you felt like you are at home is for us a source of pride. Hoping to see you soon here, to repeat the good lived experience, we send a warm greeting with a big hug.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have visited this amazing hotel just a week ago. The location of the hotel is just amazing. You can reach all the famous cities in half an hour by car. The hotel is giving you a feeling of as if you are in a movie...The employees are very well trained, professional and very friendly. They are ready to do everything you need just to make you happy and comfortable. The second chef of the restaurant Stelios gave us a cooking course of 3 hours. I can say that Gordon Ramsey is very lucky to have such a professional. The GM of the hotel is the best GM ever. I never met a GM so much interested with guests personally. We enjoyed every minute of our stay in Castel Monastero.
If anyone can find anything to complain about this hotel or employees, he should check himself if he is completely perfect.
I think it is absolutely the best service and quality ever!
A&A
lots of love from Israel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KashaniFromIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear KashaniFromIsrael,
read a review like yours, it means that we have worked well and we have reached the highest levels of hospitality. All of us are committed 24 hours a day to make the stay of our guests at Castel Monastero, as comfortable as possible and see the smile on your face. Thanks again for the wonderful words used. We hope you become one of our regular guests. Waiting to see you again with us, we send the warmest greetings, with a bear hug.
Very truly yours

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

In my personal opinion I don't think this Monastero should be named in one go with some other excellent (real) Leading Hotels of the World. It is simply not at the same level as many other LHW I've visited. I give it a 2/5 rating because it pretends to be a LHW. Otherwise I would have given it a 3/5 rating. Especially for the 5***** price you're paying.... Sorry.

The place is not maximized to its full potential and I had these constant questions during my stay. To name a few;

Pre-dinner drinks; served in the courtyard on one of the most uninviting LHW terraces I've ever seen. Menu is a photocopied, smudged piece of paper. Messy seating. Where is the decoration? No live music. Come on. You can do better !

Pool management; broken chairs and not clean. No decent pool bar nor poolside service. Do invest in some pool chair mattresses. Pool closes too early.

Restaurant; The Gordon Ramsey Restaurant is not bad but please, we are in Italy...…I prefer to eat some good Italian food. I definitely did not like these LED lights. The Cellar Restaurant had lots of atmosphere. The menu was a bit too rustic to my liking, but that’s a personal preference. The breakfast was OK (thank you Francesca for you constant smiles) and served on the same courtyard terrace as where the GR dinner is being served. Messy seating, uncomfortable, smudged chairs again. Sorry.

Room: Our room was OK, but the air-conditioning is not really strong.

Taxi: When you want to take a taxi from the hotel it will cost you 60,- Euros one way as they have to be called in from Siena. Every single time. So to visit an other restaurant (and I don't drive when having a glass of wine) it will cost you EURO 120,-. The people at the reception will not inform you of this fact when booking a taxi. Surprise!

I'm really sorry; but worst of all was the attitude of the people at the reception; this place was not really easy to find (conflicting addresses & a messed up GPS). The lady at the reception had however the nerves to insinuate that I was probably too stupid to find it. Really? What a joke and a shocking display of total non-professionalism.

That said; all the other (local?) people whom I encountered during my stay tried their best and were very friendly. Thank you.

This place has lots of potential but it's not at a LHW level.

After 3 days we decided to cut our stay short and moved to one of the best Four Seasons Hotels we’ve ever stayed at; The Four Seasons in Florence. From rain & frustration to utter sunshine & delight.

Room Tip: Don't get one of these rooms in the attic; very dark, no view what so ever and you'll bump y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qilin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear nix999,

firstly I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for your invaluable feedback regarding your recent stay at Castel Monastero. The feedbacks we receive are very important to us and help us ensure that we continuously deliver the excellent standards which we are renowned for.
We sincerely apologise, on this occasion the hotel did not meet your expectations and that it not live up to the usual excellent standards we consistently strive to provide.

Please rest assured that I have personally investigated the matter and proper action has been taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further recurrence.

I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting our property in the future, giving us the opportunity to recover and show you, that we are indeed an hotel with a high standard of service.
Please, kindly contact me directly and I will be pleased to ensure that you will have the service you expect from our hotel.

Very truly yours,

Enzo


Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
501 reviews
10.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
394 reviews
13.1 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
888 reviews
6.8 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Monastero

Address: Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range: £307 - £1,580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castel Monastero 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While painters are born, travellers are made and no land has aroused the curiosity, the enthusiasm and the culture of entire generations more than Tuscany. Certainly, not all of them have had the luck to begin their journey in the enchantment of Castel Monastero. In fact a few kilometres from our village, along roads of pure delight, can be found masterpieces of art and of the highest culinary tradition.Every day, a discovery. Every day a different itinerary passing through unspoiled scenery. Every day, on your return, a massage and a candle-lit dinner. And together, over a romantic meal for two or with your friends, you will recall the frescoes of Piero della Francesca and the perfect walls of Monteriggioni, the Renaissance utopia of Pienza and the gastronomic glory of Castellina in Chianti. And again, to surprise you, there’ll be a sunset over Pitigliano and a stroll around the Etruscan necropolises of Sovana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castel Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Monastero Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castel Monastero Italy/Province Of Siena, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing